We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
84
113
75
31
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
113
75
31
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punta carretas nice pool front desk room service recommend this hotel lobby sauna block
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

The room -nice clean and modern and a view of the sea.
The staff-helpful and nice. The guys at the front desk when we arrived were great as well as the housekeepers.
Breakfast-The worst we have ever seen and we travel a lot and try to stay in 4-5 star hotels. Flies were everywhere. The entire buffet was swarming with flies and when we were trying to eat we had to try and keep the regular flies off of our food then the fruit flies joined and made it near impossible to eat in the converted garage they wanted to call a dining room.

Room tip: We got a suite with 2 bathrooms so it came in handy but since it is a newer hotel it would be difficult to get a bad room I think.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenny8012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor by Wyndham Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor, your opinion help us to improve each day.

I am glad to know that you liked the room, cleanliness and the beautiful view, and that our staff was helpful and nice with you.

I will check all of the other comments and sugestions, in order to improve our service. Next month we will be opening our new restaurant with a new variety of products.

Hope to receive you again on your next visit to Montevideo.

Best regards,

María Ripoll
Gerente General
Esplendor Montevideo a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

The positives are that the room and pool areas are very clean. However, the lady on the front-desk in reception was not friendly at all, there was always a lack of towels in the pool area and my i-Pad went missing too! (The manager dealt with this very well and was kind but offered no compensation). The reception team also gave our room number to a local waiter who thought we had mis-paid our bill which was very odd. Breakfast was limited in choice.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lee2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor by Wyndham Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor, your opinion help us to improve each day.

I am glad to know that you liked the rooms and pool area.

I will check all of the other comments and sugestions, in order to improve our service, I regret that your stay has not been good.

Hope to receive you again on your next visit to Montevideo.

Best regards,

María Ripoll
Gerente General
Esplendor Montevideo a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Musty smelling bed with no sanitary cover, rude staff, loud housekeeping making sleeping in impossible, bathroom fixtures coming apart, inedible breakfast (dry brown scrambled eggs), no security latch on door, magnetic door cards that barely work, doors don't even align with the frames, lack of lighting in the room. All that and priced like a 4 star hotel in a developed country.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jblack422018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor by Wyndham Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor, your opinion help us to improve each day.

I will check all of your comments and sugestions, in order to improve our service, I regret that your stay has not been good.

Hope to receive you again on your next visit to Montevideo.

Best regards,

María Ripoll
Gerente General
Esplendor Montevideo a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

I really likes the hotel per se. The rooftop pool is breathtaking, the rooms are cool, the lobby too. But the staff is disgusting. Worst room service ever, they took 1 hour to get us 2 glasses of champagne. Another hour for clean towels. The breakfast was one of the worst I’ve ever seen, it looks like a college food court, food was horrible, no options, 3 kinds of bread, butter and that’s it. For $100 a night, money was considered WASTED

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank micaelad766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor by Wyndham Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor, your opinion help us to improve each day.

I am glad to know that you liked the Hotel, pool and rooms.
Regarding the other comments and sugestions, I will check them in order to improve our service. I am sorry for any inconvenience we´ve may have caused.

Hope to receive you again on your next visit to Montevideo.

Best regards,

María Ripoll
Gerente General
Esplendor Montevideo a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

When we arrived the only employee at reception was obviously being more entertained by his computer screen than attending to guests , and evidently put out when he had to call his attention. However he did manage a smile when he told us our reservation was not in the system, and told us to go and find a seat to see IF the problem could be resolved, which fortunately it was given all the supporting documentation and the intervention of an invisible manager.

Hardly a warm welcome, the unfriendly and more Can´t do than Can do attitude to guest requests was a feature of the service throughout our stay (with the notable exception of the cleaning ladies) despite being an issue raised by previous reviews, seemingly so far without result.

We asked for a high floor, but apparently our (admittedly very economical tariff) did not permit anything higher than the 6th. Access to the cave like room was along a never ending corridor , and situated at the back of the hotel, with a view through a small window of (nearby) other windows and with very little light of day. Although bearable for a one night stay, for anytime longer probably adviseable to pay a bit extra for a room overlooking the outside world. To give credit where it is due, the bed was very comfortable, the shower worked well, the television was user friendly with just one control and a list of channels was provided. The wash basin, however, may have won design prizes though not very practical for normal useage. Wi-Fi worked perfectly though room keys needed to be replaced as they stopped working.

And then there was breakfast. While the restaurant is at street level, the decoration of the area is drab and untidy. Breakfast was standard , with quality of coffee not being a highlight , though eggs were available. If only finished food items were replenished as efficiently as unfinished plates were taken away!
The swimming pool is attractively positioned though the area as the rest of the hotel is lacking in atmosphere. It is not helped by the prevailing indifferent service, but there is now a lot of competition in the Punta Carretas area, with excellence of customer service being the norm rather than exception. Location is also a plus, with the Rambla on the doorstep, but restaurants and shops are further away.

At least we were able to depart efficiently with the taxi called by reception arriving in just two minutes!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PETES04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor by Wyndham Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor, your opinion help us to improve each day.

I will check all of yout comments and sugestions, in order to improve our service, I regret that your stay has not been good.

Hope to receive you again on your next visit to Montevideo.

Best regards,

María Ripoll
Gerente General
Esplendor Montevideo a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews