We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOSTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Viajero Downtown Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The place is very cool, with good rooms and good beds. Everybody can smoke weed outside of de bedrooms, but the breakfast is very simple but in the same time very tasty. The Hostel is located near from a lot of good places like Canabis Museum, 18 de Julio Avenue and others.

Room Tip: Private room
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arantes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review! You have to know that among our polices it is not allowed to use drugs in the hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Fantastic hostel for all backpacking lovers! A genuine heart-warming welcome from a super caring staff! Dorms,kitchen,common places and security are all joined together t guarantee a very cool atmosphere with a lot of connections with the other travellers.Only problem :You might very well extand your stay..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jonperona80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that you had lots of fun at our hostel. We hope to see you again in El Viajero around Uruguay and Colombia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I really liked my stay at El Viajero Hostel!! Well, especially in comparison to another hostel in Montevideo (which I had stayed in for the night before and then left because it was really not nice although it had excellent reviews online...). So El Viajero in Montevideo is a really cool place to stay in, perfectly located close to ciudad vieja (but not within, which seems to be better because of security reasons at night) in a very pretty neighbourhood and with many sights, bars and shops close-by. Moreover, the house itself is an old building and as such beautiful and charming. It is decorated and furnished in a very cool and nice way. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms clean. Breakfast was very good (although I would not recommend eating the cornflakes as it seemed like some little birds regularly try to eat them, too). The only disadvantage I did not like that much is that it becomes quite loud at night in the patio where the bar is located. So if you have a room next to the patio (which is a quite beautiful one) it is really noisy at night until 1 a.m. when the music is turned down. If you have another room or if you go out yourself in the evening it should not be a problem however.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LeLeLeLeLeLeLeNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience and you enjoyed the place, activities and breakfast (not the cornflakes...) . We hope to see you again at our hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Average, spacious, old-school hostel, backpacker-style, located centrally in a beautiful property, with basic breakfast included. Located about 45min from the bus terminal and 25 min from Old town.

On the minus side, this place is very noisy at night, as per other reviews. Some rooms will be very exposed to the inner court, which is where people will congregate in the evenings.

Another important negative: his place had one of the worst mattresses I've seen in months of traveling. Seriously, this place needs new beds.

The basics: Under-the-bunk lockers, ok wifi, 2 shared computers. Basics are covered.

Felt safe, but quite empty. Although it was clearly not even half full, there were music performances every night. Also there was free dinner one night (hot pot of homey lentils).

Overall, it's a backpacker hostel not far from the center, average value for money. Certainly not 5 stars, but could be 4 stars improving beds and reducing noise. Presently, it gets just 3 stars.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lightpacker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thanks a lot for your review. We'll take into account your suggestions about beds and noise. Otherwise we are glad you enjoyed the location and activities.
Hope to have you again in our hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The hostel has a good hang out area, friendly and helpful staff, and a solid breakfast. However, many of the dorms are right next to the bar/hangout area. The doors do not block any sound and the quiet hours are not enforced at all. When I stayed there a group was singing and shouting continuously right next to the bedroom door until an hour and a half after quiet hours started making it impossible to sleep. I switched rooms for the rest of my stay and the upstairs room far from the common area was much better.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephla2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hostel, and sorry about the inconvenience with the noice. We hope to see you again at our hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 km away
Caballo Loco Hostel
Caballo Loco Hostel
#1 of 95 in Montevideo
244 reviews
2.2 km away
Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo
3.9 km away
Destino26 Hostel
Destino26 Hostel
#3 of 95 in Montevideo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ukelele Hostel
Ukelele Hostel
#12 of 95 in Montevideo
228 reviews
2.1 km away
Buenas Vibras Hostel
Buenas Vibras Hostel
#5 of 95 in Montevideo
72 reviews
2.4 km away
MedioMundo Hostel
MedioMundo Hostel
#8 of 95 in Montevideo
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Viajero Downtown Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Viajero Downtown Montevideo

Address: Soriano 1073 | Entre Rio Negro y Paraguay, Montevideo 11111, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range: $19 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Viajero Downtown Montevideo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Viajero Downtown Hostel & Suites is conveniently located in the heart of Montevideo: two blocks away from our most important Avenue 18 de Julio and only 10 minutes away from Montetvideo's main attractions. Near the nicest squares of our city (Plaza Cagancha, Plaza del Entrevero, Plaza Independencia and Plaza Matriz), 10 minutes walk away from the beach. Established in an ex hotel in a typical colonial style house of the XIX century, El Viajero Downtown Hostel & Suites has 12 private rooms with bathroom en-suite, offering you all the comfort of a hotel with the fun and relaxing atmosphere of a hostel. Well-equipped spacious kitchen, BBQ, colonial patio with a garden outside, movie area and a bar open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Viajero Downtown Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing