We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
112
143
33
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
143
33
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coca tea leaving hotel great views over the city machu picchu poor wifi the main square laundry service cozy place plaza san blas plenty of hot water stayed here for nights inner courtyard great room luggage storage staff was very friendly and helpful charming hotel comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great spot in san blas short walk to square and all restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. rooms clean but cold at night you may want to rent a heater, we toughed it out but getting out of the shower took your breath away brrr...great breakfast, free internet (one computer) and free tea all day. took two tours booked from hostal a city tour and sacred valley, both excellent, no problem recommending this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed at amaru2 for 3 nights and had to deal with two nights without hot water in temperatures such as 8 Celsius or around 40 f.
On a Saturday afternoon , no one at the front desk because it was a Saturday said someone that works as a cleaner.....
I don't mind paying if I get what I paid for and I definetely didn't at amaru2
It seems like the owners are not very responsible and simply don't give a damn about whoever is paying for their life.
Wake Up!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The woman at the front desk was very nice. We had a triple room. Very basic no frills. It was part of a package so I don't know how much this room cost. When we returned from dinner we realized there was no heat and it was COLD!! We rented a heater for 3 US dollars but it took 3 different heaters until one finally worked and it took hours for it to warm up. The staff was really nice and helpful. They also had breakfast ready earlier since we were leaving for the train at 5:40am. Beds were comfortable. If there had been heat I would have given it a higher review.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I would determine Amaru II as a hotel not hostal. The hotel is quaint, with lots of character in a good condition historic building. They are currently undertaking major renovations to extend their accommodations. This meant a bit of noise during the day. We found the builders to work between 7am - up to 9pm in the night, however at reduced capacity later in the evening. This made it a bit disruptive when trying to take a siesta. Rooms were nciely appointed, a little cold because of the tiles, however you had the option to hire an oil heater for only $3USD per night which really made a difference and we had a very cosy stay. Easy 5-10 min walk to the main square.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a quiet room away from the builders
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for 1 night (was planning 4) just this week, end March 2012. The hotel is currently extending its size and there are MAJOR building works going on. They started at 7am, but were finished by 5.30/6pm.The works are major and they are in the initial stages of construction so the noise is massive, as well as there being around 10 builders onsite shouting, radio on etc.I can see this could be a nice place but NOT until they have finished the building work (Id guess another 6 months).Also we were quoted 1 price on the night of check in and when we went to check out the price had gone up $12 ...luckily we had written the quoted price on the check in slip so they didnt have a leg to stand on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews