We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
970
267
33
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
267
33
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourcoral coastbbi spawelcome songquiet roadfree foot massagesmall hotelrooms are largehoneymoon suitechicken curryother guestssunset stripstandard roomfive nightslounge chairswelcome drinkreef shoes
Filter
Updating list...
1,011 - 1,016 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

we felt very welcome and the service was great! we had a nice room with everything we needed. thank god there was no tv! so we had time to relax and read a lot. we loved the restaurant! the food was amazing and how good is the view?!! we rented a car and to drive around so we were a bit more flexible than with a cab. if you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful getaway choose Bedarra!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleKa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Bula,

We came to Bedarra subsequent to staying at a few other places on the Coral Coast on a family holiday. We traveled February / March 2012 choosing Bedarra, based on the reviews received on Trip Advisor, and stayed for a week or so in a delux room. The weather was ace.

Bedarra was sweet and the basics are done right (and much better than the far more pricier "mega-resort" we stayed at):

The staff are friendly.
The rooms are nice and big and kept spotless by the lovely housekeepers. EVERY other place we stayed at had something(s) wrong with the room or house keeping - no milk, no towels, phone broken, mosquito mesh ripped ,blah blah blah.
The food is very good and the chef is happy to cater to poor gluten-free plantatarians (just let them know before you travel so they can get in some supplies or if you bring something they will cook it for you). Everyone should try the vegetarian curry off the lunch menu. Delicious and yours for a tenner.
The pool and lounger area is clean and the gardens are well maintained.

This a nice quiet place for families etc.and not a party place. The bar here shuts at 10pm and last orders for dinner are at 9. However.....

Leaving the inn and turning right there is a cafe / bar down the road called Koko's who's menu includes the biggest burgers in the world (apparently you get a free trip to Hawaii or something if you can finish one in one go). My wife could only manage half of one and the other half did her for lunch the next day, so good value for the FJ$20 odd dollars they cost. If you go the other way up the road you come across friendly Vladimir selling trinkets and jewellery. A nice piece we bought off him for $FJ10 was offered to us for a "special price" of FJ$55 in the Sigatoka market. Keep walking and you come to another bar / cafe and then there is "Shana's - a booze shop / grocery store / body salon / fast food restaurant / bar / nightclub / taxi stand / tour operator. You can then walk up the beach to the massive Outwriggler Resort.

We also visited The Kula Eco-Park, which you can also walk to. The place has a focus on conservation on endangered species and they tell you about their breeding programmes. Our little daughter was absolutely stoked that she could hold snakes and lizards. Allow about an hour or 2 for this and take a cold drink with you as you walk around. Well worth it.

One day we walked into town (Sigatoka) and went to the Sigatoka Club. This was on a Sunday and we met and drank beer with the locals for a couple of hours. Catch the local bus back for a dollar if you are "tired" from all the the beer. Just walk back over the bridge and one will come along. You won't see a bus stop or sign - just wave it down. When we went again the next day the place was mostly patroned by tourists so I recommend that you visit on a Sunday. They sell the big crate bottles of Fiji bitter for about 5 bucks and they also have casual dinning at around 10 for mains. We also went to the Hare Krishna temple as we saw a billboard advertising food. After a mission of walking up and down hills (the entry isn't where you expect it to be) we eventually got in but they said no food today. Karma I suppose.

Other than that we just lounged around the pool and went to happy hour for 1/2 price cocktails at $FJ7.50. There is childminding available at $FJ5 per hour. Elanor (our house keeper) came to us for a couple of hours one night and played games with our daughter and put her to bed. Little guy said she had a good time.

What I liked least was the background music during breakfast service. I know it isn't very loud but I found it distracting / annoying when sitting on the deck at 7am (usually we were the only ones up that early) and just easing into the day. It just seemed unnecessary and spoiled the quiet. It was fine at lunch and the boys play their guitars at night. The waitress did turn it off when asked for which I am grateful.

What I liked most was the relaxed and quiet atmosphere.

Anyway, I'd definitely return and we enjoyed our stay.

Thank you David and Phil and all the staff

Room Tip: The delux rooms are only a few dollars more but are well worth the extra
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CloakeyCloak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We feel very welcome and service was always with a smile. The common areas and our room were cleaned every day. We stayed in room 18 (honeymoon suite), it has a fantastic view of the beach and because it is facing south we do not get the intense morning and afternoon sun. Hubby loved sitting in the balcony with his netbook.

The food was nice and very reasonably priced, I had the lobster bisque, kokoda and fish in curry sauce. The menu can be improved to include lighter meals for dinner for people like me who only eat small portions and those watching their diet. It would be nice to have more fresh vegies + meat or seafood like stir fries or caesar salad. The lovo needs improvement. We waited a long time and were the last one served. Although it was a large serving it was dry and bland, we hardly ate half of it and a lot had to go in the bin. We did not get crackling (not sure if there was any) and it was lacking in sauce. We found out later that more people turned up for the lovo without booking, we booked 3 days in advance.

I never had a problem drinking the tap water from the hotel after boiling it. Every morning, I pour the left over water from the kettle into the jug and put it in the fridge. Another plus is it's only 5 minutes away to Sigatoka, a small and not so busy town. In Sigatoka, we had lunch in one of the local restaurants that cook meals ordered from the board (not from the take away counter) and always had bottled water.

Snorkelling is not bad but you need to wait for the high tide. The corals are much better on the Outrigger side which is not very far away. Best to use flippers, but be careful not to break the corals or step on them as even on high tide you can stand on sand mounds and you will be above the water level. If you do not like flippers bring sand shoes. Snorkelling gears and kayaks are provided free of charge.

If you prefer the personalised and intimate feel this is the place. By our second day everyone is on first name basis. The lounges on the beach is a fantastic way to relax, sip cocktails and watch the sunset. The grounds keeper will even get you a green coconut if you ask.

Room Tip: Room 19 is a large room for family with kids, Room 18 and 17 are double beds. These rooms has the best view of the beach and bigger balconies.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sahaja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Its all about the management and staff, they make you feel part of the family.
good clean rooms,great restaurant,superb views, lovely pool,peaceful and relaxed, no tv no phones,how good is that!..... transport and tours can all be arranged at reception and nothing seems to be a problem, dont miss "happy hour"! If you want to relax and chill just do it.

Room Tip: Balcony seaview rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobbledock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Lovely to be back. This time we stayed 8 nights. The new pool is perfect, beautifully done and the Day Spa was fun to have a couple of massages and a facial.

What I like about this hotel is that you can suss it out straight away. The pool, the Spa, the reception area, bar and dining room. Their guests seem to be all like minded. We have all checked out the Outrigger and are happy to be at the Bedarra. We all like the style and size of the property. This time around there were more people and the cross section was more varied, young couples, some with toddlers, and I noticed a couple of young girls checking in. Then there were couples around our age (60ish but definitely young at heart). We were all into the happy hour, sunbaking around the pool, taking off for the day in hire cars, taxis or on day cruises.

The property has no TV or phone in the room, but we knew that from the website and from the previous visit. Definitely not missed. Busy days, plenty of sun, Happy Hour around the bar, lively evening meals and a good nights rest for the next day.

We had the same room. Very clean, large bathroom, towels could be renewed. Large wardrobe, for two ladies travelling together we had separate areas to put things. Beds comfortable. Large room, big enough for round table and two chairs, also two comfortable lounge chairs and a coffee table. Noticed the valances on the twin beds needed replacing.

Food was good, but the second time around, felt it probably needed a bit of an update, modernising maybe.

Front desk very helpful. All in all we had a truly relaxing memorable holiday. Frankly not much can go wrong with this property as it is so uncomplicated. We also love the look of the property. Grounds are lovely.

Room Tip: Only choose a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank relle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews