We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people but no heat!”
Review of Amaru Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amaru Colonial
Ranked #28 of 413 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The woman at the front desk was very nice. We had a triple room. Very basic no frills. It was part of a package so I don't know how much this room cost. When we returned from dinner we realized there was no heat and it was COLD!! We rented a heater for 3 US dollars but it took 3 different heaters until one finally worked and it took hours for it to warm up. The staff was really nice and helpful. They also had breakfast ready earlier since we were leaving for the train at 5:40am. Beds were comfortable. If there had been heat I would have given it a higher review.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 125 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I would determine Amaru II as a hotel not hostal. The hotel is quaint, with lots of character in a good condition historic building. They are currently undertaking major renovations to extend their accommodations. This meant a bit of noise during the day. We found the builders to work between 7am - up to 9pm in the night, however at reduced capacity later in the evening. This made it a bit disruptive when trying to take a siesta. Rooms were nciely appointed, a little cold because of the tiles, however you had the option to hire an oil heater for only $3USD per night which really made a difference and we had a very cosy stay. Easy 5-10 min walk to the main square.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a quiet room away from the builders
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for 1 night (was planning 4) just this week, end March 2012. The hotel is currently extending its size and there are MAJOR building works going on. They started at 7am, but were finished by 5.30/6pm.The works are major and they are in the initial stages of construction so the noise is massive, as well as there being around 10 builders onsite shouting, radio on etc.I can see this could be a nice place but NOT until they have finished the building work (Id guess another 6 months).Also we were quoted 1 price on the night of check in and when we went to check out the price had gone up $12 ...luckily we had written the quoted price on the check in slip so they didnt have a leg to stand on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at Amaru II for two nights in December and had a very nice time. For those of you travelling over Christmas and New Years, this is a great spot to stay because the balcony overlooks much of the city, so you will be able to see the amazing fireworks displays across the city on Christmas eve and New Years eve. Beautiful! However, with the good comes the not so good, as the rooms at this time of year are quite cold (see my note below in the 'Rooms' section). That said, I would still recommend staying at Amaru II if you are prepared with warm pajamas.

Service
Staff were always very helpful, and the driver they hire (Jose) is honest and went out of his way to make sure our bag (which was left in the back seat) made it back to us untouched!

Value
For the location, the rooms, the great breakfast in the morning (eggs, fruit salad, bread, coffee), and the beautiful courtyard, this is definitely a good value. I was sad to only be able to stay there for the two nights, but we had to change hotels as we had booked an Inca Trail tour with Gap and they work with a different hotel.

Sleep quality
The beds are comfortable and because our room faced the courtyard there was not much street noise. Aside from a neighbouring dog, we barely heard anything.

Cleanliness
We found the hostel to be very clean and often saw staff buffing the wooden floors or cleaning the common areas.

Location
In addition to my comment above about being a perfect spot over the holidays, being located in the San Blas neighbourhood is great as there are a lot of restaurants within easy walking distance. Amaru II is only a 15 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas, and only a 5 minute walk to the Plaza San Blas. There are also lots of little artist shops in the area. However, because San Blas is up the hill a little we got a bit winded on our first few times walking back to the hostel. This was fine for us, however, as we needed the training for our Inca Trail trek.

Rooms
Our room was a good size, with a decent sized private bathroom (though I'm not sure if all rooms have a private bathroom). My only complaint is that the room was very cold, as we were travelling during the rainy season in the mountains, and they didn't seem to have any weather stripping on the doors. A space heater was available to rent, but it didn't really provide much warmth. Also, the vent in the bathroom is essentially a hole in the wall/ceiling, which also let in a lot of cold air. Although it was cold, we managed and I would still recommend staying at Amaru II.

Overall, Amaru II is a lovely place to stay. I do recommend it, but be aware of the cold rooms if travelling in December/January.

Donna
Vancouver, BC
December 23-25, 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

during our journey in cusco we stayed at the Amaru hostal, what we don't regret it, hot shower all day and people at the reception were very friendly, especially the girls; the guy at night was not so friendly but in general we loved it there! breakfast was delicious!! and distance to the plaza de armas was ok! we took a taxi tour to sacred valley with a cusqueno guy for all day what was cheaper than booking it thru an agency and more comfortable too! cusco is very expensive thats why we did all private and spent half of the money what usually tourists spend and i am sure we saw more than agencies offer! best wishes::::

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiserice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 km away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 172 in Cusco
796 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Monasterio San Pedro
1.2 km away
Cusco B&B
Cusco B&B
#18 of 413 in Cusco
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Casa Real Hoteles
Casa Real Hoteles
#20 of 413 in Cusco
69 reviews
0.4 km away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.8 km away
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Colonial

Address: Calle Chihuampata # 642 | San Blas, Cusco 08003, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 413 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $63 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaru Colonial is located in a restored Colonial house, one and a half block away from San Blas square and 4 blocks from the Main Square. Is possible to access by car or walking. Offer single, doube and multiple rooms. All rooms have ensuite bathroom and central heating during the nights. Double Superior rooms have nice views of the city, all other rooms are located around the flowered courtyards. Guests have free services as breakfast at our cafeteria, free airport pick up (only by arrive), Wi-Fi in public areas, luggage storage, book exchange and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Amaru Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Ii Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing