We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Panama Canal
from USD 105.99
More Info
from USD 180.00
More Info
from USD 65.00
More Info
from USD 145.00
More Info
Reviews (16,821)
Filter reviews
16,821 results
Traveller rating
11,336
4,255
1,020
135
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11,336
4,255
1,020
135
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miraflores locks engineering feat bucket list cruise ship partial transit huge ships pacific side observation deck ships passing an amazing experience once in a lifetime short film visitor center canal museum panama marvel
Filter
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 16,821 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Incredible , fantastic also knowing about the history of it. It was in 16 century a way to go by walking from the Pacific to the Atlantic

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Liliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We visited the Miraflores locks. We arrived about 11am. We did the movie and the museum which you can get done in about 1.5 hours if not having to wait for crowds (which we didn't). Ships were not going through until 3:30 so we actually took an Uber to Casco Viejo and had lunch. Your $15 ticket is valid for all day. We came back around 3:00 to get positioned for watching the ships. We watched a few from the top platform and then actually went to the restaurant to have drinks while watching more go through. It was amazing! We had a little rain so I don't know if that hindered crowds, but we didn't have trouble seeing anything. A must see!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank TeaWithLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

SO Amazing to be able to be at the panama canal and see ships transit .We took some picture and their is a museum and a short film and it was just an amazing experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Delia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The Miraflores locks viewing area and museum are clean, informative (there is a short and well done film that you should definitely sit through) and well thought out. It is truly impressive to see those huge ships make their way through the locks and to learn the history behind the Panama Canal.

The only thing I would advise you is that if you are staying in Playa Bonita, do not go at the end of the day. I did not know that traffic in Panama was so bad but we left at 6 PM when they closed and got stuck in the traffic of all the locals heading home to the West and spent 1 hour 20 mins for a 20 min ride. This happens EVERY NIGHT. So time your visit so you don't end up in traffic. You do not need a tour. Take a cab from your hotel and the entire complex has lots of information, plaques, films etc so that you can tour it at your convenience. When you exit, negotiate the price of your cab upfront or call Uber.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Cali_Fam_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is one of the most fantastic engineering works on the face of the earth, particularly if you think when it was built. It has worked wonders for Panama.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Pedro José D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews