We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star??!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado San Agustin
Ranked #51 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Jávea, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Four Star??!!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Definitely not worthy of a 4star rating.The only things going for this hotel are the location and the breakfast. The rooms were dark and dismal, although clean. When we returned after visiting Machu Picchu we thought we had been allocated a store room ,in error, it was so gloomy. We were allowed to leave our luggage in store, free of charge, while visiting Machu Picchu and did not really find security an issue. Breakfast was also good and although the restaurant is quite small as breakfast is served from 4.00am -10.30am, it was not overcrowded. However, we did find the attitude of the Receptionists less than customer orientated. Having enjoyed excellent customer service, in Lima, we felt that these girls were not interested in the hotel guests and were verging on condescending. One afternoon we returned to the hotel to find that the only lift was out of order. The Receptionists did not know when it would be fixed, were unapologetic and not the least interested that my husband, despite being a very fit 80 years old, would have to walk up 4 flights of stairs to our room. The hotel was the only thing we didn't enjoy about Cusco

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    232
    88
    19
    9
See reviews for
118
180
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokosuka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

. . .don't give your laundry to hotel employees. They are not responsible.

Early Wednesday morning I set my laundry out in the bag provided and was told that it would be back at reception/check-in by 4 pm that same day. When I went to pick up the laundry, the receptionist said that it hadn't gone out yet and it wouldn't be back until Thursday 4-5 pm. Well, I was leaving Thursday morning at 8:30 AM. I'm sure glad I was able to retrieve my laundry even though still dirty.

Since the hotel doesn't do the laundry on premises, they have no control, so it is better to choose one of the laundries on Avenida El Sol which only takes a couple of hours.

What really bothered me was that they didn't even bother to check with me to see if I needed the laundry on Wednesday and just assumed I could pick them up on Thursday afternoon, by which time I was long gone.

Oh, yes. One other slight problem. Rosie and Libby didn't have hot water in the shower one evening but they did by the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

When we arrived in the hotel we were very pleased. The atmosphere is nice and the location is very convenient! But when we went to bed we realized that the matress was harder than usual (orthopedic, at least) and the pillows were like a log.
Also, we heard noises early in the morning and late at night from ongoing remodeling work in the room right next to our's. We asked for the noises to stop and were rewarded with non soliceted wake-up call 6 o'clock in the morning. We asked for a pillow menue and also did not get any solution to our problem.
Breakfast is OK. The coca infusion was a must after the terrible nights we spend!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panama-Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel served as a base (before and after) in our trip to Machu Pichu. Great location, close to every where you possibly want to go/visit around in Cusco. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Internet is free, wifi available and so very convenient for you to check mail with your own device or to make calls anywhere with skype. Breakfast (4AM to 9AM) is one of the best in town, plenty of food, fresh fruit and various choice of drink. Extracted Koca tea is free at the lobby all day. Rooms are spacious but very basic. You can hear the noise from the street outside if you stay low (2nd floor) in the front room (e.g. 205-206-207-208).
Overall, this is a good place to spend a few night to prepare for the trip and to treat your self with hot water after hiking.

Room Tip: Stay 3rd floor and above. Choose room at the back to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntrung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were booked into this Hotel as part of a group. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was complete and tasty each morning. The location is very good. Banks with ATM's across the street. Shopping a couple of blooks away in either direction. Should we return to Cuzco we will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobertson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 km away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.6 km away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#63 of 169 in Cusco
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.3 km away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
0.7 km away
Terra Andina Colonial Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cusco

Been to El Dorado San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado San Agustin

Property: El Dorado San Agustin
Address: Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#44 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price range (per night): $101 - $862
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Agustin El Dorado is the ideal hotel in Cuzco to visit Hotels in Peru, it is located at a privilege area of the historical Cuzco, between the Main Square and the "Koricancha" Temple of the Sun.From our facilities you have easy access to the monumental Cuzco and nearby the airport and main streets in the Imperial Cusco City.El Dorado Hotel Cuzco-Peru has a Colonial and Andean front. Its style is subtle, neutral and elegant, as a result of the mixture of Andean stone and modern metal touches.Our hotel offers you a great hospitality and also an exceptional service for your business and pleasure trips.Our Hotels in Peru offers you luxurious, comfortable and spacious Rooms, and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado San Agustin Hotel Cusco
El Dorado San Agustin Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing