We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok place to stay. Not great”
Review of Amaru Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amaru Colonial
Ranked #26 of 413 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Our room was very dusty, and I woke up every night coughing. One night chunks of plaster fell from the ceiling onto my face and pillow. I reported it to reception and asked that it be cleaned up - the sheets were changed, but the dust and debris remained on the bed frame.
I had to ask for shampoo and soap to be replaced, and the towels weren't changed regularly (normally I wouldn't mind, but the towels didn't dry so I was using a cold, damp towel).
The courtyard is very pretty and the breakfast was good. The location is a bit far (and uphill) from the main square.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Elsa_yTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms here all seem to have at least 3 to 4 beds. Great location in San Blas, great value for money and friendly staff. Breakfast is upstairs with fantastic food and great views over the city. Beautiful landscaping within the small inner courtyard and grounds.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I spent three nights at the Amaru Colonial and thought it was a nice place. The views of Cusco from my room were *incredible*. The bathroom was fine, though amenities are pretty basic (shampoo sachet + bar of soap). Breakfast was perfectly fine and the servers were very friendly. They offered to keep my suitcase for me for 5 days while i was trekking to Machu Picchu for no additional charge and I appreciated the free transfer from the airport. The room was pretty cold, though. The heat comes on automatically from 7pm to 7am and it wasn't quite enough for me. The WiFi is also pretty spotty. Not bad in the lobby but not great. And not at all in the room. But the coca mate available at all hours in the lobby to help you cope with the altitude was a nice touch. Bottom line, I was happy with my choice to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FuriousToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay.
Close to plaza san blas and the main plaza.
Friendly staff, good breakfast and 24/24 hot showers.

Beds are bigger than in the Amaru Inca.

They can storage your luggage when you do a hike.

Nice view and a patio to sit in the sun.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank IlkeTrappeniers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Beautiful and comfortable place for the value. Clean washroom and great beds. Great front desk services - the guys were friendly, stayed late and helped with everything. It's in a quiet and safe neighbhorhood that's not too far away from the Plaza de Arma. The streets around the area are very narrow with a little bit of hill, but that's everywhere in Cusco. Breakfast was pretty good too.
Very cozy place to retreat back to after walking around Cuzco all day. Miss this Cusco and this place.
Traveled in July 2015

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TeweiKao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 km away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 172 in Cusco
796 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Monasterio San Pedro
1.2 km away
Cusco B&B
Cusco B&B
#18 of 413 in Cusco
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Casa Real Hoteles
Casa Real Hoteles
#19 of 413 in Cusco
69 reviews
0.4 km away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.8 km away
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Colonial

Address: Calle Chihuampata # 642 | San Blas, Cusco 08003, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 413 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $63 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaru Colonial is located in a restored Colonial house, one and a half block away from San Blas square and 4 blocks from the Main Square. Is possible to access by car or walking. Offer single, doube and multiple rooms. All rooms have ensuite bathroom and central heating during the nights. Double Superior rooms have nice views of the city, all other rooms are located around the flowered courtyards. Guests have free services as breakfast at our cafeteria, free airport pick up (only by arrive), Wi-Fi in public areas, luggage storage, book exchange and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Amaru Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Ii Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing