We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in the heart of Panama City”
Review of The Panams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Panams
Ranked #69 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 24 October 2012

What a lovely little hotel in the heart of Panama City! We always try to stay at "local" hotels while traveling rather than American chain hotels and we weren't disappointed! The free wine and cookies were a wonderful touch and we spent several evenings drinking wine in the front lounge area and plotting our next day in the city. The staff was full of suggestions for experiencing their city and were very helpful with dining options. On our last morning we were leaving at 5am for Allbrook airport and the staff ensured that we had a full breakfast along with piping hot coffee to set us on our way! We were especially impressed that there was freshly made bread (still warm!).
I would strongly strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

We recently spent 5 very comfortable nights at the Panams. I had read all the reviews and it was everything that everyone said. Very chic, beautiful rooms with a fabulous shower. I always made sure I grabbed a cookie and glass of tea whenever we came back to our room. Very nice touch for a weary traveller. There's also wine and coffee. We also enjoyed their breakfast buffet every morning. The staff were truly friendly and attentive. It helps that it is a small hotel and there aren't hundreds of people to take care of. We prefer a smaller hotel and this one was perfect for us. It was also centrally located to a lot of attractions that we went to. If you want something a little different than a standard hotel, give the Panams a try, you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loka1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were going to stay in Trump Towers, but decided to try something different and were pleasantly surprised. The service was wonderful, very attentive and keen to help. Nice touches included a breakfast menu (part of the room rate) with just about every type of breakfast you could imagine (cheeses, cereal, condiments, breads, yoghurts, fruits) and free wine, ice-tea and coffee on tap all day.
The rooms are spacious, stylish and a great bathroom. The location is great - 5 mins to waterfront and then you can walk 15 minutes one way to Casa Viejo or 15 minutes the other way to modern malls on a pleasant sea front path.
Whilst it is very stylish, I did think the jacuzzi in the bedroom was a tad weird, but I imagine some people love it. Even if you don't, the room is massive, so it doesn't get in the way at all.

This is definitely where I would stay if I returned.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Panams is perfectly situated between Panamá Viejo and the main shopping districts, and is a $3 taxi ride to these major attractions. It is also in short walking distance to a supermarket, a pharmacy, and a truly decent Indian restaurant.
The hotel is new, lavishly decorated, and well equipped. The lobby sets the overall tone with with a warm, modern ambiance, with loads of art, great furniture, complimentary coffee and wine. The owners definitely hired a talented designer as the decoration and overall themes blend harmoniously throughout the hotel The level of detail and finishing touches is astounding. Our room was well equipped with a desk and work area, and a spacious livingroom-bedroom area that also had a jacuzzi tub. The bed and linens were of very high quality, and the sleep that we got at the Panams reinforced the idea that we needed to buy a better bed for our home. It was refreshing. The huge bathroom has a massive shower area with an overhead rain head and a frosted glass window that produced a soft glow that was so beautiful in the slate tile bathroom that I shot a couple of photos of my wife that looked like they came out of a photo studio (I am a pro photographer).
The staff is the real asset in a hotel like this, and did not disappoint. The receptionists are bilingual, friendly, informative, and always happy to see you. It was a genuine pleasure to return to the warm greetings of this truly wonderful staff.
Breakfast is very well appointed with eggs, juice, panini, yoghurt, and just about anything else that you could possibly desire.
As a current hotel owner, I paid attention to every detail of amenity and service looking to learn something, or reflect on my own hotels strengths or shortcomings, and left the Panams feeling that it was likely one of the best values that I have ever seen. It defines the reason that you choose a boutique hotel over a cold, lifeless corporate tower. Very impressive indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotel-Pasatiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Very nice stay, location is very good. Spacious room and bathroom. When driving through the area you might think...oops, but relax, its beautiful, spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puff747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.2 km away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#67 of 115 in Panama City
117 reviews
2.4 km away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
1.7 km away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 115 in Panama City
813 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#22 of 115 in Panama City
2,764 reviews
6.2 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panams

Address: Calle 42, Num 22 - Bellavista | Between Vía España Avenue and Justo Arosemena Avenue, Panama City 0833, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Boutique Hotel, bars and restaurants nearby, airport shuttle services, massage services in the room, personal shopper, assist to tourist activities, etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Panams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Panams Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing