We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Samanapaq(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dona Catta Inn(Ollantaytambo)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wayras Hostal(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ollantaytampu Hostel(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
USD 50
USD 30
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Janaxpacha Hostel(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 25
USD 24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 44
USD 32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Pakaritampu Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SAUCE Hostal(Ollantaytambo)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tikawasi Valley Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,883)
Filter reviews
1,883 results
Traveller rating
1,296
431
92
49
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,296
431
92
49
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmtrain platformpachamanca lunchtrain noisesacred valleyeucalyptus saunawendy weeksgreat restaurantalpaca steakbalcony roomconvenient locationtaking the trainin townbeautiful gardenearly traintrip to machu picchuan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 1,883 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
122
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We entered the hotel thru the Ollantaytambo train station (which had us a little worried), after arriving on a train from Machu Picchu. Little did we know, that a HEAVENLY retreat lay nestled just behind the station, complete with luscious gardens, soaring views of the Andes, & a fantastic restaurant serving food from their next-door organic farm.

HEAVEN.

When we got to our room, upstairs, with a balcony looking towards the snow-capped Andes & the ruins of Ollantaytambo, we were delighted. And our room was GORGEOUS!! White walls & comfy beds combined with dark wood beams, high ceilings, & tall windows. Views everwhere. Hot water in the shower. Again: heavenly.

We used the sauna that night (you should definitely try it, especially after hiking Machu Picchu!), & dined at the restaurant. Our meal was so fresh, so delicious ~ it made our typical American fare seem lifeless & tasteless in comparison.

The next day, we took part in the Pachamanca lunch on their organic farm, hosted by Gabriel. FANTASTIC. You haven’t visited El Albergue until you’ve visited their farm! Heavenly views, heavenly food, & Gabriel is the BEST: so knowledgable & well-informed. We could have talked with him all afternoon!

The only detractor I can even think of is that the Wi-Fi kicks you off every time your phone turns off, & you need to re-log-in. But this isn’t really the kind of place where you’re worried about Wi-Fi!

And Sonya helped us so much prior to our visit, answering all our questions & even buying our Machu Picchu tickets in advance, to make sure we got the date/time we wanted. So much care to detail & obvious care from the staff!

Do yourself a favor & stay MORE than just one night here! We booked only one night, & were kicking ourselves. El Albergue was by far our favorite hotel stay in Peru!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time staying with us. It is always wonderful to hear that members of our staff were able to contribute so much to making your time here with us so enjoyable. We are happy you were able to enjoy the sauna after a long day of hiking at Machu Picchu. Gabriel, the rest of our staff, and I take a great amount of pride in trying to make sure that everything is perfect for our guests during their stay. We appreciate your feedback related to the Wi-Fi, as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. We love hearing that we were you favorite hotel while visiting Peru and look forward to providing you with the same exceptional level of comfort and service the next time you are in the Sacred Valley area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

I am now convinced the entire country of Perú is a foodie destination.

In the most unlikely places, you can find the most decadent of food. And - the El Albergue is a great example of the tremendous food-focused impact taking place in the entire country.

Please keep in mind that this review is for the restaurant only. And I have to admit, when a colleague and I were in Ollantaytambo for a business trip, and we needed a place to eat, El Albergue was not the place we thought about first. But boy were we wrong.

It was amazing. The food is fresh and unique without being pretentious. The service was super. Everything about eating at the restaurant was delightful. Perhaps the only exception I would make to that statement is with the wine pours. They are not matched to the delightful food as much as they could be - and this would make the El Albergue even more of a ‘must go’ place.

We struck-up an amazing conversation with the server. Had an awesome time just chitchatting with all of the staff. And completely enjoyed ourselves. It is probably the most expensive place in all of the tourist dense town of Ollantaytambo - but it is absolutely the best and so worth it. Go, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We love hearing that our staff and food had such a positive impact on your travels. Thank you for your feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve the dining experience for our guests. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the Sacred Valley area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

El Albergue Ollantaytambo felt like a step back in time. It is located by the Ollantaytambo rail station and the lobby and adjacent restaurant have non-obstructed view of not only the rail station, but also the mountain ranges. It is stunning location. The rooms are separate villas that reminded me of tree house. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated in white and original wood details. Better yet, the window opened up to the mountains and fresh air. There was a small balcony and chair to admire the view as well. My only complaint was we only stayed for one night. Great hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank munnib42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at El Albergue. We always love getting positive feedback from our guests. Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Hotel was good, location was awesome, walking distance from everything, breakfast was good too. Will def be staying here again if I were to visit Cusco. Really not sure why tripadvisor needs a 200 word paragraph so here's a fluff sentence to meet the minimum word requirement.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sunnyd939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Cusco area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

This quality quirky hotel, set alongside a railway station transferring passengers to & from Machu Picchu is full of plusses for travellers to the Inca Sacred Valley / Peru. The 16 individually located rooms, set in superb gardens full of flowers and humming birds, gives an opportunity to relax, take in the views or stroll up to a 600 year old Inca heritage site. Or take a coffee, tea or hot chocolate in their cafe and watch the hustle and bustle of locals and tourists as the embark or disembark from trains in the picturesque railway station.

The rooms are very comfortable, with balconies allowing time to relax and take in the views. The old-style restaurant serves top notch Peruvian food, with attentive and friendly staff, standing by to give advice. We opted to stay within the confines of the hotel, gardens, farm and nearby station for our 40 hour stay, enjoying every minute and relaxing from the all too pressing imperative of visiting archeological sites and absorbing the Peruvian culture.

Without exception the staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive to everyone's needs. I'd arrived from Cusco and it's sapping altitude of 11,400 feet. Despite the lower elevation of 9,200 feet I was still experiencing to symptoms of Acute Mountain Sickness (note that everyone we met in Cusco had symptoms of Acute Mountain Sickness, to a greater or lesser degree. My advice would be to stay here for a couple of days, to acclimatise to the altitude, then visit Machu Picchu be train. By then your body should be well prepared to deal with the rigours of Cusco's more extreme altitude.). But I digress. The staff confirmed that I was almost certainly suffering the residual affects of Acute Mountain Sickness. The manager discussed my symptoms and arranged for another staff member to stand by as I was gives oxygen and then Coca Tea. All done professionally, with charm and concern in equal degree.

Later we visited their organic farm and enjoyed a sumptuous feast of various meats and vegetable, cooked in a traditional earth oven, heated by 600C hot stones. A truly enjoyable experience in every respect. I note that some guests mention the inconvenience of having to regularly having to re-log into the WiFi. But it didn't detract from what was a most enjoyable stay. Thus I have no hesitation in giving this hotel, their restaurant and staff five stars.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff took such wonderful care of you, and were able to help you with your altitude sickness. It is always wonderful to receive such great feedback from our guests. Thank you for your great review. We hope that the rest of your experience in Peru was just as exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews