We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Property needs help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Ranked #27 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Over the course of our two week trip we stayed 4 nights (over 3 different occasions) at Hotel Taypikala.

The hotel location is excellent. It is a super short walk to Plaza de Armas which makes visiting most things in the city quite walkable.

Overall the service was good. On various occasions they held our luggage overnight while we were in a different city for a single night. They acquired transportation for us to the airport on our last day as well. They provided some good suggestions for places to eat.

Don't expect to use the WiFi in the evenings. It works in the morning and around 5:00pm it dies. It typically did not come back from a tortoise like crawl (at best) until 10:30pm. We left our small children with their grandparents and tried to skype with them on our trip as they are not used to being away from their parents. It was not possible at all in this hotel. Depending on the room you are in you may have access to multiple WiFi networks. Some rooms only have one, even if you are neighboring a room that has multiple. It was quite bizarre and very disappointing.

The breakfast provided is decent although they are slow to replenish glassware and food. They do have an omelette station where you can have a made-to-order omelette. The fruit juices were delicious.

The largest problem with the hotel is the entire place has hardwood (or some synthetic version) floors. It makes for some rough acoustics. Three of the four nights we were on the second floor approximately 3 rooms from the stairs. Without fail every morning, usually before 5:00am, someone would drag their suitcase down the stairs and it echos down the hallways. I could also hear the going ons in the lobby and restaurant from our room in the mornings. Unless you are an exceptionally heavy sleeper, plan on being up really early. The hotel should consider some runners on the floors or something to help with the noise issue. Running on such little sleep made for some unpleasant times on our trip.

While this hotel has its upsides, the downsides outweigh them. I would not stay here again when traveling to Cuzco.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Room 201 was a bit out of date and needs to be remodeled. Room 302 is excellent! The service was top notch! They made us feel very welcome. They made a great recommendation for tours with Peru Planet! We ordered pizza for delivery from Supremma. It was the best Margherita pizza we've ever had!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stevelogmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

This place caters to tourists and is nice and quiet. Cute spoken with nice furnishings. Good bed and shower. Nice included breakfast with lots of fruit. Staff is friendly and helpful to tourists with excellent English

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stayed only one night after returning from Machu Picchu. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, free coca tea was available in the lobby, and the delicious full breakfast buffet included. The only negative comment I can make is that the rooms we had were right behind the front desk so as we tried to sleep late we heard all of the activity of the lobby and desk. But the plus side of these room, which I think were 109, 110, and 111, was that these rooms had bath tubs. Some people in our party specifically wanted a soaking tub after a day at Machu Picchu.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

I really enjoyed my stay at the Taypikala Cusco hotel. The place is walking distance to Plaza de Armas and the surrounding restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Coca leaves and oxygen tanks are on offer at the lobby for those who are having issues with the altitude. I tried the former, but not the latter. Rooms are very clean and feature authentic Peruvian décor. All in all, I recommend the place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbraticevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 km away
LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
0.7 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.9 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 173 in Cusco
796 reviews
0.8 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
1.1 km away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 173 in Cusco
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taypikala Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taypikala Cusco

Address: Calle Inticahuarina 620, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: AU$69 - AU$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taypikala Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 ft from the Temple of the Sun, Taypikala offers luxurious heated rooms with views of a central courtyard and picturesque Cusco. There is free Wi-Fi and massage sessions can be booked.Taypikala Hotel Cusco features a charming central courtyard with a small water fountain surrounded by flowers, plants and original Inca walls.Decorated with Andean themes, rooms come equipped with LED cable TVs. Some rooms include spa bathtubs and all of them have private bathrooms.There are floor-to-ceiling curtains and comforters in a matching palette of warm shades. Work desks, minibars and tea/coffee makers are included as well.Guests can wake up to a full buffet breakfast with tropical fruit and coffee. They can also treat themselves to local and international flavors at El Tambo restaurant, overlooking the fountain and offering international and Andean dishes.The front desk offers 24-hour front desk assistance and a handy currency exchange service.Taypikala is 3 blocks from Cusco’s main square and 6 blocks from Wanchaq train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Taypikala Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing