We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
196
204
112
46
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
204
112
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a great place to meet nice patio the main bus station noisy at night clean rooms a great stay would stay here again old town hostel lockers sheets facilities computers mvd
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Closer of many things importants to visit in downtown, nice staff, help us to rent a car (we went to Punta del este driving, better than go with bus) and they indicated where we can take the citytour bus. Awesome breakfast!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joaosergiosouzaprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thanks a lot for your review! We are glad your stay at El Viajero was enjoyable. We hope to have you again at our Hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The place is very cool, with good rooms and good beds. Everybody can smoke weed outside of de bedrooms, but the breakfast is very simple but in the same time very tasty. The Hostel is located near from a lot of good places like Canabis Museum, 18 de Julio Avenue and others.

Room Tip: Private room
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arantes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review! You have to know that among our polices it is not allowed to use drugs in the hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Fantastic hostel for all backpacking lovers! A genuine heart-warming welcome from a super caring staff! Dorms,kitchen,common places and security are all joined together t guarantee a very cool atmosphere with a lot of connections with the other travellers.Only problem :You might very well extand your stay..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jonperona80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that you had lots of fun at our hostel. We hope to see you again in El Viajero around Uruguay and Colombia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I really liked my stay at El Viajero Hostel!! Well, especially in comparison to another hostel in Montevideo (which I had stayed in for the night before and then left because it was really not nice although it had excellent reviews online...). So El Viajero in Montevideo is a really cool place to stay in, perfectly located close to ciudad vieja (but not within, which seems to be better because of security reasons at night) in a very pretty neighbourhood and with many sights, bars and shops close-by. Moreover, the house itself is an old building and as such beautiful and charming. It is decorated and furnished in a very cool and nice way. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms clean. Breakfast was very good (although I would not recommend eating the cornflakes as it seemed like some little birds regularly try to eat them, too). The only disadvantage I did not like that much is that it becomes quite loud at night in the patio where the bar is located. So if you have a room next to the patio (which is a quite beautiful one) it is really noisy at night until 1 a.m. when the music is turned down. If you have another room or if you go out yourself in the evening it should not be a problem however.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LeLeLeLeLeLeLeNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience and you enjoyed the place, activities and breakfast (not the cornflakes...) . We hope to see you again at our hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Average, spacious, old-school hostel, backpacker-style, located centrally in a beautiful property, with basic breakfast included. Located about 45min from the bus terminal and 25 min from Old town.

On the minus side, this place is very noisy at night, as per other reviews. Some rooms will be very exposed to the inner court, which is where people will congregate in the evenings.

Another important negative: his place had one of the worst mattresses I've seen in months of traveling. Seriously, this place needs new beds.

The basics: Under-the-bunk lockers, ok wifi, 2 shared computers. Basics are covered.

Felt safe, but quite empty. Although it was clearly not even half full, there were music performances every night. Also there was free dinner one night (hot pot of homey lentils).

Overall, it's a backpacker hostel not far from the center, average value for money. Certainly not 5 stars, but could be 4 stars improving beds and reducing noise. Presently, it gets just 3 stars.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lightpacker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thanks a lot for your review. We'll take into account your suggestions about beds and noise. Otherwise we are glad you enjoyed the location and activities.
Hope to have you again in our hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews