We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Melanny E
Perez Zeledon, Costa Rica

Desappointing Stay at an Overpriced Hotel Marqueses, Cusco.

Review of Hotel Marqueses
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Oct 2023via mobile
My experience at Hotel Marquese in Cusco was a complete disappointment. The first room resembled a dark, windowless cave with barely enough space to move around. After raising the issue with the administration, they transferred us to a slightly larger room but charged an additional $20 per night.

However, the most frustrating aspect of our stay was the total absence of internet in our room. Despite multiple complaints, the problem was never resolved. The cleanliness of the hotel was subpar, and even pieces of bread and crackers from previous guests littered the carpet. Noise from other guests was also disruptive.

The complimentary breakfast was far from satisfying, and the overall experience did not justify the high costs. I strongly recommend seeking alternative accommodations in the area – you'll spare yourself the frustration.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Quintana, General Manager at Hotel Marqueses, responded to this review
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Dear Melanny and Michael,
We are very very sorry you haven`t enjoy your staying in our house, our apologies, it is weird that your haven`t mentioned at your
check out, though standard rooms are not bad -they are always are booked, due the rate and our backpacker clients, deluxe rooms are bigger and nicer and cost more but... we offered a discount and you guys ended paying a 30% off per night, but overall if you like a better hotel is your choice, so be prepared to pay 3 or 4 times more, we see your comments are unfair, but we are totally positive with our future clients and for sure listening your constructive advice.
David Quintana
CEO
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$386
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$352
  • Vio.com
    AU$312
  • Hotels.com
    AU$352
0.1 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$170
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$201
  • Vio.com
    AU$117
  • Hotels.com
    AU$201
0.4 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$294
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    AU$343
  • travelup.com
    AU$226
  • Expedia.com
    AU$294
0.6 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$61
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$53
  • Priceline
    AU$61
  • Vio.com
    AU$58
0.3 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$99
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$95
  • Vio.com
    AU$82
  • Hotels.com
    AU$95
1.2 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$81
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$81
  • Vio.com
    AU$81
  • Agoda.com
    AU$82
0.3 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$94
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
  • Hotels.com
    AU$94
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$94
1.9 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
AU$22
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$22
  • Vio.com
    AU$18
  • Agoda.com
    AU$22
0.5 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
AU$634
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$635
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$617
  • Priceline
    AU$634
0.6 km from Hotel Marqueses
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • JW Marriott
    AU$636
  • Priceline
    AU$520
  • Booking.com
    AU$635
0.5 km from Hotel Marqueses
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
242
163
44
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
163
44
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coca leaf tea courtyard wifi heater peru skylight signal tour monastery oxygen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2023 via mobile

This hotel is a little gem. It’s situated just a short stroll from the main plaza. The hotel is full of charm. We were upgraded into a deluxe room which was huge. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The shower was powerful and warm. The breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel off planning to stay in Cusco

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Willie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Quintana, General Manager at Hotel Marqueses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Dear Willie,
Thank you so much for your so kind words, we hope in your country you can recommend us and most people can enjoy this beautiful gem as you described, we hope also to see you in the future.
All the best.
CEO Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2023

Very nice hotel with just a little flaws. Wifi was not the best and it was sometimes difficult communicating with staff.

But overall a great experience with a nice little courtyard and spacious rooms.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glenn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Quintana, General Manager at Hotel Marqueses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Dear friend,
Thank you for your comments
We won`t stop repairing the wifi, in a short time
but we see apart of this you enjoyed your time in our hotel
Best regards
CEO Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2022

The Hotel Marqueses is located almost on the Plaza Regojico (Kusipata) and just slightly farther from the Plaza de Armas. It's centrally located to everything you'd want to see in Cusco and the street is accessible to cars, so you can easily access taxis to more distant places.

The hotel is in a centuries-old building and has historic art on the walls. The two courtyards of the hotel are really beautiful and I got a good feeling whenever I walked through them. The Marqueses is neither stuffy nor chic, so it is a good place for kids, although there are some ledges and steps, so have very small children be careful. I thought breakfast was better than most of the other hotels I have stayed at in Peru, with lots of fruit, tea, and bread options and plenty of space to spread out in.

I like historic hotels very much, but this hotel needs renovation. The carpets are threadbare, metal fixtures have rust, and showers spray water onto the floor. Some people would like having a room with a skylight, some people won't because it will wake them up early.

We still had a great visit to Cusco, but some people might be bothered by those deficits.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JSB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Quintana, General Manager at Hotel Marqueses, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2023

Dear JSB and To all our Valued Customers,
We are grateful and we appreciate very much for your feed back in regard of your experience in August last year. We apologize for the faults found during your stay at our hotel. Each report from our clients is taken seriously and listened to, which is why the hotel was closed for 2 months and during this time we have renovated all areas of our hotel, first and second patio. We have made changes to the carpets in the corridors and rooms, we have renovated the wooden corridors on the second floor and renovated some showers, in addition to repainting and complete cleaning of our colonial house that is considered a historical monument for being located in the center of the city and architectural outline of the eighteenth century. We look forward to seeing you and serving you again. Our goal is to serve and please to our clients and ensure that they have a restful, healthy and safe rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2022

This hotel was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay during our time in Cusco. The location made accessing the rest of the city super convenient, and we started off the day’s adventures every morning with a delicious breakfast. The staff here really tries their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible; for us, they brought in extra heaters because we weren’t used to the cold, and were extremely kind as to find and mail us, at their own expense, a necklace that i lost in their hotel. In addition, the building itself is gorgeous and charming. Overall, we had a wonderful experience here.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pulchwritude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2022

The hotel set in an historic monastery was a beautiful start to our Cusco visit. All the stonework, hand carved woodwork, and paintings made you feel like you had slipped back into the fifteen hundreds. Some of the rooms do have skylights, which we liked. The WiFi was very good as we watch a Netfix movie one night and did some video calls on WhatsApp. The wifi was stronger near the courtyard,

The location was great and the staff friendly. There was always free filtered water and hot coca leaf tea on hand and the breakfast was good.
One of our party had moderate AMS late one night and the hotel had tanks of oxygen on hand. They were quick to bring it up, and this immediately helped.
This was our home in Cusco for a week and we highly recommend it.

They had a deal with SAS Travel Peru in Cusco when you book a tour, so we took advantage of that discount.

Room tip: If you like to sleep in late, get a room without a skylight. Otherwise, the rooms are very quiet.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmA6424TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews