We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great views, clean and tidy, well equipped and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Totoka Kalou from the ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Totoka Kalou from the ocean
Family bedroom
Open plan living
Stand up paddle at sunset
One of many stunning cloud formations
Maui Bay Beach
View over clubhouse, pool & jetty
Zipline at Pacific Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sigatoka, Coral Coast, Viti Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Josh T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views, clean and tidy, well equipped and modern”
Reviewed 2 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Totoka Kalou has one of the best views elevated above Maui Bay. It's easy walking distance of just a few minutes (though steep) to the beach, clubhouse pool, and shop - we didn't find this a hassle at all. The house was clean and consists of two identical bedrooms with ensuites at each end, each with queen bed, bunk, and pullout mattress. The living area and kitchen is in the centre, and opens onto a deck which was great for lounging on enjoying the heat. The kids enjoyed the large selection of movies. All windows are well screened so there were no insects inside apart from a few friendly geckos. The kitchen was well equipped, we cooked most of our meals.

There are two staff ('house angel' and 'garden angel') who are there most days to clean, cook if required and maintain the garden. While we probably didn't take full advantage of the cooking option, we all enjoyed talking and getting to know Kalesi and Jone ('Johnny'). One of our highlights was listening to awesome singing at church at Jone's village nearby.

We visited most of the nearby resorts as day visitors and used their pools, beaches and drank their cocktails and bought some meals. The Warwick was voted the best by our family.

We also did a day trip to Castaway Island via Denarau, which was great, though a long day with over 2hrs travel time each way due to peak heavy traffic in Nadi.

We found that our best snorkelling on our trip was in Maui Bay, along the beach West of the clubhouse/pier.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2018
Vinaka Josh for your kind review - we are pleased that you appreciated the view and wonderful staff of Totoka Kalou, and that you enjoyed getting out and about to the local sights. So glad Jone was able to show you his village and Church service. Hoping to welcome your family back again one day - all the best, Kerry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn W
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind and reconnect ”
Reviewed 11 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at Totoka Kalou. The set up is perfect for two families or any group really - we had 7 adults.
The weather was wild, wet and windy but that didn't stop us enjoying this beautiful spot. The local cafe and Spa at Maui Bay are well worth a visit (or several in our case!).
We had a beautiful dinner at He Ni Uwa restaurant - this is a must visit for dinner or lunch - gorgeous view and food run by a local family.
Kalesi and Johnny looked after us beautifully - Kalesi took me fabric shopping in Sigatoka which was great fun.
Thank you Kerry and Mark for sharing your beautiful home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Vinaka for your kind review! You were unlucky weather-wise, but did well to make the most of your time at Maui Bay. We're pleased to hear that nothing stopped you enjoying your holiday, and that you enjoyed your time at Moksha Spa. They are lovely people. The sun's blessed us this week - and will hopefully bless you next trip to Fiji. All the very best, Kerry & Mark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Tostka_1...
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing property just a little uphill from Maui Bay jetty and just 2 minutes from Hideaway Resort. Perfect for large groups or families. 2 large bedrooms (sleeping 5 each) off a large central living space all wrapped up with a deck overlooking all of Maui Bay. Large French Doors, lots of plantation shutters, and ceiling fans in every room utilise the sea breeze making the air con units unnecessary except on the hottest nights. The staff are lovely and so helpful. Make sure to take time for a Lovo (traditional meal cooked underground) and get to the Hideaway Resort on a Thursday night for the Firewalking display and Fijian Dance show featuring Totoka Kalou's own gardener Jone (a highlight of our trip!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
So glad you enjoyed our home as much as we do - thank you for staying & Moce mada sota tale!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaiteiro
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perched up the hill above Maui Bay, the views of the lagoon are spectacular. The elevation makes the most of cool breezes, so you don't get too hot. The house is extremely well-equipped (there's even an ice-cream maker). A petrol station and supermarket are literally at the bottom of the hill, and beach is easily accessible. Snorkelling is good for beginners, though you need to do it close to high tide. Unless you are a strong swimmer, avoid snorkelling in the lagoon off the wharf, as there are strong outward currents even on an incoming tide. Go down the beach a bit further for the easiest. Kelesi the House Angel comes in on weekdays, to cook and clean. She cooks a mean curry, and will organise a traditional Fijian lovo if you want. We own a beach house in NZ, and Tatoka Kalou feels very much as we would hope ours does. Thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Glad you made the most of your stay and found the marine reserve where you can safely snorkel over amazing coral. The lagoon is great jumping off and staying nearby the jetty - particularly on weekends when you can watch the Fijians backflip off it! Thanks for keeping our view and villa warm for us :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ginakent2...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal gathering place”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in June 2016

We celebrated our son turning 21 by taking our family to Fiji. We were a party of 7 and wanted to experience more of the real Fiji. Totoka Kalau was great. We had a true Fiji experience and really enjoyed having Sereana and her family join us for a lovo. The beach is just down the hill - Magnificent views. We went diving with the local diving company. Visited some resorts and went to some restaurants. We ordered some meat to be delivered as although there is a great selection of foods in Sigatoka the choice of meat in Sigatoka is limited. We had some lovely meals also at Totoka Kalau with Sereana preparing a lovely curry meal for our arrival. This is a great place for experiencing the Coral Coast
.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
We always enjoy hearing guests loving the views what all that the Coral Coast has to offer! Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing