We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nick brown
London, United Kingdom

Highly recommended Hotel in Cusco

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jan 2020
We were very impressed with the hotel. The hotel is located in a residential area and they have a very good security system. As a family with kids, I felt very safe. the Torre Dorada provides transportation everywhere you want to go. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, we highly recommend this hotel.
Date of stay: January 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Torre D, Owner at Hotel Torre Dorada, responded to this review
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Guest,
It has been a pleasure to have you with us, I am so happy to have received such a nice comment and we are glad you have appreciated our service, I have been a foreigner myself for 35 years of my life and I think I know what our guests need when they are far away from home.
We want to wish you all the best now and always.
Kind regards,
Peggy Kalinowski
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$434
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$395
  • Agoda.com
    AU$294
  • Hotels.com
    AU$395
2.0 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$342
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$342
  • Agoda.com
    AU$274
  • Expedia.com
    AU$367
2.0 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$217
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$217
  • Algotels
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
    AU$217
1.8 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$188
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$189
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$113
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
1.6 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$397
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$398
  • Vio.com
    AU$361
  • Expedia.com
    AU$398
1.8 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$70
  • Vio.com
    AU$59
  • Expedia.com
    AU$61
1.6 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$91
  • Agoda.com
    AU$91
  • Vio.com
    AU$91
2.1 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$100
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$85
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$93
3.0 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • LuxuryCollection
    AU$367
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Restaurant
Room service
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$103
  • Vio.com
    AU$56
  • Hotels.com
    AU$103
2.1 km from Hotel Torre Dorada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (1,708)
Filter reviews
1,708 results
Traveller rating
1,503
160
31
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,503
160
31
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trip to machu picchu hot water karina bags trek
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,708 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2020

Six of us traveling with two teen boys, spouse, sister, and aunt (ages 13-77). Trip in late December 2019/early January 2020. Stayed at Hotel Torre Dorado for 2 nights prior to going to Machu Picchu and then for one night upon return before leaving for Lima. Stayed in three rooms - two on third floor and one of fourth. Selected the hotel based on prior TripAdvisor ratings and had two primary concerns prior to staying: (1) the distance from the central plaza of Cusco and (2) safety of neighborhood. Both of these concerns were entirely misplaced. We took both taxis and walked from old Cusco and were fine (remember, 77 year old in the group and high elevation). The hotel staff will go out of their way to get you whever you want to go.

Peggy (the owner) and her entire staff are simply devoted to top quality customer service. Mario and Jose the taxi drivers are seemingly always available if you want to go anywhere. If not, they will arrange for other taxis. The hotel provides you with a local cell phone to call the hotel and arrange to be picked up. From the lovely cook that prepares your breakfast eggs to Dervin at the front desk, the service at Hotel Torre Dorado exceeds that of any 5-star hotel (4Seasons, etc.) I have ever stayed at. The value for the price is absolutely outstanding. We returned from a long trek back from Machu Picchu and the front desk clerk (Ramon, I think?) took care of ordering the 6 of us pizza and set up a table in the dining room for us without even being asked. The hotel is small but not too small. The attitude of the staff is always "can I help you?"

The rooms were impeccably clean and the place in maintained wonderfully. They held our luggage for us while we went to MP and I had zero concerns for its security. The beds are comfortable and we found the place quiet and peaceful for sleeping (except for the fireworks on NYE, which were amazing and seemingly everywhere in the city all at once).

I have only one regret: I did not book my tours around Cusco and MP directly with the hotel. Now that I see the utter devotion to service, I can say with high probability that they would not have arrangements with any but the very best providers in the city.

If you are going to Cusco, do not miss staying at Hotel Torre Dorado! After having stayed there, I would have easily paid double if I had known how great it was (don't tell Peggy I said that).

Room tip: A walkup. If stairs are problem, get lower floor. Staff will take care of bags. Honestly, I think they'd carry you up if you asked.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PowayDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Torre D, Owner at Hotel Torre Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Hello dear guests,
We hope you did have a nice return back home, it was really a pleasure to have you with us we still remember your smiling faces, laughing and having a great time.
You have said it all and we are glad you appreciated our concern for your well being, your comments will help us do it even better and we want to thank you very much for your visit.
Please send us as nice people as you are, you are a great traveling team.
All the best from all of us in Torre Dorada.
Kind regards,
Peggy Kalinowski
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

Staff is very friendly and helpful with recommendations to make our stay more comfortable for food and places to visit, also taking care of our needs in the process to acclimatize. This Hotel is located at a very quiet area which makes it is perfect to relax. Breakfast is great. Taxi service is very responsible and price is very reasonable too. Rooms and common areas are clean and cozy.
Thank you Peggy and Staff for making our trip to Cuzco as great experience. Definitely we would stay at your hotel again !

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 694ednam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Torre D, Owner at Hotel Torre Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure having you with us.
We are glad you were able to see by yourself that we are in a wonderful area close to the center and yet you were able to rest and relax.
Thank you for appreciating our service so your stay was like a breeze.
We want to wish you all the best for the new year.
With kind regards,
Peggy Kalinowski
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

Darvin at the front dest is the single best hotel staff person I've dealt with in 40 years of traveling. My daughter had stomach cramps after hiking Machu Picchu and we checked in to Hotel Torre that evening. Darvin asked if we needed a doctor as he could get one over to the hotel in 10 minutes. Wow...10 minutes?!? Sure enough, the doctor came and said my daughter had appendecitis and we needed to get her to a hospital right away. Darvin arranged for us to ride with the doctor to the hospital that is just 2 blocks away. He then brought us the pizza we ordered to the hospital as everyone was starving. He continued to check on our daughter throughout and make sure everything was taken care of. Additionally, the home cooked breakfast is phenomenal and the rooms are comfortable. It's a nice walk to the market and only 10 minutes from the airport. Thank you Darvin for helping us out! Having your young daughter have to get surgery in a foreign country is nerve-wracking and you handled all of the details for us!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tampafamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Torre D, Owner at Hotel Torre Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Dear Buchanan Family,
Thank you for appreciating our service, you were able to verify in person that what we offer is true. Our hard work over twenty years has been experienced by you.
Torre Dorada has been created in order to give all of our guests a personalized service so your stay can be like a breeze.
We are glad we were of help in such a dramatic situation, that is why we have always called Torre Dorada "your home away from home"
It was so rewarding for us to see Carly leave the hotel with a big smile.
We want to wish you all the best during this year that just started and in the years ahead of you.
Kind regards,
Peggy Kalinowski
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

What an exceptional time I had here! The owner & staff were amazingly friendly from bona fide good recommendations for food to providing a hotel cell phone to carry and call when ready for their friendly taxi service back. They provided me a packed lunch & water every morning for my many 0400 (a.m.) excursions! I only got to eat their in-house breakfast on my first and last days (LOL!) due to my excursions but both were delicious and specific to quality and freshness! Hot tea service on each floor 24/7 was a nice, very helpful touch!

About 10 minute taxi drive from Plaza de Armas, it wasn't super close to most touristy things but it was located in a quiet upscale residential neighborhood which was relaxing. The taxi service made it easy and only 6 soles one way into town.

I would stay here again with absolutely no regrets!

(I was a solo traveler in town to backpack Inka Trail/Machu Picchu, Winikunka, Laguna Humantay, etc.)

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank PuuKaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Torre D, Owner at Hotel Torre Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Dear Mr. Kingsley,
For us, it was a pleasure to see you enjoying Cusco, Machu Picchu, and surrounding areas you were so active.
We are glad that we have contributed so you were able to take back home nice memories of your visit.
You know you have your house here and please send us nice people as you are.
All the best wishes for you now and in the future.
Kind regards,
Peggy Kalinowski
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for something special over Christmas, but was not as great as we were expecting, given the price. While the staff were very friendly and helpful, it was awkward to listen to the owner tell off the chef every morning and complain about them to us over breakfast. The food was good, so it seemed unnecessary. The decor in the hotel is also quite outdated. This was our most expensive place to stay in 2 months of travelling around South America, and one of four places in Cusco, so we expected good things from it, but found ourselves instead preferring other places which were way cheaper.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank roseanne000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Torre D, Owner at Hotel Torre Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, the hotel is located only ten minutes away from the historical center by car away from the noise, traffic, and pollution of the main plaza and my staff makes sure that you know this as soon as you arrive (even though this is already stated in our website). Our hotel nowadays is very successful because there are not many places in Cusco ten minutes away from the main plaza and at the same time be in a quiet residential area where we are and have a good night's sleep so close to where the action is.
The person in charge of the kitchen is new so in order for you to have a good service some indications are necessary.
This hotel is well equipped with everything you need in order to have a comfortable stay (buffet breakfast with good quality products, heating, hot water 24 hours, internet with optic fiber, tv, amenities, free airport pick up, etc) We are sorry that the style was not to your taste, luckily for us, our guests love the furniture of good quality wood and enjoy the decor with warm colors and a homey atmosphere.
Regarding prices (taking into account that our hotel is not a hostel), we had a special discount of 50 % due to the low season (in your case about USD 40.00/per night for two people).
We genuinely care for our guests well being while staying in Cusco, we empathize with them when they have a health issue or any other concern, and we try to put you back in the right track by providing oxygen, taking your blood pressure, verifying your oxygenation level or even advising where to find a good doctor to help you recover fast and making sure you get well as soon as possible so you can proceed with your travel plans.
Thank you for appreciating our service, it was a pleasure having you with us and we want to wish you all the best in the new year.
Kind regards,
Peggy Kalinowski
Owner


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews