We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
390
526
155
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
526
155
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely park great location train station oldest hotel old town old world charm charming hotel old style central location the main square reception staff breakfast room within walking distance major attractions art deco few minutes walk comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this charming hotel a couple of times now.
Service is excellent, they will help with parking when needed too which was very much appreciated.
Breakfast was excellent (first hotel I found almond milk served at breakfast without being asked).
Location absolutely superb.
Rooms nice and clean.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank InesN777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Mrs Ines,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing such a lovely review with other travelers.

It is so nice to know that you are committed to being a regular guest here when visiting Zagreb. We are grateful for all the compliments regarding our convenient location and wonderful breakfast, we are very glad you've liked it. Additionally, sincere thanks for the compliments regarding staff. We are all trying our best to make our guests feel the best way possible during their time spent here.

We hope you will soon return for another soul-rewarding holiday!

Kind regards,

Tomislav Kuliš
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

This is simply a wonderful overall property for visiting Zagreb. On the main artery running north and south on the park plaza. Was originally an actual palace. Quite historic and yet fully modernized.Very easy walking distance to the Old City, Cathedral, Train/Bus station, Tesla monument, and Jelacic Square. Very efficient and professional staff with one of the finest doormen in all of Europe - Dominek. Extremely attentive, helpful, curteous and friendly. Rooms are small, but nicely decorated, clean and everything worked. Elevators are both small, but quite adequate. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Huge array of food choices, juices, etc.,and included schnapps !!!
Be sure to view the wall of famous guests on the way to breakfast room.
Unfortunately for us, the fire alarm falsely went off 3 times between 1:30 and 8 a.m.
If driving, be aware that Strossmayera is on both sides of the park and you want the south bound side. Then you have to make 3 right hand turns to access hotel parking area. Confused, we pulled onto the sidewalk, and Dominek came quickly to help us.Modest charge for hotel parking spot is well worth it. When back in Zagreb, this will be our top choice.

Room tip: Park View preferred, but a bit more street noise.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear pagmeister,

Thank you for your visit and for this lovely review about your experience in Palace Hotel Zagreb.

Our old world charm keeps fascinating a great number of our dear guests, we are happy it enchanted you as well. We are very glad you enjoyed the our flavorsome breakfast and our amazing location, but we are especially proud that our attentive staff managed to make your stay even nicer.
We have read carefully all your remarks about the fire alarm during your stay and I already informed our Maintenance Manager.

Thank you once again for your kind words of praise, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Tomislav Kuliš
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The Palace hotel has pluses and minuses.
On the plus side is the amazing location. The hotel is an easy walk to most of the sites in Zagreb. A park is right across the street. When we were there a food and film festival was going on in the park which was such a fun discovery. The hotel itself is lovely and full of character.
The breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate was nicely varied and had something for everyone.
On the minus side was the room itself. Our pre-paid reservation promised us a “city view”. This is only true if dumpsters qualify as a city view. When we arrived we were told all “city view” rooms were occupied. Also, even by European standards, the rooms are quite small. It was tricky fitting two people and two suitcases in the room. And, as others have mentioned, we had trouble with the air con. It is worth noting that most of the rooms require going up/down some stairs to access to the elevators. ones in the back section where our room was located, were accessible without any stairs.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MomsABeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear MomsABeachBum,

Thank you for choosing Palace Hotel Zagreb and for taking the time to write a review here on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that you've noticed our amazing location and beautiful old world charm. We are truly privileged with our enviable location with beautiful surroundings and our long historical background which make this hotel such a lovely place.
Additionally, thank you also for kind compliments regarding the breakfast. We are very glad you've had an enjoyable breakfast experience.
We regret to read that your room didn't meet your expectations. We are sorry to read that our room size didn't fulfill your expectations. Our basic type of rooms - Comfort rooms - reach the size of 22 square meters per room. As the size of Comfort room wasn't suitable, we would like to recommend that next time you book Superior room, which is a room of higher category, that spreads over 30 square meters.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.

Kind regards,

Tomislav Kuliš
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Right across from strip park and short walk to vibrant restaurant area, but also with restaurant on site. Older hotel but the rooms were still quite comfortable and the pricing was very reasonable. When leaving for airport in morning ask the desk to call for taxi as none are waiting out front.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank RLION51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear RLION51,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review here on Tripadvisor.

It is very nice to read your lovely comments regarding our amazing hotel. We are certainly glad that you've enjoyed the comfort of your room and amazing location.

We look forward to offering you another warm welcome on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Tomislav Kuliš
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

The Palace Hotel is in a nice location across from a lovely park and a couple of blocks away from the Old City and Jelacic Square. They have a lovely bar and restaurant. Our room was comfortable, though with a few minor irritations: no reading light on one side of the bed, and the A/C controls were undecipherable. Both these minor problems would no doubt have been fixed/explained had I called the front desk, but it was late so we just let it slide. We were very happy with our stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Mr Mike,

Thank you very much for taking the effort and posting your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed our our hotel in general. We are glad that you've liked our convenient location, we hope it helped you to explore Zagreb as much as you wished. Additionally, thank you for mentioning our beautiful Palace Café, we are glad that it succeeded to amaze you.
We are sorry to read about the amenity shortcomings and thank you for pointing it out. We will certainly notify our Maintenance manager.

We look forward to offering you another warm welcome on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Tomislav Kuliš
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews