We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo de Vida Monastica - Monasterio de Santa Catalina del Cusco
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Review Highlights
Unexpectedly interesting

We weren't sure what to expect but given the very fair ticket prices we decided to stop by on our... read more

Reviewed 11 February 2024
lujamon
Interesting.

Interesting small museum in Cusco near Plaza de Armas. Has trunks that missionaries used to teach... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2022
Gus P
,
Crofton, Maryland
Read all 245 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Cusco
from AU$69.21
More Info
from AU$59.98
More Info
from AU$99.97
More Info
from AU$536.76
More Info
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
107
108
28
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
108
28
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2022

Interesting small museum in Cusco near Plaza de Armas. Has trunks that missionaries used to teach the bible and lots of artwork. Worth an hour or so.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank Gus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2022 via mobile

Great display, the local tour giide did a geeat job explaining all about the canvas, gavw a better understanding of religion and the role they played during the conquest

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank DanNorthlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2020

The "Monastério de Santa Catalina del Cusco" was built by the Dominican Order at the very beginning of the 17th century, over the ruins of ancient Incan constructions and even some original stone walls can still be seen. Here, women from the wealthy and important Peruvian families came to live a life of chastity, obedience, hard work and endless prayers. Today, maybe a dozen nuns still live inside the walls of the Northern quarter of the old Convent, and still under the Dominican Order's severe reclusive rules. The "Museo de Vida Monástica" occupies part of the Convent. At a dimly lit interior, mannequins, dressed as nuns, try to give visitors an idea of daily life at the Convent in earlier times. Old paintings, sculptures, furniture and religious ornaments are on display. Enjoy!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

Very nice museum in historical part of Cusco. Ticket is only 8 soles for foreigners, half price for students. For locals only 2 soles

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank EdinKrnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2020

So much history and beautiful artwork here; I don't care what your religion is, this place will inspire you.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Tourist54220
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews