We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jenny G

Great Stay lots of personality

Review of El Mercado
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 May 2023
Loved our stay here. This hotel had so much charm and personality to it. Excellent boutique option for those staying in Cusco. Loved the fire pit in the courtyard area. Loved the artwork and decor around the hotel.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$436
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
0.1 km from El Mercado
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$593
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from El Mercado
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$95
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from El Mercado
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Priceline
0.5 km from El Mercado
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$210
  • Algotels
0.4 km from El Mercado
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • LuxuryCollection
    AU$358
  • Algotels
0.8 km from El Mercado
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$225
  • travelup.com
0.8 km from El Mercado
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$219
  • Novotel
    AU$327
0.7 km from El Mercado
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$254
  • Official Site
1.3 km from El Mercado
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$126
  • Priceline
0.2 km from El Mercado
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
487
182
34
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
487
182
34
17
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2020

We had five rooms. Everyone loved their rooms. Very nicely decorated in Peru’s style. The lobby was very nice with a side meeting area and a beautiful courtyard.
They had a great breakfast and a separate bar and restaurant. We enjoyed watching the Super bowl in the bar and they even stayed a little overtime so we could all see the End of the game. Loved everyone. Would stay there again.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2020 via mobile

This is what you call a good boutique hotel. Firstly the staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble, and always with a smile.
Set only about a ten minute walk from the main town square, the rooms are spacious and clean, the sitting area in the courtyard is lovey, with live music during what is effectively a happy two hours.
The breakfast is excellent as too is the food in the lovely restaurant, and very reasonably priced.
Thoroughly recommended in every way.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ferrariflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2020

This was a fantastic hotel. WE stayed here twice (a total of 3 nights). The location is quite central, the hotel decor is quite nice. The service is excellent - they take good care of the guests. The rooms were nice, really comfy beds and quality bedding. But the most amazing thing was the shower One of the best showers I have been in in my whole life - hot and powerful Great after coming in from a day of hiking to refresh before going out on the town. They also have a relally nice restaurant and bar. A great choice in Cusco!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pbbuysstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2020

The El Mercado is a quaint hotel located in walking distance to the Cusco center. The staff is exceptional and the service is 5 star. The rooms are comfortable, decorated in a Peruvian style. However, every convenience that a traveler would expet is available. .

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2020

This was a beautiful hotel that was recommended by our Peruvian guide. We stayed here before we had to return to the airport the next morning. We were weary from our all day excursion at Machu Picchu and this was a very nice place to relax.
The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was quite large.

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GoGo2SlowGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
experiencemlp, Gerente at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Thank you for your comments, Paul K! Hope to have you soon with us again.

- El Mercado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews