We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mirogoj Cemetery
Zagreb BIG tour
33 Reviews
from USD 53.80
More Info
from USD 80.20
More Info
from USD 114.60
More Info
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
487
214
46
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
214
46
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buried here resting place a short bus ride peaceful place loved ones worth a visit amazing architecture works of art croatian history walk around city centre beautiful park visiting zagreb the main square tombstones president ivy
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Strange to say about a cemetery, but I think the Mirogoj cemetery is the best sight of Zagreb. Besides being a burial ground, it is also a art gallery and a park with many trees. The cemetery is huge with graves of all religions, you can spend easily a day here. I didn’t do that but I walked around for about 2 hours, and I only saw a small part. Don’t miss the arcade along the wall. Many famous Croatians are buried here, their graves are adorned with beautiful sculptures.
I took the bus 106 from the Cathedral in the city centre. It is only a 15 minutes ride and the bus stops in front of the Cemetery.

Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mirogoj Cemetery gives a glimpse into how the residents of Zagreb honor their deceased. The architecture of the building is beautiful and it is interesting to quietly stroll through and look at the various headstones.

Thank MitziMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful arhitecture. Worth to visit. It is one of the most beautiful cemeteries in Europe. Mirogoj is also a beautiful park and outdoor art gallery. Good public transport to reach the place.

Thank Tristan Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Mirogoj when it already was dark. Despite I was not able to see all details, the atmosphere was great: when all that you see is a blinking lights flap, no people around and silence. Magnificent.

Thank AHXEJIb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is considered to be a park and a cemetery. It is free to visit. It's very peaceful as you would expect from a cemetery. It contains the graves of all religious denominations in Zagreb.
I strolled amongst the graves along the paths provided. Some of the ornate headstones are very beautiful to see.

Thank 727tracyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a very interesting walk through the cemetery. The walls and entrance are very impressive. The burial vaults are quite unique, very ornate and lots of Statuary. a very beautiful place. Worth the time.

Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cemetaries are peaceful. This one was on October beautiful with red colours of wineleaves. In general the cemetary is like typical catholic cemetary: big stones, some very beautiful graves. In general cemetaries often are much more beautiful in f.ex. Finland.

Thank Frequenttraveller773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Stunning construction, a little outside the centre but well worth the bus ride to visit it. That it doesn’t cost anything is just a bonus.

Thank NorthEastnostromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

My favourite meditation space. A spec where you can admire Herman Bolle's arcades, see many beautiful tombstones, sculptures, enjoy nice air and green trees all around you.

Thank sanjamuzaferija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We spent a morning wandering through this amazing cemetery with its hundred of beautiful headstones set in avenues of beautiful trees which in Autumn looked amazing. The arcades were very historic with sculptures, galleries and pavilions. Mostly I loved the fact that is a burial ground for all faiths and no segregation is permitted. Its more like wandering through a park, this is a must visit and buses can be caught just up from the Cathedral.

Thank MaureenSJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews