We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nik

Once in a lifetime experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2024
I have nothing but EXCEPTIONAL things to say about my stay in the Explora lodge and with the Exlora tour company. The accommodations were first rate, top-of-the-line. The service and staff make you feel like family and treat you with the utmost respect, regard and professionalism at all times and accommodate any request you have. The Guides are knowledgeable and talented, the excursions are outstanding- with visits to remote and jawdropping areas. From start to finish, I could not have asked for a more beautiful experience and high quality accommodations, foods. The menu and restaurant is totally suitable and exceptional for vegetarians as well. The drinks are artfully designed. All needs are anticipated. Could not recommend more highly! Thank you Explora! They truly care for their guests and want to make sure you walk away from Sacred Valley with an in-depth appreciation for the historical value and majesty it has to offer.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explora Team, Otro at Explora en Valle Sagrado, responded to this review
Responded 25 Mar 2024
Dear Nik,

Thanks for choosing us to explore the Sacred Valley of the Incas! We are very pleased to read such a wonderful review of your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We hope to welcome you back for another unforgettable journey, whether it's exploring the breathtaking landscapes of Torres del Paine or Atacama in Chile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$328
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$328
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$245
  • Hotels.com
    AU$328
1.3 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Pool
AU$252
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$252
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$185
  • Expedia.com
    AU$252
10.7 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$127
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$141
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
9.5 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$157
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$157
  • Agoda.com
    AU$113
  • Expedia.com
    AU$156
15.8 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$156
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Hotels.com
    AU$166
16.7 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$155
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$164
  • Agoda.com
    AU$132
  • Expedia.com
    AU$164
10.9 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$111
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$87
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
7.8 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$301
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$301
  • Agoda.com
    AU$206
  • Expedia.com
    AU$301
16.9 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$121
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$121
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$101
  • Hotels.com
    AU$121
7.3 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Restaurant
Room service
AU$1,033
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,035
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$763
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,033
8.3 km from Explora en Valle Sagrado
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Urubamba
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
638
39
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
638
39
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews virgilio martinez sacred valley machu picchu daily activities a wonderful stay explorer exploration excursions culture hike treks spa peru overland luxury mountains altitude
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2024

We had an amazing stay at Explore en VALLE SAGRADO. This was our third experience with Explora and we really enjoyed our time. Our guide, Juan Jose, for the four days we visited, was amazing and knowledgeable about the area. We had a great time with him. All the staff was very accommodating. Rooms were very nice with an amazing view of the valley.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kristinae209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explora Team, Otro at Explora en Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Dear Kristina,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay at our lodges before.

We hope to welcome you back for another unforgettable journey!

Kind regards,
Explora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

We had an excellent experience and it exceeded our expectations. The explorations are spectacular and the guides are very well prepared. The service and infrastructure of the hotel are superior. I was left with the impression of having taken a magical trip, I learned a lot, I felt the culture and history of the place, and I loved the concept of cuisine that uses elements and flavors from the sacred valley. Great food!!.
I really appreciated Explora for the care taken in every detail.

Room tip: The hotel is over 2,500 mts above sea level; some people may require an adaptation period especially for explorations that involve hicking
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pablovialclaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explora Team, Otro at Explora en Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Hi Pablo!

First of all, thank you for your comment and for choosing us to explore the Sacred Valley of the Incas. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge, as our team strives to ensure that all travelers have a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Explora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

This is the third Explora Lodge that we have visited in South America... we highly recommend all of them. The one in the Sacred Valley (like the ones we visited in Torres del Paine and The Atacama Desert) is beautifully designed and nestled into the surrounding environment. Our room was spacious, with an amazing shower (and separate tub) and wonderful bedding. The food was so special -- featuring local dishes -- and the presentation was gorgeous!!
We like to visit Explora Lodges because of their choices of excursions -- lead by knowledgeable and friendly guides. We were fortunate enough to get to know four terrific professionals who led us on surrounding hikes and on a trip to Machu Picchu. The latter was made quite exciting (!) due to a partial derailment of a train going home that turned a 3 hour trip into 7 hours. On our own, we might have felt really uncomfortable as we had to walk along the dark tracks at 10:30pm -- but our Explora guide made us feel safe and even had us laughing.
If you have a chance to visit the Sacred Valley and can stay at the Explora -- go for it!!!

Room tip: Just enjoy!!!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gretchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explora Team, Otro at Explora en Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Dear gkoitz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay at our lodges in the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Torres del Paine, and Atacama.

We hope to welcome you back for another unforgettable journey, whether it's exploring the breathtaking landscapes of Patagonia National Park in Chile or immersing yourself in the beauty of El Chaltén in Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2023

Awesome experience and marvelous place. Really incredible explorations hiking and biking; as well as dining and relaxing at the livings, the rooms or the spa.

Explora concept is quite unique and really wonderful.

Room tip: Make your reservations for the spa before leaving to explore.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank javelasc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explora Team, Otro at Explora en Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

Dear Javelasc0

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Explora Valle Sagrado.
We hope to welcome you back soon for another exploration!

Best regards,
Explora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023

Machu Picchu has been high on our travel wish list for some time. We looked at several US based active travel companies as possibilities. The travel companies all tend to price their travel by person. When we calculated the Explora price per person we realized we could save money and not have to move from hotel to hotel. Explora exceeded our expectations.

The Explora price includes: transportation from and to the airport, all meals with a special menu designed by Virgilio Martinez, all drinks except for a few high-end wines, daily explorations with knowledgeable Peruvian guides, and all entrance fees. Their location is near Urubamba which is in the center of the Sacred Valley. Each evening you meet with the guides and select an exploration that fits your interest. Usually, guests zero in on a day for their Machu Picchu visit well in advance so Explora can purchase all of the required tickets and arrange the guide. We traveled at the front end of the rainy season so most of our explorations ended up being private.

We found the lodge to be stunningly beautiful. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, and modern. Every room has a lovely view of the valley. The outstanding customer service begins with a manager greeting you at the van whisking your luggage to your room so that you can go on a leisurely tour of the property. Along the way she introduces you to various members of the staff. You pause for a little tea, sign a couple of papers, and you are off to your room.

When we booked the trip we thought we were checking Machu Picchu off of our list. Somehow I expect we might return to Explora Sacred Valley.

Room tip: If you like active (hiking and biking) guided travel, this hotel is an awesome choice.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Conrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explora Team, Otro at Explora en Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Hi Conradsz!

First of all, thank you for your comment and for choosing us to explore the Sacred Valley of the Incas. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge, as our team strives to ensure that all travelers have a memorable trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge in the Sacred Valley of the Incas in the future!

Warm regards,
Explora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews