We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Church and Convent of Our Lady of Mercy (Iglesia de La Merced)
The 10 Tastings of Cusco With Locals: Private Food Tour
42

Book in advance
from
AU$116.35
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Church and Convent of Our Lady of Mercy (Iglesia de La Merced)
from AU$116.35
More Info
from AU$77.02
More Info
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
125
107
18
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
107
18
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Great historic church to tour and see. All of the historic artifacts really help to appreciate the history of the Spanish in the area.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank donaldk893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

It's only S10 to get inside, and there's only a poorly-translated English leaflet for guidance. There's no guide & very few notices in English, but that renders the experience a little more genuine. There seem to be few visitors, so it gets ypou off the busy touristy places. You can find your own way round the two-storey building, looking at the conditions in which the sisters used to live - dormitories, workrooms, chapel, dining room etc. There are a few poor quality life-size models of nuns to give an idea of how they used to live, but if you can ignore those distractions, the place is actually quite fascinating. Also interesting to compare this place with several other convents/ monasteries/ cloisters around Cusco (e.g. the one at San Francisco). There are two cloisters here - one open to the public, the other closed, and a large church. No photos allowed.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This cathedral has its own uniqueness and is intergral to the history of Cusco and its occupation by the Spaniards. So definitely a must visit but as part of a guided tour to learn about its history and paintings inside.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jayi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

The Church is beautiful, but he Custody is worth the visit. It's a shame they don't allow to take pictures, but seeing it is an excellent experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Carmelita_Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2018

This place is amazing. Extremely rich history and beautiful artifacts. The main cathedral has 12 chapels within it. I would STRONGLY recommend either a guided tour or an audio tour (I usually don't go for guided tours but I would say this almost requires it). This place is absolutely dripping with history and even if you read every plaque, you will miss 80% of it. Amazing mix of Spanish, Inca and Catholic cultures. As mentioned in other reviews, they have the original cross carried by the Spanish in 1532! Just some eye-popping, over-the-top artwork. Please don't miss it!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews