We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Melanie Z

A Great Stay!

Review of Hotel Marqueses
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 July 2022
This hotel was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay during our time in Cusco. The location made accessing the rest of the city super convenient, and we started off the day’s adventures every morning with a delicious breakfast. The staff here really tries their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible; for us, they brought in extra heaters because we weren’t used to the cold, and were extremely kind as to find and mail us, at their own expense, a necklace that i lost in their hotel. In addition, the building itself is gorgeous and charming. Overall, we had a wonderful experience here.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$250
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
  • Agoda.com
    AU$205
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$204
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$205
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$115
  • Priceline
    AU$227
0.3 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
AU$280
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    AU$324
  • travelup.com
    AU$219
  • Expedia.com
    AU$279
0.6 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$71
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$71
  • Vio.com
    AU$64
  • Expedia.com
    AU$65
0.3 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$100
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$84
  • Priceline
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$84
1.2 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$90
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$90
  • Vio.com
    AU$90
  • Agoda.com
    AU$90
0.3 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$95
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$112
  • Agoda.com
    AU$74
  • Expedia.com
    AU$95
1.9 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
AU$75
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$75
  • Vio.com
    AU$55
  • Agoda.com
    AU$75
0.3 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$596
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$596
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
  • Hotels.com
    AU$593
0.6 km from Hotel Marqueses
Restaurant
Room service
AU$569
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$571
  • Agoda.com
    AU$445
  • Hotels.com
    AU$566
0.8 km from Hotel Marqueses
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
242
163
44
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
163
44
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coca leaf tea courtyard wifi heater peru skylight signal tour monastery oxygen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2022

The hotel set in an historic monastery was a beautiful start to our Cusco visit. All the stonework, hand carved woodwork, and paintings made you feel like you had slipped back into the fifteen hundreds. Some of the rooms do have skylights, which we liked. The WiFi was very good as we watch a Netfix movie one night and did some video calls on WhatsApp. The wifi was stronger near the courtyard,

The location was great and the staff friendly. There was always free filtered water and hot coca leaf tea on hand and the breakfast was good.
One of our party had moderate AMS late one night and the hotel had tanks of oxygen on hand. They were quick to bring it up, and this immediately helped.
This was our home in Cusco for a week and we highly recommend it.

They had a deal with SAS Travel Peru in Cusco when you book a tour, so we took advantage of that discount.

Room tip: If you like to sleep in late, get a room without a skylight. Otherwise, the rooms are very quiet.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmA6424TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2022 via mobile

The rooms were pretty nice, but you don’t get any wifi! Signal was bad the whole time I was there, good thing I wasn’t trying to work. Some of the staff are really cool and friendly, others not so much 😅 Breakfast was good, stayed for a week in total.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Paradise43683259594
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2020

We choose this hotel due to the fact that it used to be a monastery. There is so much history and a great feeling of going back in the past.
However we had trouble sleeping due to a skylight bringing full light in the room at about 6 AM. When ask to have a look at other rooms, very little choice was given to us. The other available rooms were all on the ground floor with no light whatsoever like being in a dungeon. It was like going from one extreme to the other...We were offer another room for an extra 100 dollars a night despite the fact that it was much cheaper on the internet. However we were told that we could not get the internet price?! I have to add that we spent 5 nights, the hotel was 90% empty. We were the only one on our last night.
So we had no choice but to stay in our room and buy masks at the chemist...
The breakfast was decent except for the coffee which is probably the worst coffee I ever had ..there was already made coffee and instant one. Both horrible.
Our last morning, because we were the only one left, there actually was nothing for breakfast. Only i option due to the kitchen being closed.

We had a small heater in the room. We were not cold at this time of the year.

The hotel is very well situated, close to restaurants (you cannot eat at this hotel), market, churches...everything.

I have to say a special thank you to Adolfo for being so nice and helpful.

So our main concern was really the lack of sleep and terrible coffee to wake up!

Room tip: You need to know if you will be upstairs (with skylight) or downstairs.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank corinneryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Great place to stay in historic building. Very thankful to have a heater in our room because Cucso was very rainy and chilly. Staff was very helpful with anything we needed. Breakfast had a good variety, We loved being able to fill our water bottles with the filtered water available at all hours. Plenty of hot water for showers.

Room tip: We stayed on 2nd floor.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2020

PRO
+ Location, staff were excellent

CONS
-Old building requires major renovation. I stayed in boutique class hotel before, this in not boutique hotel, it is falling apart. Very noisy, not hot shower in suites for 2 days that I stayed. You can find much better deal in Cusco.

Not recommended.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_FarA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews