We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
195
204
112
46
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
204
112
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a great place to meet nice patio the main bus station noisy at night clean rooms a great stay would stay here again old town hostel lockers sheets facilities computers mvd
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I only stayed for one night at the El Viajero, and it was my first night alone in Montevideo, but I felt super comfortable there - the staff was so warm, as were the other travelers. Also I was stayed in a room adjacent to the common outdoor area and around midnight my roomie and I went to bed, and one of the men working at the desk, Alex, enforced a quiet policy in the outdoor area, which was so great bc I reaaaaally needed the sleep. Overall it was great!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julieB6252ZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Public Relations Manager at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hi! thank you very much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Just a great place to stay, very convenient, nice people, clean rooms and kitchen you can use all the time. Inclouding the nice patio a place to relaxe, a place to meet people, a place to listen music, a place to make friends and last but not least a place with nice and helpfull staff.

Room Tip: Door number 11 ;-)
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heinz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Public Relations Manager at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hello Heinz, thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Closer of many things importants to visit in downtown, nice staff, help us to rent a car (we went to Punta del este driving, better than go with bus) and they indicated where we can take the citytour bus. Awesome breakfast!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joaosergiosouzaprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thanks a lot for your review! We are glad your stay at El Viajero was enjoyable. We hope to have you again at our Hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The place is very cool, with good rooms and good beds. Everybody can smoke weed outside of de bedrooms, but the breakfast is very simple but in the same time very tasty. The Hostel is located near from a lot of good places like Canabis Museum, 18 de Julio Avenue and others.

Room Tip: Private room
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arantes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review! You have to know that among our polices it is not allowed to use drugs in the hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Fantastic hostel for all backpacking lovers! A genuine heart-warming welcome from a super caring staff! Dorms,kitchen,common places and security are all joined together t guarantee a very cool atmosphere with a lot of connections with the other travellers.Only problem :You might very well extand your stay..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jonperona80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that you had lots of fun at our hostel. We hope to see you again in El Viajero around Uruguay and Colombia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews