We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Davemason1983
London, United Kingdom

Very disappointing and left dissatisfied

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2023via mobile
A friend and I booked the Life Hotel Villa Sagrado (also branded as a Wellness Centre) for a three night stay in September 2023. We were drawn to Life by the facilities, website and positive reviews. Sadly, we were not as impressed by Life as others who have reviewed, and whilst I am not generally one to leave critical remarks, I felt it is important to convey our experiences whilst staying at Life.

The interior of the hotel is lovely. However, it was clear that we were one of the only (if not the only) customers and as a result, the hotel looked unused, unutilized, with facilities unopened, and the hotel was in a state of uncleanliness in certain areas. The pool was dirty and full of bugs (see pic) and therefore, we didn’t swim. The sauna and steam room were closed. We were advised we could use them for a fee (we chose not too as the hotel was expensive enough). We were also surprised to see no complementary water or coffee (they were available, for a fee). The restaurant was open (if we requested it), and there was also a rooftop restaurant which whilst closed, did exude loud music during the day! I was also very concerned to see photocopies of our passports left on unattended reception areas which poses a major data security breach.

Sadly, we were expecting a higher standard. What stops me from giving one star is some positives. As noted, the decor is lovely, and rooms were big and spacious with lovely bathrooms. The two staff members covering (and to my eye running) the hotel were lovely and helpful. They seemed understanding when we expressed our dissatisfaction and plans to leave early (we couldn’t stay three nights because of our experience there), and rightfully charged us for only two.

Our lasting impression was that this was an establishment in a state of transition to a Wellness centre, whilst trying to remain open as ‘Life Hotel’. Sadly, this led to a disappointing chapter in an otherwise great Peruvian trip.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$252
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$250
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$189
  • Priceline
    AU$286
6.5 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$157
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$156
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$109
  • Priceline
    AU$157
1.4 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Agoda.com
    AU$111
  • Priceline
    AU$121
1.8 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$211
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$172
  • Priceline
    AU$211
0.9 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$328
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$355
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$246
  • Hotels.com
    AU$356
16.3 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Pool
AU$163
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$163
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$136
  • Vio.com
    AU$154
6.5 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$127
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$141
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
7.6 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$520
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$520
  • Agoda.com
    AU$518
  • eDreams
    AU$520
17.2 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Pool
AU$840
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$841
  • Priceline
    AU$845
  • Booking.com
    AU$845
8.9 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Pool
AU$626
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$623
  • Priceline
    AU$626
  • Hotels.com
    AU$623
15.6 km from Life Hotel Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Urubamba
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
315
34
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
315
34
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hotel manager unique design medical team manager dan table tennis mission trip local attractions close to the train station machu picchu incredible stay game room hidden treasure andes mountains great room hotel experience other hotels breakfast was included
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2023

Life Hotel Valle Sagrado is a true hidden gem. Situated in the middle of 'nowhere' far from the bustling city of Cusco yet close to the heart of Peru. It opens up one's mind and heart to the true real Peruvian experience. The somewhat drab exterior opens up to a beautiful , warm and welcoming interior. Great courteous service n helpful courteous staff. The complimentary breakfast was a delectable healthy array.. Swimming pool and pool tables n ping pong etc added to our experience. My only complain was the lunch buffet closes at 3pm. My only regret is we could not make it back in time to enjoy. We were out exploring. A staff member help us to arrange for a taxi for a most engaging wonderful exploration into Incan and pre Incan sights. This hidden gem will take your breath away and I highly recommend staying here' Life is a true hidden gem

Room tip: Do not let the location and the drab exterior fool you. Every Peruvian experience is just a phone call away ie the hotel staff is helpful
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan LifeHotel, Director General at Life Hotel Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2023

Dear Mike,

Thank you for such a nice comment, we are delighted to know that you liked the hotel.

It is an honor for us that you have chosen us among so many options, we hope to receive you again in what is your home in Urubamba.

We are encouraged to know that your stay was to your liking and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the tranquility that our location offers, we work very hard to offer the quality that our dear guests expect and deserve.

Please come back soon! We would love to serve you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2023 via mobile

I want to start off by saying Dan and the rest of the team who work here are 5+ stars.
Dan went above and beyond to help us during the stay. From organising taxis and getting us an early breakfast prepared when we went Machu Picchu early one morning.

When my husband was ill the medical team next door came to our hotel room and provided all support and medication to get him feeling better.

So the staff are amazing! I want to make that very clear.

I was however disappointed by the hotel. When we arrived and the whole time we were there it felt like a ghost town. No one was around.

The bars and restaurants are run independently from the hotel. But none of the bars were open at all during our stay. The only thing open was the buffet restaurant which didn’t open until 8.30pm. So we spent the evenings in our room.

The breakfast provided was minimal and not great.

The spa/pool was not being used. The pool was half full and did not look inviting and also closed at 6pm - but I would not have gone in there. There is also a lot of maintenance going on in the spa area. We could have gone in the steam room and sauna but they would be just turned on for us.

I had booked this hotel as I thought a wellness hotel would be great after treking Machu Picchu, but I just felt really disappointed by the hotel and it’s facilities.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 577alip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan LifeHotel, Director General at Life Hotel Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2023

Dear Ali,

Thank you for commenting about your experience at our Life Hotel Valle Sagrado. I am delighted to read this message that very clearly describes the advantages of our hotel.

Thank you for your detail of mentioning the kindness and excellent service of our team, it is our passion to serve; and when we know that our efforts have been successful, it motivates us to continue on the path of excellence.

I am very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your first visit to our property.

Let me assure you that we will take your comments into account so that we can continue discovering memorable experiences in each of our guests. Personally I will make sure that the excellent service that we are used to offering is always provided.

It is a pleasure to be able to count on your visit again and show you that your comments were taken into account and also to be able to reverse the last experience you had in our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2023

A highly recommended hotel just outside of Urubamba and also very close to the train station for MP. The communication from the start has been quick and efficient. The manager was super friendly and helped us with everything and making sure our stay was perfect. The room was spacious and well decorated and the house keeping staff have a great sense of humour. The breakfast was a great way to start the day too! Laundry service was quick as well.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SamsonCKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan LifeHotel, Director General at Life Hotel Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2023

Dear Samson,

Thank you for such a nice comment, we are delighted to know that you liked the hotel. It is an honor for us that you have chosen us among so many options, we hope to receive you again in what is your home in Urubamba.

We are encouraged to know that your stay was to your liking and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the tranquility that our location offers, we work very hard to offer the quality that our dear guests expect and deserve.

Thank you for your detail of mentioning the kindness and excellent service of our team, it is our passion to serve; and when we know that our efforts have been successful, it motivates us to continue on the path of excellence.

Please come back soon! We would love to serve you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2022 via mobile

I just finished my stay at Life Hotel and I felt compelled to leave a review. I do not usually leave reviews. However my stay at Life Hotel far exceeded every expectation I could have had. Being Canadian and exploring a new country like Peru, I realized quickly how critical it is to find the right hotel in order to maximize the experience of the vacation. The hotel experience serves many purposes; Your needs are catered too, the food is unique and typical of the region, the service from the staff facilitates various experiences you wish to have and rooms provide comfort that far exceeds what would be required to feel relaxed and pampered.

Life Hotel checks all the boxes one could have before embarking on such a vacation. In fact the hotel has 'camelion-esk' qualities because of its unique location in the Sacred Valley. You want to spend all day at the hotel, it has all the amenities, you want to do a day trek it's within 30min of some of the best hikes on the planet, you want to simply walk around and relax, you're directly next to million dollar views of the Andes mountains. You want great food, there is a 5 star restaurant on location.

Alot of what I am saying about the hotel comes down to a very old school, extreme level of competency from the hotel manager Dan. Dan makes everything happen there, from the lowest level staff to the most esteemed guests Dan brings an aptitude to hotel management and customer service that just doesn't exist much anymore. It's clear he loves his work and it shows in his professionalism. Anything you need, treks, cabs, food and recommendations for anything in Peru he will arrange free of charge.

This place is a hidden gem and should be a place you make sure to spend some time at. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 309spencerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan LifeHotel, Director General at Life Hotel Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2022

Dear Spencer,

Thank you for commenting about your experience at our Life Hotel Valle Sagrado. I am delighted to read this message that very clearly describes the advantages of our hotel.

Together with the team we have read this comment, and we feel very honored to be called "the hidden gem of the valley". It fills us with joy to know that we met your expectations.

Thank you for your detail of mentioning the kindness and excellent service of our team, it is our passion to serve; and when we know that our efforts have been successful, it motivates us to continue on the path of excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the newest hotel in Urubamba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2022

I had an amazing stay here, the staff were lovely and it was very good service and food. The hotel manager Dan was very good to us and made our stay very enjoyable. The hotel itself was very lovely and clean and also in a good location

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anaya891
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan LifeHotel, Director General at Life Hotel Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2022

Dear Anaya,

Thank you for such a nice comment, we are delighted to know that the hotel was to your liking.

It is an honor for us that you have chosen us among so many options, we hope to receive you again in this that is your home in Urubamba.

We are encouraged to know that your stay was to your liking and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the tranquility that our location offers, we work hard to offer the quality that our dear guests expect and deserve.

Please come back soon! We would love to serve you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews