We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean and cheerful ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Nadi
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in a private room and it was very clean with good facilities! We stayed at bamboo the first night we got to Nadi and after it being full on the second night we came over to horizon which was the same price. The air con was lovely after it being a fan room in bamboo and the room felt a lot newer. We enjoyed our stay that much we returned once we had finished our island hopping. The staff were lovely and the food was excellent. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Bula Katie B,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Smugglers Cove . I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Vinaka
Mary Vunakece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2016

The staff are wonderful & that is what many of us have come to expect from Fiji. The air con works well & the mattress is comfortable so if a good nights sleep is all you are looking for then look no further. The facilities on the other hand are run down so if the aesthetics are important to you then this place is a bit of an eye sore. Wifi is slow to painfully slow if it works at all.Breakfast though included is a disappointment. Watermelon, bread & jam sum it up.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Our thanks Mark W for your fair review following your stay. Horizon has one the best deals with accommodation around this vicinity and rates include the very basic breakfast with breakfast ala cart options available to select from. Yes if you are on a tight budget for a comfortable bed, this is the right place especially when you get access to all activities offered on the beach by sister resort Smugglers Cove. VInaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Horizon is the same price as Bamboo but you get much less space, a lower level of cleanliness and if you're really lucky (like me) bed bugs.

The staff at Bamboo are welcoming, upbeat and chatty. The staff at Horizon seem a bit moody.

To be fair on Horizon, they dealt with my bed bug issue quite well and allowed me to use their industrial pesticide spray for my belongings & move room. I appreciate that it's hard for a budget hostel to keep the bed bugs out and I'm sure Bamboo have their fair share of problems too but their whole place is cleaner.

Horizon offers breakfast in their price which Bamboo don't but the breakfast is nothing special. Literally some coffee, toast, jam and watermelon. You can get the same for $5 in Bamboo.

Also, Horizon had no working wifi when I was there. I had to walk to Smugglers to use there's, which you could do just as easily from Bamboo.

If you're looking for good value for money, an inclusive and friendly atmosphere and a clean space for the night - don't bother with Horizon.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Macolo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

We regret your stay was not as comfortable as you would have liked. Horizon is our more intimate and most affordable option and even the $5 makes a huge difference to many of our stayers that greatly appreciate the free breakfast. You easily obtained a combined deal, i.e. more quite with your own complimentary amenities if you need or, enjoy the free activities down on the beach and free amenities at our sister resort Smugglers Cove only a few minutes walk. Bugs issue is experienced everywhere as it is brought in by new travelers even with our rotation eradication processes and most places would not bother to assist you preferring to get rid of new findings. We trust you had a safe trip back home. Vinaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The woman on the reception was very friendly! and was running the reception and restaurant all by herself! she was lovely! The bedroom however was terrible! The sheets were old and bobbly and the room had just been fumigated for bed bugs. The mattress was very uncomfortbale and the bathroom was disgusting! but it was extremely cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melandmike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Our thanks melandmike2016 for your review following your stay. We offer better rooms than the standard however it is an option for the low budget travelers but it is kept clean and comfortable. It should not have been released if it had just been fumigated of which we apologise for. Vinaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I am someone that reads up on everything before I stay/eat there and I am shocked that people haven't written enough reviews for this place so I will write a truthful review on my experience here.

Me and my boyfriend are travelling around for a year so yes we stayed here just for somewhere cheap but soon regretted it once we had arrived. The woman on reception was so rude and you know it's going to be bad when she pre warns you that once you see the room you cannot get a refund. We stayed in a private room with an en suite. Best way to describe the room would be to say it's like a prison it's extremely dated and so dirty!! I had to barricade the door and any holes in the wall etc as we had cockroaches lizards and ants everywhere we even saw a exterminator working in the rooms next to us!! There are dogs next to us which bark all night so sleep isn't the best and people are extremely loud we are young and like to have fun but we have respect!

The kitchen that the food is cooked in looks disgusting so we never once ate there and for a hostel there was absolutely no atmosphere what so ever! Don't be fooled by free wi-fi only works at reception and again it's extremely slow so no point even having it to be honest. The breakfast is just watermelon and toast and the plates and glasses where dirty so I just bought cereal and ate the fruit.

The only positives we had was you can use smugglers cove next door and Sue, Marcus and Mila the people that organise the trips for you were extremely helpful and always said good morning which was nice.

I hope this helps some people on choosing this place unless you have no money and this is all you can afford I would NOT recommend this place!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aliciachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Bula Aliciachris and our thanks for the feedback following your stay. I have to disagree about the room payment refund. You always have the choice to see the room first before agreeing to a purchase. You will of course be advised of cancellation policy at the time as well. Our standard rooms have ceiling fans and cost the lowest around this vicinity however it is kept clean and comfortable otherwise we would be liable to having it out on sale. You also have other options above the standard rooms to choose from. We are however glad you took advantage of the Smugglers Cove amenities as part of the deal. Vinaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.1 km away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 km away
Aquarius On The Beach
0.1 km away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.1 km away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#12 of 25 in Nadi
176 reviews
0.0 km away
Bamboo Hostel
Bamboo Hostel
#1 of 28 in Nadi
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Resort

Address: | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Nadi
Price Range: $20 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach at Nadi Bay, Smugglerscove Horizon Backpackers offers a restaurant and bar, plus a swimming pool with sun deck. Free 24-hour airport transfers are provided. Facilities at Smugglerscove Horizon Backpackers Nadi include a barbecue area, 24-hour reception and luggage storage. The tour desk can arrange scuba diving, snorkelling, fishing, kayaking and golf. Guests receive continental breakfast each morning. Accommodation options range from dormitory rooms with shared bathroom facilities to private rooms with en suite bathroom. Some have ocean views. Cove Cafe offers pizzas, Fijian and European dishes, vegetarian meals and regular barbecue nights. The bar offers live entertainment every night. The local bus picks up and drops off directly in front of Smugglerscove Horizon backpackers throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au so you can book your Horizon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Backpackers And Travel Centre
Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre Hotel Nadi
Horizon Beach Resort Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing