We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Carriage To Sanctuary Live A Great Experience
16

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Cochahuasi Animal Sanctuary
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
529
208
44
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
529
208
44
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews woven goods animals vicuna condor wool bird
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2024

We were given a nice tour in English by one of their volunteers. While this is a true animal rescue and not a zoo, some of the enclosures are quite small, but I do believe they are doing the best that they can with the space and resources they have. Seeing the condors fly overhead was amazing! You don’t appreciate how large they are until you see it in person. There are a few shops and a small cafe as well for refreshments and souvenirs.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank melissassm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024

This place is trully a must! It is easily accessible from Cusco and we visited on our way to Pisac. It's a place where rescued animals are taken care of, rehabilitated and with any luck released back into the wild. They had some incredibly rare animals there. There were andean bob cats, often referred to as the ghosts of the andes. Condors!! And even puma! It is really worth stopping by. The staff are incredible and highly motivated. Was a real highlight of our trip to Peru. They rely on donations and tickets so it's a win win to make this part of your trip! Remember the animals are wild animals and being rehabilitated for release. Amazing place.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

It's not a zoo. They keep these injured animals with an aim to release them back into the wild. The Condors were really majestic. They have around 11 and considering there are only around 150 left in the wild in Peru. They also have vicunas and the Andean Bear. I was also lucky to see a military macaw and a toucan ( rescued from a pet/ animal activity centre). For the animals they are planning to release on the wild, they keep them secluded which is a great idea. They also had the Andean bob cats. Overall small place, but if you love wildlife and interested in wildlife conservation, you should pay them a visit. This is very close to Pisaq/ Cusco and you need to keep 30 mins for this activity.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank shovan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2023

Visited the sanctuary as reviews seemed good and saw a supposed actual release video on the Instagram page, however still left feeling a conflicted.

The guide was clearly passionate about the animals and told us release dates of some but did say some would never be released. He said most had been rescued from trafficking.

The Andean cat was pacing and meowing, it did not look in a healthy mental state. The cages are quite tiny as well. I can only hope the money spent does go towards releases

Date of experience: December 2023
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

I expected this experience to be fantastic, based on past reviews, but it is so much more than that. Albert is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about his work and the animals, and we learned a huge amount from him. It is clear that he has a mutual trust and respect with the animals and birds in his care, and he is doing everything to provide them with the best lives possible.
We were given lots of time to spend close to the birds and animals, learning about them and taking pictures. We saw the beautiful pumas and wildcats being fed. I loved the spectacled bears, and my highlight was the condors flying so close above us that one even touched my head with his enormous wing, an Incan blessing Albert said. I can’t put into words how special it felt to go around seeing all the wonderful rescued animals and birds with Albert - you will just have to go and see for yourself. I’m sure you will take away many special memories with you too!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews