We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

This is a grand hotel built in the early 20th century. Truly opulent it retains its character. Whilst far from new and looking its age it has real charm yet manages to deliver great service and facilities. A resort hotel its not but the rooms are huge with spacious separate bathrooms and the stay quiet and restful. Staff are all extremely helpful end efficient. We stayed there twice - the first was so good we changed our plans and returned again 10 days later on our way out of Croatia.
It has good proximity to the myriad of funny museums that Zagreb has to offer and is just across the road from the train station (apparently the reason for its existence - as a stopover for the Oriental Express). However most visitors now fly in.
The area around is a little bereft of alternative restaurants/nightlife - you will need to walk up to the old Upper city for alternative eats or entertainment.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet, those higher have better views. We were upgraded to #626 with separate l...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DiggerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,666)
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 96 of 2,666 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

Out of all the hotels I've stayed in across the world, this place is up there with one of the best and it's incredibly good value! If you stayed in a hotel similar to this one in Paris or New York you would pay around £500 - £600 per night.

Unfortunately we only spent 1 night here which wasn't long enough but we were only passing by.
The rooms are spacious, immaculate and they even provide toiletries by L'Occitane which is a nice touch.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. We had arrived to Zagreb from Ljubljana and hadn't any local currency so when ordering a taxi we stated we wanted a company that could accept card payment and they sorted that out.

The valet parking service was great.
WIFI was also very good.

This hotel is an absolute must for anyone staying in Zagreb.
If it was good enough for the likes of David Beckham, U2, Guns N Roses to name a few, it's certainly good enough for me!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armedwithamind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

When you walk in you know you're in a very nice hotel. Check in was a breeze, and our room was great. This is a 5 star hotel and it shows. The rooms are very nice, have high end toiletries, and the beds are comfortable. Location is great as it's about a 10-15 min walk from the main square, 5 min walk from the main train station and about a 20 min walk from the bus station. Cabs are always standing by which is nice too and your near multiple tram lines. We had a drink at the bar one night and it was very good and reasonably priced. We would stay here again if we come back to Zagreb. Great stay and great city.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Josh79b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed here 2 times, love it nice walk to down town, peace of mind if you go upper floors facing the back or the garden , love the old style rooms very nice classic touches , get a burger so beefy and tasty , good Breakfast , the out door seating is very nice to chill out after a long day of tours

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank saeed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This was the forth and last hotel of our vacation. My wife said this would be the luxury hotel. It certainly makes you feel important from the out side it looks a bit like the White house and from the inside it a bit like being in a palace. The breakfast was a full breakfast both hot and cold food a good selection fruit. Having plumbs, apricots and champagne with orange juice was a very nice way to start the day. In the room the hotel insignia was on the pillow cases bathroom robes and complementary slippers even the little chocolate treat left by the bed came in its own box and looked like a little crown. The hotel is located about a five minuet walk from the main train station. It is about a fifteen minuet walk to historical part of Zagreb. When we left we took a taxi to the airport which was about twenty minuet ride.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonjon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
2.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.8 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,324 reviews
0.7 km away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
919 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.9 km away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $121 - $3,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotelopia so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing