We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kim J
Hillsboro, Oregon

Nice, safe hotel

Review of Hotel Ruinas
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2022
This hotel did a very good job providing a safe place to travel. The staff was attentive and did temperature checks as well as providing to normal needs. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the main square. I was able to find several very nice restaurants nearby. The area always felt safe and secure and we had to be let in after staff at night. I stayed in two different rooms (one at the beginning of my trip and a different one at the end of my trip). Both were small by US standards but clean and tidy. The inside one looked out the window to the interior of the hotel. The other one had a small balcony that looked out over the street.
Date of stay: November 2021
Room Tip: Inside room was quiet. Outside room was rather loud.
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$392
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$392
  • Agoda.com
    AU$353
  • Vio.com
    AU$365
0.2 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$428
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$387
  • Vio.com
    AU$342
  • Hotels.com
    AU$387
0.6 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$322
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    AU$375
  • travelup.com
    AU$247
  • Expedia.com
    AU$323
0.1 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$185
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • Agoda.com
    AU$114
  • Hotels.com
    AU$185
0.7 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
AU$65
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$63
  • Priceline
    AU$65
  • Vio.com
    AU$65
0.5 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$98
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$83
  • Hotels.com
    AU$83
  • Priceline
    AU$98
1.6 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$93
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$84
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$82
  • Hotels.com
    AU$84
1.9 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
AU$73
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$73
  • Vio.com
    AU$55
  • Agoda.com
    AU$73
0.8 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$24
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$24
  • Vio.com
    AU$19
  • Agoda.com
    AU$24
1.1 km from Hotel Ruinas
Free Wifi
AU$611
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$612
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$591
  • Hotels.com
    AU$612
0.3 km from Hotel Ruinas
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
190
119
42
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
119
42
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two blocks no lift the main square small balcony front desk staff within easy walking distance stayed nights double room beautiful hotel laundry proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2021

We stayed at Hotel Ruinas in Cusco for 8 days. The staff is amazing, our room was spacious and comfortable, and the hotel is clean and comfortable. The main plaza for Cusco is only a short walk from the hotel and there are plenty of restaurants and also a market on the same block as the hotel.
We highly recommend this hotel in Cusco.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sightseer445406
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2020

The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the plaza de armas and many restaurants and attractions. The hotel lobby has some beautiful colonial architecture. The staff was very attentive. Our room was at the rear of the hotel, which offered a nice view of the city and mountains. There are 2 small markets right across the street that sell snacks and drinks. Breakfast was included and there were many options. The hotel provided a free shuttle from the airport.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mjmb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lzc, Director Comercial at Hotel Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Guest.
Thanks for your visit, it has been a pleassure attending you.
We hope see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

We stayed at Hotel Ruinas for 5 days over New Years and had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the showers were hot, and it is in a perfect location just a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas. The breakfast is a nice mix of hot and cold foods, plus it starts really early so people can eat and still catch the early morning trains to Ollantaytambo and Aguas Calientes. Also, I ended up leaving something of value to me behind, although I didn't know it at the time (or that I left it there). I contacted the hotel and asked if they had found it. They send they did and they mailed it back to me that same day. I believe the mark of a quality organization is not only how they treat you while you're engaged in a transaction but also how they treat you afterwards. Hotel Ruinas treated me very well, even after I left. I highly recommend Hotel Ruinas.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chase261
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lzc, Director Comercial at Hotel Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your visit, It was great attending you.
We hope see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2019

Really comfy and safe. Staff really friendly and helpful. Good breakfast with different options to choose from. Close to everything. My room was an interior. Really warm . Wifi in every part of the hotel . Hot weather and clean room . It was my third time at Cusco and so far the best hotel.

Room tip: Excellent restaurants near by, same as small market, and pharmacy
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclaudiasegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel twice, on both ends of our trip to the Sacred Valley. Our first room was an interior one opening to the light court - just ok, lots of noise from the lobby. The second room opening to the outside with views of the city and mountains was nicer. Staff was not especially friendly. Breakfast was good and included coca tea to help with the altitude. The location just 2 blocks from the plaza is great, and some of the best restaurants are even closer

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank H3040VOstevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lzc, Director Comercial at Hotel Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your visit. We will continuos wirking to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews