We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
364
171
71
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
171
71
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews volleyball court kava sessions ping pong bed dorm great backpackers free kava private room kava circle travel desk free wifi fiji time free activities a great place to meet island hopping natadola beach every evening laundry service
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Local/expatriate, it's 10 years since I've stayed as a house guest, so can't comment on the rooms.
Food is outstanding. Good menu and variety. Freshness and presentation top notch. Pizza about as good as you can get in Fiji (conservative understatement).
I have no problem collecting food orders from the kitchen, however clearing of tables during the day after guests have eaten and left seems to be an ongoing but minor detraction from the overall product.
Bar staff can be hit and miss with their service but I appreciate some of Fiji's challenges.
Bamboo is great and you get a well deserved top rating from me.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fijinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

The amenities and the facilities were great. They had so many entertainments for the guests. A table tennis board, beach volleyball, billiards, kayaks, padddle board all for free. They had a travel desk person helping the fellow backpackers in planning their trips. We attended the kava ceremony, some traditional way of making stuff like ashtray , bangles, coconut bowl (again free of cost), which we were allowed to take home with us. Tax and Ben made sure entertainment was on spot.
Ahh and the view from the common area was just breathtaking. We absolutely loved the beach view and the benches and chairs placed. We love the crowd so we loved it here. If you're a person looking for a quiet holiday then do not come here lol. It gets really busy at night time. We had a room service coming every mornnning an cleaning our room, which was great for a backpacking area. Thanks to everyone for making our stay a memorable one. Oh I have to say they also sang us a farewell song when we were waiting for our cab haha which was great.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simrun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Only stayed at Bamboo Hostel for one night but everyone is digging the Fijian Island lifestyle and are super friendly. Johnny on the front desk has particularly been incredibly helpful and understanding helping my partner and I out with a few delayed courier pick ups but all staff here have the most amazing smiles. It's hard to leave only after one night because the location in the beach offers stunning sunsets and you can enjoy a beer or 2 at the same time (happy hour). The beds and rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is not bad either.
The only downfall is that's it's located a little way out of town but has a brilliant bus connection every half an hour right outside reception.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank philippah2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This is ideal place to spend one night or two on a way to islands or the airport. Good place to meet other pack backers. Clean and nice dorms. Easy to book your trips to the islands with the travel agent in the hostel. Also every night small party in the bar

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AinoV35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Spent one night for a layover during my trip back home.
Pros: awesome location on the beach, 24 hrs reception, amazingly nice staff, good restaurant serving fresh food in gigantic portions and affordable price , 2 happy hours a day
Cons: really noisy all night long , full of party-minded dudes losing themselves after the drinks ( being there not even 20 hours and found two guys throwing up in the pool literally in front of my room) , clean but not extra clean, they don't provide towels and toiletries .

So, is actually very cheap but don't go there inf you want to rest during your traveling . Feel free to go instead if you just want to have fun and drink beers and kava on the beach

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Palitoscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_fiji_islander, Guest Relations Manager at Bamboo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Bula bula,

Thanks for the nice feedback and apologies for the discomfort. We warmly welcome travellers from all walks of life to stay with us :)

Our security team are determined to keep noise down in sleeping areas after 10PM, and our rooms are usually great for sleeping and relaxing, but it seems that something has gone astray in this case. We were hosting a rowdy wedding group during your stay, and they got a bit excited with their drinks.. We are very sorry that they disrupted your stay, and we'll work hard to create improvement for our future guests.

Vinaka and happy travels,

bamboo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews