We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
12
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Wow! I was so blown away with the absolutely amazing service from all the staff here at this boutique hotel. In fact it is like staying at a home stay with the lovely personal experience. Margaret looked after everything so well and Andrew created world class dishes in the kitchen. The rest of the team all went out of their way to make my stay very relaxed and pleasant.
The 25m pool and tropical gardens were a bonus on my work trip.
The apartment type room was well appointed and a comfortable bed.
For working in Avaroa this cannot be beaten. I was able to bike (a stylish bike provided at the property) to dinners and attend meetings in the town easily.
All meals, coffees and drinks were excellent.
I fully recommend to stay here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ash I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

If you want a beachfront villa, look elsewhere. If you want a lovely place to stay, you've found it. Given the rundown and dramatically overpriced nature of many RAR beach resorts, plus the fact that many resort rooms are garden type or way off the beach anyway, the Wellesley was superb quality and offered everything we wanted at a price we loved.

Breakfasts and lunch were top notch, their version of an eggs benedict with prawns and a lemon beurre blanc was particularly divine. Staff were always very friendly and helpful which made the trip particularly memorable, felt like we made some good friends!

Room was really nice, comfy bed, great shower pressure, nice views over the pool area and up to the mountains. Maybe a bit too warm upstairs at times (there was talk of adding aircon or extra fans). The downstairs rooms (3 of them) all share a bathroom so would suit a group of friends or a family, good value. As others have said, if only one of the rooms downstairs is booked, they will block off all the other downstairs rooms to ensure bathroom privacy (unless guests are happy to come to a sharing arrangement). It's all very clean and new.

5 Stars all the way, won't consider staying anywhere else for our next trips. I'll let the pics tell the story.

Room Tip: Upstairs for singles or a couple (one room with bathroom & shower), downstairs fits 1-6 people across three rooms and one bathroom/shower.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

My husband and I stayed here for a week back in June and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel feels very 'boutique B&B' as is small, relaxing and stylish. The hotel host and chef were also very friendly, professional and accommodating at all times. It is located in a back street in the main town of Avarua and very private with a surrounding garden and hedging. It also has a lovely view up to the mountains which all makes it feel very peaceful and private. We stayed in the upstairs room which has an ensuite. The bed was super comfy and everything worked well not to mention looking good. The outdoor furniture and pool was gorgeous and welcoming after a hot day out and a welcome relief. The meals were all delicious and everything about our stay spoke of attention to detail. I would definitely return as it felt 'just right' and ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Upstairs room was lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PrettyIsParamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This is basically a big, nice house renovated into a cute, cozy hotel. We had a bedroom downstairs with a shared bathroom, though no one else was really staying downstairs our entire stay so we pretty much had it to ourselves. The service was superb. It was sort of like staying with friends that would make you a coffee or serve gourmet food whenever you wanted/needed (for a small fee of course :). I'm vegetarian, though mostly vegan, and they were really good about preparing some vegan-friendly options for me. It's a short walk to shops, beach, grocery store, and outdoor market, though a scooter is highly recommended. It actually rained most of the time we were there, but we would go for an early run around the back roads by the hotel, work out by the pool, swim laps, eat, relax in the living room space and head out for the day.

Room Tip: I feel like the upstairs rooms may have been a better option.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We were fortunate enough to stay on the top floor over looking the pool during the last leg of our island visit. The art and decor will entice you, the food will make you linger around and the service will make you stay. The building is trendy with a lovely pool to enjoy and the view is breathtaking. We found the location to be the best as it's tucked away from the main road but close to all the amenities. However, light sleepers beware as the property's location will have noise at night (not every night but some nights you will hear music from the the places near by). As the hotel is fairly new, there are some minor things that still need to be attended to (i.e.: screen missing from one of the windows, water pressure can take a minute or two). Breakfast and lunch were available on site but you will need to go elsewhere for dinner which is easily accessible from the main road.

We highly recommend getting a scooter rental if you stay here, even though you can easily walk to other restaurants and the main strip of their "downtown" area. A scooter rental will ensure you see everything the island has to to offer, the hike up the Te Rua Manga (The Needle), and so forth. Note if you have a motorcycle licence there isn't an issue renting a scooter, however if you don't have a licence you will have to pay to get one (which we heard was $100). If you are lucky you can rent without a licence from Island Car & Bike but they charge about $10 more than their competitors and their service is mediocre at best. Try to book through Polynesian Rentals if possible, they had great prices, service and options for pick/drop off. They have a location near the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Top floor!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natsukashii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews