We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Nadi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveller rating
155
440
324
160
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
440
324
160
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdriving rangehole golf coursebuffet breakfastsleeping giantstopover hotelshuttle serviceminutes from the airportstayed one nighttour desknice pooltennisproximitynzvinaka
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

To be fair, we only stayed here because weather caused our flight to Taveuni to be delayed by 24hrs and we had to take what ever was on offer near the airport but the room was a horrid box in an uninspiring unit off the main building. Reception staff were efficient but did give the impression they were checking you into a six star luxury resort rather than an airport stop over hotel. It was polite but all corporate "upsell" patter and no personal interest. Aircon in the room was either arctic and very noisy or off. Windows were misted up and it smelled rather musty. Bathroom very basic and to be honest we checked out as early as we could and sat in one of the airport cafes for 4 hours waiting for our delayed flight rather than stay in the hotel. My wife used the gym and it was an airless room with broken machines and sweat running off the walls. The restaurant/ bar was full of mynah birds, stealing food off the table a pooping everywhere. All in all, rather soul destroying, we were glad to leave. If you need an airport hotel in Nadi, go to the Raffles, it isn't brilliant, but it is more relaxed and certainly doesn't take itself too seriously AND the rooms are far more comfortable. One star.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Novotel, try somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caveyavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Caveyavey,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Nadi and again for your review of the hotel.

I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Feedback for room for improvement areas is noted and shared with the team.

Please allow me to make mention that we are in the tropics, currently well into the rainy/hurricane season and have an open air restaurant. Having said this, we are faced up with challenges from time to time operationally however be rest assured that we have relevant standard operating procedures in place which we adhere to overcome these challenges.

We appreciate that everyone has their personal preferences when it comes to choosing hotels for their holidays and should you decide to visit Fiji once again and consider Novotel Nadi, please let me know and we will take special care of you.

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lee P, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had spent our Fijian holiday on Navini, unfortunately due to the weather we needed to spend our final night in the Novotel at Nadi airport. The grounds of the hotel are very good but after that the standard falls down very quickly. No doubt a few years ago the accommodation was good but now the whole place needs a good overhaul.

The food in the restaurant can only be described as poor, the worst food on our world trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear reded46,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and we did not live up to your expectations.

Your comment for room for improvement with regards to accommodation is taken on board.

Food & Beverage comment has been passed on to the Executive Chef to look into. On this occasion we seem to have fallen short in food and for this we apologize as we appreciate how special holiday time is.

We appreciate that everyone has their personal preferences when it comes to choosing a hotel for their holidays and should you decide to visit Fiji once again and consider Novotel Nadi, please let me know and we will take special care of you.

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We recently returned from our vacation tour of Fiji, NZ & AU. Our first stop was Nadi, Fiji and a short stay with Novotel Nadi. Our package included a full breakfast buffet each morning plus our rooms. GREAT value on the Short stay package. Breakfast was outstanding!!! We ate dinner here also...the foods are fresh and of local dishes. Never a bad meal. Staff was wonderful, very friendly with a hint of a fun & joking added in. Just our style. Rooms are nice, simple with all the amenities. Had an interesting twist to our hot water in the shower. Had to turn the sink water on hot, THEN the shower.. otherwise the water didn't get hot. We have NO CLUE what that was about, but it made us chuckle and was the talk of the stay as we are pretty easy going. Over all.. a nice hotel to stay at while on the less populous & less modern side of the island.

Room Tip: Get a hold of a rep with www.pacificisland.com. They have access to packages otherwise NOT found on the net.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_n_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Dan_n_Anne,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Nadi and again for taking out your valuable time to post this wonderful review.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Nadi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. The team will be delighted to read the comments and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We are not big fans of Nadi. The large hotels at Denarau are like some sort of artificial environment owned and managed by foreign interests, where the local employees do menial work and look sad. The best thing you can say about Nadi is that it's on the way to somewhere nice.

So from that point of view, what you really want in Nadi is a hotel for connecting flights, and the Novotel is the place to be. It's close to the airport. There's a regular shuttle, or the cab fair is an embarrassingly small amount. There's a pool. The rooms are clean and air-conditioned. There's a restaurant. Everything you need for a brief overnight stay, or even just day-use.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Waimate01,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Nadi and again for taking out your valuable time to post this wonderful review.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Nadi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will be shared with the team. This feedback will surely be beneficial for other travelers. And for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews