We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and cozy hote, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amaru Valle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amaru Valle Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
1 review
“nice and cozy hote, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We liked:

the location, nice sceneries,nice view, very natural.
the staf: they were very kind, professional and helpful, some of them speak English
Cleanliness: Very clean hotel
Rooms: big enough and comfortable
tour arangementes
nice decoration of rooms and hotel in general

We did not like:
Price: kind of expensive but this is common in Cuzco and Urubamba

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertinos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    51
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
36
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I absolutely loved this place. The grounds are beautiful; I felt like I was at a retreat. The rooms, the grounds, the facilities, the kitchen, and the dining area all were immaculate. The staff were kind, friendly, and accomodating. In response to the negative review: There are two resident dogs and one cat. Both dogs are very sweet and non-aggressive. They will only come over to socialize if invited; otherwise they are very tired and like to nap. Bruno, is a shaggy dog and probably would look much prettier with a shower and shave; however I would not let Bruno's lack of doggy hygiene prevent me from staying here (as he is an outside dog). As far as night-time barking goes, there are stray dogs all over in Urubamba. I heard packs of dogs barking, in addition to mooing, roosters cackling, and other noises throughout the night. I think that the hotel is situated in such a way in the valley that every sound echoes. I noticed this was an issue at several hotels during my trip; I would recommend traveling with a pair of earplugs just in case. Also, we had an upstairs room with no fireplace and it was extremely cold with the high ceilings. They do have nice warm down comforters so I was warm at night, but once I got out of bed it was very cold. Not sure if I could have asked for a space heater . Again, this lack of indoor heat seemed to be a common issue at every place I stayed during the trip (I do not think buildings have any sort of heat). The shower made it all worthwhile. There was more water pressure than I have at home and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpknMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

very, very pretty grounds, -lots of flowers-great mountain views right from your window. very helpfull staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

April 26 - 29
We stayed at this charming hotel for four nights. It is a short walk (partly along a gravel small road) to the centre. and the main transportation hub for buses and taxis. The hotel has several A-frame buildings set in a lovely, lush garden. Each of the A-frames has two upper units with balconies and two lower units with patios. The shower was hot and there was free internet in the main reception building. The restaurant provides a very good breakfast (included) and you can also arrange to have supper there (not sure about lunch).

If you like dogs, you are in luck. There are two very sweet and friendly dogs on site.

Urubamba gets a lot fewer tourists than Ollantaytambo. It is a great base from which to visit Sacred Valley sites, has an interesting centre and a fantastic market which is a great place to see local people wearing traditional clothing and going about their daily lives.

Room Tip: take a flashlight for walking to hotel at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundthenextcorner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed in Urubamba after 3 nights in Cusco and en route to Machu Pichu after a guided day tour. There's not much to see in Urubamba and we were lucky to be there on market day which is a Wednesday and on a day during easter week when there was a religious parade around the square. Otherwise it would have been very quiet. The Hotel is a 5 min walk into town but quite safe. Once inside it is extremely relaxing and very pretty. At $54 the value was ok. It's a good 30 min drive to ollantaytambo and in order to make our train to Machu Pichu we had to leave at crack of dawn. On reflection i think it would have been better to have stayed at Ollantaytambo itself but the Hotel cannot be faulted. Good internet service, nice room, hot water all the time and as we left before breakfast they made us complimentary packs to take with us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEJTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
28.2 km away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.1 km away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#6 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
8.5 km away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
27.8 km away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Valle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Valle Hotel

Property: Amaru Valle Hotel
Address: Jiron Grau s/n, Urubamba 1, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Urubamba
Price range (per night): $77 - $109
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Valle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaru Valle is a hotel located in the hearth of the Sacred Valley of the Incas, just few blocks away from the Urubamba main square, quiet, clean with nice gardens plenty of light with amazing views of the mountains of the Sacred Valley and a friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amaru Valle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Valle Hotel Sacred Valley/Urubamba, Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing