We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Church and Convent of Our Lady of Mercy (Iglesia de La Merced)
The 10 Tastings of Cusco With Locals: Private Food Tour
42

Book in advance
from
AU$116.86
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Church and Convent of Our Lady of Mercy (Iglesia de La Merced)
from AU$116.86
More Info
from AU$77.36
More Info
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
125
107
18
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
107
18
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2019

a tour guide is very helpful understanding the basic history and appreciating the effects of the earthquake and tremors in the city. the trapezoids to steady the building and dissipate the shock show why the Inca structures stood while the later Spanish ones took a topple in the "big" one in the 1500s.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank cyn505
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2018

I didn't visit inside due to time restraints and it was my last afternoon in Cusco but we enjoyed a group photo op in front thanks to another friendly foreign tourist. It's located only a block or so away from Plaza de Armas.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank coreysavestheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Great historic church to tour and see. All of the historic artifacts really help to appreciate the history of the Spanish in the area.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank donaldk893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

It's only S10 to get inside, and there's only a poorly-translated English leaflet for guidance. There's no guide & very few notices in English, but that renders the experience a little more genuine. There seem to be few visitors, so it gets ypou off the busy touristy places. You can find your own way round the two-storey building, looking at the conditions in which the sisters used to live - dormitories, workrooms, chapel, dining room etc. There are a few poor quality life-size models of nuns to give an idea of how they used to live, but if you can ignore those distractions, the place is actually quite fascinating. Also interesting to compare this place with several other convents/ monasteries/ cloisters around Cusco (e.g. the one at San Francisco). There are two cloisters here - one open to the public, the other closed, and a large church. No photos allowed.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This cathedral has its own uniqueness and is intergral to the history of Cusco and its occupation by the Spaniards. So definitely a must visit but as part of a guided tour to learn about its history and paintings inside.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jayi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews