We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This hotel in the center of Zagreb breathes nostalgia. It has a majestic feel, yet it is still kind of cosy. Although some might regard it old fashioned, the place is amazing and really kept well. The rooms are luxurious and spacious. We slept her to nights at the start and end of our holiday in Croatia, which made it complete. The bar is amazing and I enjoyed the restaurant an d brasserie very much. The hotel feels like the Waldorf and the bistro like some small restaurant in Paris. It is a great place to start your visit to Zagreb. The staff is friendly and helpful. It really surpassed my expectations. Price/quality is very good.I would highly recommend it when visiting Zagreb.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend to spend some time in the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HV1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 156 of 2,759 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is beautifully restored near the old railway station and botanic gardens. It's a pleasant 15 minute walk into the old town. The suites are huge and the service is excellent throughout. The hotel restaurant, Zinfandels, is exceptional. Overall this was the best hotel we stayed in Croatia.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank cliveWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I was heer on a business trip, and enjoyed it's old world luxury. A first class hotel, offering halal meals too - and that is very important feature for me. I will certainly enjoy every new stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 424tarikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Our first night in Croatia was in Zagreb at the Esplanade.
We booked a suite which was spacious and a high standard. Surprisingly small bathroom. Check in time is 3pm.
We had flown in from Australia so were there at 1 pm. Room was ready at 2.

Hotel is well placed. We walked to the old City, looked at all the sights. We didn't find the funicular until we had climbed all the steps lol but caught it down.
We could have caught the 6 tram back but walked instead. Jet lag set in at 6 pm so we rested and then ordered room service. Good value, nicely served and within 20 minutes.
Food was tasty.

All staff were helpful and friendly and were only too willing to explain things, particularly Luka in breakfast. Buffet breakfast was amazing. So much choice and I cannot understand the negative review below. We sat outside and it was idyllic. All the display was in another room off the restaurant. And then there was an a la carte choice all included. We were set for the day after that.

Next to the hotel is an underground shopping centre which we found by accident thinking it was the underpass to station. The Concierge hadn't told us. Air conditioned which was great as it 37 outside. Lots of food, gift and clothing outlets. I bought great Skechers trainers which I had been looking for elsewhere. Also nice cafe overlooking the square. Railway Station is also worth looking in - old steam loco on display and lots of train activity.

Oryx Car hire next to hotel entrance made it easy to get a car - but book ahead as others were turned away without a reservation. We ordered the car ahead for our departure day to drive to Zadar.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fosseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I visited Zagreb in Croatia with my husband. We decided to stay at the 5* Esplanade Zagreb Hotel.

Location:
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel is situated just few minutes away from the heart of historic Old Town center of Zagreb. It has a good location for anyone wishing to do a bit of sightseeing as it is close to all its major sights.

Service:
The reception desk is open 24 hours. When we arrived we went straight to the receptionist to check in. We were welcomed by quite a grumpy receptionist… Throughout our stay, we were disappointed with the friendliness of the staff and none of them smiled. I was surprised as most of the exclusive hotels I stay in have extremely friendly staff which wasn’t a case in Esplanade.

Rooms:
Esplanade Hotel dates back to 1925 and is one of the most famous buildings in Zagreb.
It is famous for welcoming many distinguished gusts such as presidents, politicians, film stars and musicians. Esplanade Zagreb Hotel has 208 rooms and suites. We stayed on the 4th floor in room 404.
Our room was elegant, spacious and offered traditional art deco surroundings. It was furnished with soft carpets, spacious desk, modern armchairs and a comfortable king-size bed. The walls were decorated with some basic paintings.
Our room was also equipped with Air Conditioning, flat-screen TV with satellite channels and a minibar. There was a free Wi-Fi connection to Internet available.

Bathroom:
Our marble bathroom had a classic décor, a bathtub and a shower. There was a selection of natural bath toiletries from L’Occitaine collection.

Facilities:
Breakfast is offered for a surcharge and provides a selection of cold and warm dishes to choose from. As my husband doesn’t normally eat breakfasts, we decided to skip it as it was around £20 per person per night.
All guests have access o the health club and the use of sauna and fitness area is free to all guests staying at the hotel. The Hotel doesn’t have a swimming pool.

Overall experience:
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel has a great location, comfortable rooms and nice small relaxation area. There is also a couple of restaurants on site if you are too lazy to walk to the city centre. The only negative aspect of our stay was the service we received and I hope that it will improve as other than that the hotel has the facilities to enable anyone to have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FirstClass L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.8 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,409 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.7 km away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.7 km away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $170 - $3,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing