We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, romantic place in central Lima”
Review of Hostal Roma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lima
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Roma
Ranked #240 of 393 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent a number of days in this old-fashioned hotel in the "Centro Istorico" of Lima. Clean rooms, with TV, very friendly personnel (help with taxis etc.). No traffic in the street, so very quiet at night. Taxi drivers may have problems finding it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

Very basic, no breakfast, too expensive for bed and warm shower. Very old computer is available for internet use, but it is so old that you'd prefer to go to an internet cafe. There is really nothing special in this place, i stayed one night as it is close to the central plaza. Would recommend to look for places with higher value for money as this is not that place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here for three nights. It was nice to be close to the Plaza Mayor during the World Cup, since they played the games on a large screen there. The hostel is in the printing district of town. It is on a relatively quiet street, which meant walking over a few blocks to catch a cab. It was interesting to walk around during the day and see all the printing equipment being used in the shops. However, the hostel itself left a lot to be desired. The people were friendly but the room - in particular the two twin beds - seemed dirty. Our room had a small bathroom and an adequate shower. The room didn't have a window, so it always felt cool, dark, and damp. The cafe served an average breakfast. We had to walk to the front desk or the cafe to get a wireless internet signal.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flossdaily8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We liked the Roma's central location, it's faded beauty, its 24-hour hot water, and the delicious coffee. The breakfast itself was not good value. The rooms have transoms to let in air from the unroofed corridors, but they are dark and sparsely furnished, and if you want to sit and read, there is really no good place. The wifi works only in the lobby area, but you have to sit on a bench away from any plug to go on line. Towels are not provided, and the sheets kept slipping off the mattress. The walls of our room and bathroom were definitely dirty, but floors were clean. It got really noisy with people socializing outside our room just around bedtime. We did not find the people there to be friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_yesno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Hostal Roma is located in central Lima so if you are looking for this location it is a good, basic choice. For the cheap price, you get what you pay for. The courtyard was cute (opens to the sky, lots of plants) but the rooms were very basic. We had enough space and the bathroom was clean, but the beds were (honestly) disgusting. My sister slept fully clothed as to not touch the sheets and I slept in a sleeping sack.

If Hostal Roma got new bedding I would give it another star. Also, the night we stayed there it was VERY loud (noise echos in the hallways) and there was quite a lot of racket in the neighborhood that kept us up.

However, it gets a positive rating for friendly service and a reliable airport pickup/transfer service and a good basic stay for the price.

(As far as staying in Lima, I would choose Miraflores over central Lima)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Affitta Camere
#195 of 393 in Lima
2 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#43 of 236 in Lima
581 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#11 of 236 in Lima
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Roma

Address: Jiron Ica, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 393 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: AU$25 - AU$32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing