We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
112
143
33
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
143
33
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coca tea leaving hotel great views over the city machu picchu poor wifi the main square laundry service cozy place plaza san blas plenty of hot water stayed here for nights inner courtyard great room luggage storage staff was very friendly and helpful charming hotel comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I would determine Amaru II as a hotel not hostal. The hotel is quaint, with lots of character in a good condition historic building. They are currently undertaking major renovations to extend their accommodations. This meant a bit of noise during the day. We found the builders to work between 7am - up to 9pm in the night, however at reduced capacity later in the evening. This made it a bit disruptive when trying to take a siesta. Rooms were nciely appointed, a little cold because of the tiles, however you had the option to hire an oil heater for only $3USD per night which really made a difference and we had a very cosy stay. Easy 5-10 min walk to the main square.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a quiet room away from the builders
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for 1 night (was planning 4) just this week, end March 2012. The hotel is currently extending its size and there are MAJOR building works going on. They started at 7am, but were finished by 5.30/6pm.The works are major and they are in the initial stages of construction so the noise is massive, as well as there being around 10 builders onsite shouting, radio on etc.I can see this could be a nice place but NOT until they have finished the building work (Id guess another 6 months).Also we were quoted 1 price on the night of check in and when we went to check out the price had gone up $12 ...luckily we had written the quoted price on the check in slip so they didnt have a leg to stand on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at Amaru II for two nights in December and had a very nice time. For those of you travelling over Christmas and New Years, this is a great spot to stay because the balcony overlooks much of the city, so you will be able to see the amazing fireworks displays across the city on Christmas eve and New Years eve. Beautiful! However, with the good comes the not so good, as the rooms at this time of year are quite cold (see my note below in the 'Rooms' section). That said, I would still recommend staying at Amaru II if you are prepared with warm pajamas.

Service
Staff were always very helpful, and the driver they hire (Jose) is honest and went out of his way to make sure our bag (which was left in the back seat) made it back to us untouched!

Value
For the location, the rooms, the great breakfast in the morning (eggs, fruit salad, bread, coffee), and the beautiful courtyard, this is definitely a good value. I was sad to only be able to stay there for the two nights, but we had to change hotels as we had booked an Inca Trail tour with Gap and they work with a different hotel.

Sleep quality
The beds are comfortable and because our room faced the courtyard there was not much street noise. Aside from a neighbouring dog, we barely heard anything.

Cleanliness
We found the hostel to be very clean and often saw staff buffing the wooden floors or cleaning the common areas.

Location
In addition to my comment above about being a perfect spot over the holidays, being located in the San Blas neighbourhood is great as there are a lot of restaurants within easy walking distance. Amaru II is only a 15 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas, and only a 5 minute walk to the Plaza San Blas. There are also lots of little artist shops in the area. However, because San Blas is up the hill a little we got a bit winded on our first few times walking back to the hostel. This was fine for us, however, as we needed the training for our Inca Trail trek.

Rooms
Our room was a good size, with a decent sized private bathroom (though I'm not sure if all rooms have a private bathroom). My only complaint is that the room was very cold, as we were travelling during the rainy season in the mountains, and they didn't seem to have any weather stripping on the doors. A space heater was available to rent, but it didn't really provide much warmth. Also, the vent in the bathroom is essentially a hole in the wall/ceiling, which also let in a lot of cold air. Although it was cold, we managed and I would still recommend staying at Amaru II.

Overall, Amaru II is a lovely place to stay. I do recommend it, but be aware of the cold rooms if travelling in December/January.

Donna
Vancouver, BC
December 23-25, 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

during our journey in cusco we stayed at the Amaru hostal, what we don't regret it, hot shower all day and people at the reception were very friendly, especially the girls; the guy at night was not so friendly but in general we loved it there! breakfast was delicious!! and distance to the plaza de armas was ok! we took a taxi tour to sacred valley with a cusqueno guy for all day what was cheaper than booking it thru an agency and more comfortable too! cusco is very expensive thats why we did all private and spent half of the money what usually tourists spend and i am sure we saw more than agencies offer! best wishes::::

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiserice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in all and it was lovely. Very friendly and helpful staff, great room, clean with comfortable bed, great breakfast and freely available coca tea. Lovely view across Cusco. nice quiet area. Pretty patio area to relax.

Room Tip: Room 203 which has a Queen bed is at the edge so very quiet and has a view from the window over the city
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews