We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
151
180
49
10
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
180
49
10
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

I had read some pretty negative reviews and comments about the Sur Hotel . I've been here two days and say the following; warm friendly welcome and chit chat from reception. Advice about whereabouts to go. Light airy room with window opning to front. Exceptionally clean throuoghout and woth the not so much money.
When will people realise, you pay your price etc and in this case do well.
Good location to Julio 18 and shopping museums etc. Good cafe just at next block and good resturants just three blocks away.

Room Tip: Request room with window if an issue.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in Sur Hotel from the 26th to the 28th of February. The hotel is a few blocks away from 18 de Junio Avenue - where things really happen in Montevideo - but that's it. Room is so small and dark that it looks like a prison, with no windows. Bed and its pillows, blankets were not so comfortable. Bathroom vent not working and it had a bad smell. No room service. Frigobar not working and smelling very bad. Not worth the $65 spent per day there. Plus, they provided us a map of the region as we checked-in and I later discovered with a local that the map had wrong information of where some of the museums were located. As Montevideo, this hotel did not attract me very much.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank whoislucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael U, Director General at Sur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Traveler, thank you for taking the time to comment.
We regret that your stay has not been completely satisfactory. Reviewing your comment, it is clear that you knew very little or nothing of our city, since it is not only the main avenue that corrects itself is called July 18 where everything happens.
 Montevideo is small and easy to navigate and has many tourist attractions very close to the Hotel, squares, parks, ramblas, beaches, museums, bars, etc.,. Our architecture, Montevideo has a valuable collection of architecture, ranging from the neoclassical to the postmodern.
 Our Culture, we are the cradle of tango, candombe and Uruguayan murga, its shows, theaters, historical walks, etc., etc.
With regard to our Hotel, we were surprised by some of their complaints. All our Frigobar are open, shut down, with no items inside and clean. As we have explained to you, if I wanted to use it, I had to turn it on.
  The maps we offer you are provided by the Ministry of Tourism and are up to date. We have Room Service 24 hours a day. Therefore what you write is a fallacy. He omitted to say that it was a Triple Room, U $ S 65- (3 people at DOLLARS 21.6- each).
We apologize that you have not felt comfortable in our beds and pillows as well as bathroom, room, ventilation, etc.
  We felt some of the complaints he said, but if we had communicated to the front desk, we would have dealt with it immediately, as we do with all our customers.
I reiterate that we regret your experience with us (that of the City of Montevideo, like the one in the Hotel) that was not to your liking.
We are also at your disposal.
Sincerely

SUR Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The rooms are very well equipped and very modern. The stuff was friendly and advised us on possible trips which we should do. However we had no windows in our room, which is something I do not like very much.

Room Tip: Ask if they give you a room with windows, if you want them
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juma_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Sur hotel incorporated thevery best of old and new. It was a beautiful old building with shutters, marble staircase A A beautiful old building, marble staircase with polished bannister, and shutters. Yet the room ceiling had been lowered, and the room was modernised. A glass table and two chairs, alongside a fridge, meant that we could eat in the room. (However, there was a bright and cheerful room, also, where one could eat. Here there was water, on the boil, available all the time.) Owners were extremely helpful. Location on edge of old town. From our exprrience there, we can highly recommend Sur Hotel.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank rosivdapirt186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Very pleasantly surprised with what we got here for the price , modern furnishings, staff was great, and the location was great, between the port and blocks from the casino!

parking (if you rent a car) is easy too, plenty of cheap overnight (indoor) lots within a block.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews