We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bellevued1
Chiclayo, Peru

Centrally located, historic and clean

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 July 2021
I was truly glad to have booked my stay with the Cusco Plaza Hotel (Calle Saphi) for three nights, just shortly after their re-opening. The hotel is located just a couple-of-minute walk away from the main square and it has a genuine genius loci thanks to the original architecture and several unique features, among them for example some original Inca stones down in the lobby, an original staircase and colonial balconies.
The hotel is well-maintained and clean, the rooms offer perfect comfort with heaters available and hot water in the shower as well as the sink tap. The blankets are warm and you can get as many as you need.
The breakfast is a bufet and tea (also maté de coca) is available at all times during day and night.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
The lobby is a beautiful place where one can admire the colonical balconies while enjoying the breakfast, reading a book or exercising.
A little library is available by the reception where travellers can leave a book and pick one they would like to read.
Sure to be back some day soon.
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$434
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$355
  • Agoda.com
    AU$295
  • Hotels.com
    AU$355
0.3 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$402
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$362
  • Agoda.com
    AU$280
  • Expedia.com
    AU$362
0.8 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$223
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$201
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$115
  • Hotels.com
    AU$201
0.7 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
AU$281
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    AU$327
  • travelup.com
    AU$217
  • Expedia.com
    AU$281
0.7 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$69
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$61
  • Vio.com
    AU$59
  • Priceline
    AU$69
0.6 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$100
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$85
  • Expedia.com
    AU$85
  • Priceline
    AU$100
1.0 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$95
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$86
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
  • Hotels.com
    AU$86
2.2 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
AU$75
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$75
  • Vio.com
    AU$56
  • Agoda.com
    AU$75
0.3 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$24
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$24
  • Vio.com
    AU$20
  • Agoda.com
    AU$24
0.6 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Free Wifi
AU$599
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
  • Algotels
    AU$505
  • Hotels.com
    AU$598
0.8 km from Cusco Plaza Saphi
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
89
74
87
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
74
87
29
23
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2019

The hotel is located close to the main square which is great. What is not so great is that it is located next to the police station so make sure you do not have a room on the street side at the constant hooting and sirens will keep you up all night. We also found the rooms smelled terrible and had to move twice. Breakfast was very basic as well.

Room tip: Far away from the street
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DanielM1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2019 via mobile

Basic amenities that were clean and well kept.
5 minute walk from main square.
Column heaters in the rooms. Hot water all day.
Rooms can be noisy especially if you are at the back of the hotel on the next street. Loud music from bars and street noise.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank smel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caro I, Director de Recepción at Cusco Plaza Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Cusco Plaza Saphi. Our mission at Cusco is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. And for us, help our guests and take care of them is part of our passion for service. If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Cusco. Kind regards, Cusco Plaza Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2019

This hotel is very close to the centre of Cusco and was ideal for visits to this wonderful city. It was in an old converted traditional house with open courtyards, now covered over. This meant it was quite noisy as guests sat outside your room or setting of trekking early in the morning would be noisily chatting away. Not a place for a long lie-in. Staff were great and very helpful.

Room tip: Rooms can be noisy as they open up to a covered courtyard.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antondotreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caro I, Director de Recepción at Cusco Plaza Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Cusco Plaza Saphi. Our mission at Cusco is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. And for us, help our guests and take care of them is part of our passion for service. If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Cusco. Kind regards, Cusco Plaza Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Trip2Peru and it turned out as a nightmare. The hotel looks like a youth hostel (in its worse meaning), it is filthy and poorly-maintained.
The rooms are lacking basic requirements such as hairdrayer, heating and clean blankets. Beds are definitely not comfortable if you're taller than 150 cm. Forget about hygiene. Relax is impossible as rooms are not sound proofed - not even remotely.
There is no cafeteria and common areas are open terraces with no heating at all.

The first night we got a room which looked more like a closed aisle: windows on both sides, directly facing two common areas. As it was not possible to sleep, we asked the "hotel" manager to change room but the personnel (totally impolite and unprepared) refused to help us. Breakfast is poor... and it is served in a greasy underground terrace.
The entire experience is made even worse by the hotel personnel who does not understand a single English world and probably has no idea of the meaning of "customer care".

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Giugiu1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caro I, Director de Recepción at Cusco Plaza Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Cusco Plaza Saphi. Our mission at Cusco is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. And for us, help our guests and take care of them is part of our passion for service. If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Cusco. Kind regards, Cusco Plaza Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019

Went to Cusco Plaza as Cusco was on my way to Machu Picchu ... the hotel was just nice. The breakfast was average but it did help to satisfy my stomach. The staff was very friendly.

Only cons is the room which was not so clean and the Wifi reception on the 3rd floor was non-existent.

Room tip: Ask for a room with strong Wifi reception
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thecoldplayer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caro I, Director de Recepción at Cusco Plaza Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Cusco Plaza Saphi. Our mission at Cusco is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. And for us, help our guests and take care of them is part of our passion for service. If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Cusco. Kind regards, Cusco Plaza Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews