We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
36
3
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
3
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are beautiful art shop lovely bathroom lovely boutique quiet street boutique hotel perfect location great neighborhood highly recommend this hotel the cliff the ground floor machu picchu within walking distance rafael tub barranco galleries
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Casa Republica is a boutique hotel in a great Lima neighbourhood called Barranco. Our room was average size, but the bathroom was really big with a shower and a bath tub, having the toilet separate. The architecture and design of the hotel are lovely, colonial style but with a modern touch in a good way. We enjoyed all 3 nights. The hotel was very clean, the bed was big with really clean and new sheets. We stayed in June and the hotel was a bit cold, the air conditioning was not working on heating mode and they do not have any radiators in the rooms or anywhere else. We talked with the staff and they lent us their personal electric radiator witch was great but we felt a bit sorry for the lady because the reception was pretty cold as well.

Being an old house, the rooms are not sound proofed and you can here pretty much everything happening outside and within the rest of the hotel. In the rooms you do not have a minibar (i personally like the fact that was no refrigerator because they make a lot of sound sometimes) and did not have any type of tea/coffee machine.
I asked the staff for a tea in the afternoon and they said that it is not possible because the cook was not working in the weekend (wait, what?), but she managed to make a tea by herself (that was really nice, lovely lady). For a good hotel you have to have someone to help the guests at least with a beverage if you do not have a kettle in the rooms.

The hotel has also a breakfast area (new one).

The staff was really nice, they helped a lot with everything and they speak great English.

The manager could improve the experience with something to make the place a bit more cosy and warm (maybe some music in the breakfast area, some carpets to minimise the echoes, etc.)

I recommend this hotel if you visit Lima, it is an authentic experience rather than a normal/average hotel! (Secret TIP: across the street there is a lovely art shop place with an interior coffee garden).

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank cozmaroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael P, General Manager at Casa Republica Barranco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Cozmaroz,
It was a great opportunity to have met you here, thanks a lot for choosing us!
Cold season in Lima has arrived earlier than we were expecting for. Happily, the rest of the heathers we ordered already arrived. We are taking note of all the feedback you are giving us here to work on it, I highly appreciated it from you.
For us, it had been a pleasure to welcome you to Casa República and we sincerely hope you will come back soon!
Warm regards from all of us here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

This seems to be a new hotel in an old beautiful building in the very cool area of Lima, Barranco. The finish to the rooms is excellent - lovely bathroom and comfortable beds - and the staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful. They went out of their way to help with anything we needed. There seems to be an extension to the hotel (although I couldn’t hear any of the work - fantastic!) so I can only imagine it will be better with a little more space for something like a bar and breakfast room. I look forward to seeing the developments on a future visit!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael P, General Manager at Casa Republica Barranco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Beth,
Thanks a lot for your kind comments and for the time you have spent to share it with the Trip Advisor community! The garden extension is promptly going to be finished!
We hope to see you back someday soon. Warm regards from all of us here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely boutique hotel in a quiet neighbourhood. Had a room at the front on the ground floor, thought we may get some street noise, not the case. After nearly 2 days of travel to get here, really appreciated being able to soak in a proper bath. Staff all very friendly and polite.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Col-T56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael P, General Manager at Casa Republica Barranco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Col-T56,
It had been a pleasure to welcome you to Casa República! Barranco is a unique and beautiful district and, we are very well located within it, at the most important monumental area of the district.
We wish you a prompt new visit, greetings from the whole team here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Lover of Architecture and Art? Then this is the hotel for you. Absolutely blown away with this hotel. This hotel oozes class.

Rooms are large and the bathroom is to die for! Very luxurious.
Short stroll to the lookout of the beach, surrounded by amazing buildings, restaurants and cafes. This is the perfect location for your Lima adventure.

Spend hours just walking the streets and taking in the lifestyle of the area. A photographers dream especially if you love architecture.

Staff were absolutely brilliant. Going out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. I only wish we stayed longer.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PStockhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael P, General Manager at Casa Republica Barranco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear PStockhausen,
We really enjoyed our time together, thanks a lot for your kind comments and especially for the time you spent sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. The district where we are, Barranco, is a beautiful place that keeps the essence of a small neighborhood. We like to go around here, everything is walking distance, full of art everywhere and a lot of great restaurants! And about us... We will try to be a perfect partner for our guests to discover the town.
We hope to see you back someday soon!
Rafael and the entire team of Casa Republica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our recent trip to Peru. The hotel is new and under going renovations. But it is very nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is good and the room was very comfortable. We felt very safe and cared for while staying there and would certainly stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank molarman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael P, General Manager at Casa Republica Barranco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Mr. Molarman26,
Thanks a lot for the time you spent to share your positive review with the Trip Advisor community. We certainly enjoy the opportunity to welcome you to Casa Republica.
We are already expecting you for a new soon visit in Lima. Until then!
Rafael and the whole team here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews