We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel but hard to find an NO hot water”
Review of Metro Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metro Hotel Panama
Ranked #60 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel but hard to find an NO hot water”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent a week in downtown Panama City at Metro Hotel. It was very good except no taxi could find it. Not on the GPS system and the address given is the legal address not the local address. After two hours of driving around and asking we finally found it. I we didn't speak Spanish we might not have. It is actually very easy if they would just put on the website: 50 meters south of Veneto casino-half way down the block from Manolos. They actually don't have a street number assigned and all directions in the city are based on landmarks.
Aside from not finding it, the only issue we had is the water is not hot. When we asked we were assured they have hot water but it was never hot in our room. We complained but were told it is hot--I guess if swimming pool temp is hot then it was but the beach had warmer water than we did. They safe in the room didn't work either but the hotel is secure and we didn't feel the need to use it. They staff is friendly and polite. The breakfast is hot and has nice fruit. The same everyday with cheaper quality cheese and bologna but had eggs, toast, oatmeal and fruit with good coffee. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    76
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
40
44
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was excellent. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The location was excellent and convenient to many restaurants. Rooms in the back are quieter than rooms in the front on the street. This place is a great value for the money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kanark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I visited Panama and stayed in Hotel Metro Panama.
This Hotel is very good. Its location is centric, the room was spacious and clean, everything worked. The breakfast was tasty, good oak milk. Everything I would expect from a good, modest hotel. And the price could to be bitten.
In comparison with the Panama Hotel, where I stayed to attend a conference. In the outside may appear a 5 star hotel, but inside I would give it a 3 star. The first two days stink like moldy or humidity, it was very bad. The curtains, the drawers were falling apart. The room was freezing no matter how much I adjusted the thermostat. The plug in the bath didn’t work, so I couldn’t take my bath! And it was very expensive for what they offered. It’s in need of mayor renovations.
Anyways, getting back to the Metro Hotel, this was refreshing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aracelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Metro hotel is a great little surprise! Very nice rooms, great breakfast, very clean, near great restaurants and the best of all GREAT costumer service! And if you need a tour or shuttle service they have a very nice young lady that will take you everywhere with a big smile on her face! (Rare thing in panama!)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

the staff is very helpful and friendly. we got maps and directions to go to different places. thanks to Luis, Anita and Alvaro for the great service.
I will choose this Hotel to my next trip to Panama

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.9 km away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 114 in Panama City
330 reviews
1.0 km away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#54 of 114 in Panama City
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
0.4 km away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 114 in Panama City
194 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#62 of 114 in Panama City
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Panama

Property: Metro Hotel Panama
Address: Calle D El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price range (per night): $55 - $87
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, located in the best shopping and entertaining area of Panama City. Within walking distance to Metro station, restaurants, bars, casinos, night clubs, shopping, and banking area. 30 Minutes driving to Tocumen Airport. Wi-fi in all rooms and lobby. Continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing