We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
229
326
75
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
326
75
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Have to start by saying the attitude of the guy on the front desk (didn't get his name but he was on early evening shift in early May, 2015) left a lot to be desired. Other staff were excellent but this guy seemed offended by the presence of guests.
Our first room was so small that our suitcases would have had to double as chairs. We were moved with little fuss to a bigger room which was better, although the bathroom was very small.
Breakfast is decent enough and location is in a quiet but safe neighbourhood. The beach is just two minutes away and we walked all the way along the front to the old town (which took about two hours but was very pleasant).
I'd recommend the hotel because of its convenient location and, overall, it was clean and did the job - just don't expect any help if our friend from the front desk is on shift!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CraigandVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

It was a nice small modern and clean hotel. Nice and friendly staff that they were ready to help you. It is in a very nice location. The room was small though and my only complain was the heater. I was cold I turned on the heater but I am sure there was a timer or something as after 10 minutes it was not working for the rest of the day. I got a bit of cold. At the reception they told me that I should have told them as maybe there was a problem. There was also a breakfast which it was poor.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Located on a quiet and pleasant neighborhood very close to Pocitos Beach where you can walk or ride a bike along the waterfront. There are several bus lines that take you to the Old Town (Ciudad Vieja) and to other Montevideo districts. Rooms are comfortable with minibar, safe, LCD TV monitor, and a large twin bed. Bathroom could be bigger, but it is conveniently equipped. Breakfast room on the 11th floor is quite tiny, and it is well served. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull.

Room tip: Higher floor rooms ending on 3 (803, 903 and 1003) provide view to the Rio de la Plata.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank otavio_silveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We stayed at the Palm Beach Plaza for 2 nights in early January. It’s located one block from the beach in Pocitos. Check in was very friendly and helpful (English was well spoken) and although our room was not ready as we arrived after an early flight, it was ready as promised after a short walk in the neighborhood. Alejandro (sorry, if misspelled), who checked us in, was ready to give a lot of helpful tips and pointers about the neighborhood and the city. Thanks !

Rooms are rather compact, but perfectly fine, modern, clean and with a comfortable bed; and windows that can be opened, which is great plus. The bathroom is rather compact as well, but well equipped. Water pressure in the walk-in shower was excellent. Also, minibar prices were reasonable, if that is important. Breakfast was served on the 11th floor. It’s was a small buffet, but choices available were reasonably varied and good, including some hot items such as scrambled eggs and sausages.

As for the location it is not near the historic old town, but in the safe at night and rather upscale Pocitos neighborhood and one block from the busy Pocitos beach, which for a city beach was quite pleasant. However, for practical purposes is not too far away from the historic Ciudad Vieja area, as local bus 121 at the corner of the hotel connects you directly with central Plaza Independencia and Ciudad Vieja for 23 Pesos. So, all in all a very good stay in a friendly and confortable 3 to 4 star hotel in a great neighborhood for a reasonable rate. Clearly, recommended !

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roland_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2014

Location is great. 1 block from the beach, very walkable, friendly staff. Room was tiny but shower was big, however it smelled like septic water early in the morning when we first used the bathroom. There were issues with the elevator quiet a few times. Breakfast is on the top floor, with great selection of pastries, breakfast meats etc. Hotel offers laundry service but we used a laundry on the corner from the hotel. It charges per bag of laundry, they wash, press and pack your clothes for you and it is very inexpensive. The best place to eat is La Pulperia. Get there 40min - 1hr before it opens at 8pm and sit at one of the outside tables (there are only 4 of them). The meats are incredible. Best culinary experience by far!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews