We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located b&b in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunflower B&B Hotel
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
anywhere
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very well located b&b in the city centre”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The bb is very well located on the centre within walking distance of main attractions. airport pickup service available. rooms are new but not too big. bathroom nice but couldnt turn off the heating so it turned into a sauna. no wireless but free internet by cable. Since there is no breakfast room breakfast is delivered to your room on a little trolley

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    32
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
36
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Large, quiet, comfortable rooms with continental type-breakfast delivered to your door every morning. Don't be put off by the gated entrance to the hotel which is dark, narrow and has lots of graffiti on the walls. Once you get beyond it it is fine. Hopefully it is removed periodically.

There is apparently lots of crime in other parts of the Ukraine but I felt very safe in Kiev. Don't be put off if you feel like trying it. I have been to most Eastern European capitals now and Kiev is definitely different. The Metro is a real challenge for Westerners (some stations are huge, like underground cities, and can be very disorientating) as the place names are in Cyrillic script (like Russian). If lost or you require help best to ask a younger, studenty type as they are far more likely to speak a bit of English. Few other people seem to (probably not surprising).

Don't get ripped-off by Ukrainian taxi drivers who want 30 US dollars to take you to the Sunflower. From where the bus drops you from Boryspil airport it is just 3 Metro stops (costing about 25p!). To find The Metro from the drop zone you have to walk about a third of a mile through Kiev railway station to the end and turn left at the exit. It is a building with a green "M" on, illuminated and easier to see in the dark. Don't confuse the railway station with The Metro as you'll probably end up in Russia!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We arrived by train in Kiev and had planned to stay in a hostel near the train station. No chance! Found the supposed building but couldn't find a sign, a door or a hostel. And then, it started pouring. Girls were losing their high heels in the rivers that had formed on the streets. So we decided to call the Sunflower and got a double room for a couple of nights. More expensive than a hostel, but not as high as the hotels, the sunflower is the perfect in between. Our (wet) arrival was warmly welcomed and our shoes were lovingly placed in the warm laundry room. The rooms are very clean, spacious and somewhat "fresh", sunflower being the overall theme. There isn't any wifi, but the B&B provided us with a laptop computer so as to access internet. And then there was the breakfast! The fact that there isn't a table in the room, means that you sip orange juice and munch on a whole lot of goodies lying around on the bed, knowing that the room will be perfectly made up a little later on. The B&B saved our Kiev stay, and the ideal location meant we could aimlessly wander the streets of this intriguing city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trouble_Agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I stayed 4 nights in Kyiv and I changed from the hotel I originally planned to stay at to the Sunflower based on its reviews on TripAdvisor, and they were not wrong.

The hotel is in the centre of Kyiv and is perfectly located for seeing the sights of the city. At the bottom of the road is Independence Square, and from here Khreshchatyk is only one to two minutes’ walk away. Most sights can be easily reached on foot from the hotel, and there is a Metro station beneath Independence Square for the sights that can’t (only 2UAH (about 16p) between any 2 stations).

The staff I met (Zoya, Tatyana and Anna) were very welcoming (as a previous review stated, it was like being welcomed into a very good friend's home), and they were always friendly and helpful, despite me often being in and out of their office asking for information/directions/advice and often dropping off/collecting my room key, sometimes several times in a day. They made it a very easy, enjoyable and comfortable stay, and I’d say we parted as good friends.

People have been worried about the hotel being down an alley, but this passage is clean and lit at night. In fact, I don’t think I’ve felt safer than when in Kyiv.

Although in the centre of Kyiv, the area the Sunflower B&B is in was surprisingly quiet. My room (No 2) was spacious and clean and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The modern en-suite was larger than at some hotels and contained both a bath and a shower. Every day the room was cleaned and a new bottle of drinking water left.

And every morning breakfast was delivered to my room at exactly the time I’d chosen. I’d get another knock on the door 2 minutes later if the breakfast was still outside my room. The breakfast itself consisted of: tea or coffee (whichever you chose), orange juice, cereal, 2 pieces of toast (wrapped in a napkin to keep them warm), a cake (once I had 4 Jaffa cakes), yoghurt, butter, jam, honey, cheese triangle(s), a piece of fruit, and sugar and milk for the hot drink. The breakfast easily sustained me for 5-6 hours of nearly continuous walking. Some older reviews say that the coffee is undrinkable: the coffee you get now is very good.

Although there isn’t a restaurant at the hotel, there are several restaurants and bars within 5 minutes’ walk that do cheap food and beer (including a food court in the shopping centre beneath Independence Square and a McDonalds at the hotel end of Independence Square), and, of course, there are many restaurants and bars on Khreshchatyk.

I would advise booking airport transfers through the hotel. It makes life so much easier, and the driver (Valentyn in my case) was very nice and told me about life in Kyiv and about the route we were taking. He also helped to carry my luggage up the stairs to my room. I paid $35 each way – Borispil is about 30km from the hotel; not bad considering other taxis charged a lot more.

My room cost 80 Euros per night with breakfast included, and as a total package, the hotel is great value for the price you pay and I would highly recommend it to everyone. I’m certainly going to stay there again the next time I visit Kyiv.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CossackMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

So, I've been in Ukraine for a month. I've been in Kiev for 2 weeks and traveling around the south and east of the country for 2 more.
I've stayed in four star hotels and in two star hovels. The Sunflower B&B is by far the best of all of them and reasonably priced.
The room is as big as the one in the four-star hotel.
But in the four-star hotel, they didn't bring you breakfast in bed (well, on a trolley to your room every morning).
The place is clean and bright with high ceilings and big windows.
The rooms open up on the back of the building so it is relatively quiet, thought it is steps from Independence Sq. and the Metro.
They don't have a restaurant on the premises, but you're in the center of town if you stay here, so a short walk offers many choices for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggGonsalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.5 km away
Bontiak Hotel
Bontiak Hotel
#29 of 111 in Kiev
223 reviews
0.3 km away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.1 km away
Kozatskiy Hotel
Kozatskiy Hotel
#96 of 111 in Kiev
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#28 of 111 in Kiev
188 reviews
0.2 km away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
381 reviews
2.0 km away
ibis Kiev City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower B&B Hotel

Property: Sunflower B&B Hotel
Address: Kostelnaya 9 - 41, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price range (per night): $62 - $88
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower B&B Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower B&B Hotel is a charming boutique hotel located in the heart of historic Kiev. Although we are only a block away from the busy main city square, Maidan Nezalezhnosti, our location is in a quiet courtyard on a small street lined with splendid architectural treasures of the 18th and 19th centuries. This beautiful street ends with an elegant Oleksandrivska Roman-Catholic Church (Kostel), which gave the street its name "Kostelnaya".Our hotel serves business and family guests and we understand that a safe, quiet and comfortable environment is essential for a pleasant stay. At Sunflower you can count on: hospitable and cozy atmosphere services and amenities according to top international standards friendly and highly-experienced English-speaking staff stylish and sunny interior large and comfortable air-conditioned rooms, each with well-equipped and bright bathroom modern system of telecommunications and free Internet access 24-hour Front Desk and security wide range of guest services, including business, art&culture sightseeing tours, travel arrangements and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Priceline and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sunflower B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Bed And Breakfast Hotel
Sunflower Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing