We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Came as strangers-left as friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Nights at the House Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Nights at the House
Dining area
Living room comfort, 42' TV, Direct Tv, gallery of films
Wonderful time, cinema time
Dining
Perspectives of Living room
Kitchen area, full apliances
Dinner at House
Dining area at day
King bedroom with balcony
King bedroom view
Double Twin bedroom, peace and silence
Doubles, feather comforts, cotton sheets,
Doubles details
Breakfasts
Pizza Night at House
Inner roof garden
Rainbow from house
Salineras is walking distance from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cusco, Cusco Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TravelwFl...
West End, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Came as strangers-left as friends”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived as strangers but when we said goodbye it was to family. Juan and Dew were incredibly kind, enthusiastic, friendly hosts. Their home exceeded our very high expectations in every possible way. The location within Urubamba was tremendous, within walking distance of the center of town, but just far enough away to be peaceful and more rural than urban. The home itself was well equipped with everything we needed to make our week stay perfect. Each of our three children had plenty of space to spread out and we (the parents) had ample privacy. There is nothing Juan and Dew wouldn't do to make our stay excellent! They were always available to help and often generously shared their time and knowledge of their beautiful valley with us. Everything at their home was top notch from bedding to kitchen appliances, all we great. We highly recommend staying with Juan and Dew at Valley and Life Cottages, you won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That there was nothing NOT TO LIKE. Everything was better than we expected.
Liked least: saying goodbye
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2015
Dear Amy:

Thank you so much for your wonderful words! We truly appreciate your warmth and kindness to us... We just did what we were shown many years ago, "to do to others that which we will like to be done to us". As you know, we have been treated in an amazing way by your American fellows and we just love to receive them as they received us, it is our pleasure. Thank you for letting others know, that we like to have the best for our guests, and we will continue upgrading the house, little by little... Next time you come you will be very surprised!... Please keep in touch, we also found in you and your beautiful kids, our family.... May you be blessed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shira6136...
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had the pleasure of staying here for 4 days.The cottage is very comfortable. Great beds with warm and cozy linen. kitchen was well equipt. The hosts are amazing- kind, considerate, helpful and accommodating. One of my favorite things was going on the artisan tour with Dew - highly reccomended. Additionally, Guermo was a excellent and fairly priced driver- also through the hosts.
If u go to Maccu Piccu- especially if you climb hinu piccu- wear long pants and get bug spray with DEET. We were bitten up!
Also- If you stay in the house during the winter months- bring layers for the night as it doesnt have a heating/cooling unit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Dear Shira
Thank you so much for your kind words... we truly appreciate your kindness and warm wishes for us. We really enjoy your stay with us, and definitely will also recommend you for any other host too!... Ou were considerate, compassionate and so simple in the way of not doing problems I specially enjoy the agroturism walking tour, that is so near to the house you stayed, Master Recolleta Cottage, our talks and sharing our lifetime experiences we both have within our life of service in different lines of service.
I will send your kind words to Guillermo, or William, our recommended driver, and definitely will use your review for any other future guest who might ask for our transfer service, this will help for them to make their mind and prefer us rather than other cars and drivers which are not fully recommended for their driving....
Regarding the heating or cooling unit of the house, not one of the houses around the valley, and I can bet in mostly Peru, the biggest or smallest ones, nor the most luxury ones of our closest friends, have central heating nor cooling as we dont have that way of life here, nor there is any service of any company to provide it....the most you find are fireplaces in the living rooms as the house you stayed have, which is the way we welcome our guests with free firewood as you had.....and some houses might have a fireplace in the room, but I havent seen them yet, only in some hotels, but not houses....in all the time being we are living in the Valley... But indeed could be a great idea to have in the forthcoming future!!
I also will definitely will advise our future guests who come specially in rainy season as you did, regarding the mosquito sprays to buy them here in Peru, as you explain me DEET is prohibited in US, so they wont have to come to the pharmacy and ask for a remedy afterwards!!!
I love the idea you enjoy the simple life we have here in Urubamba, walking and buying the produce in the markets, (please send me the pics and the video of the tour we did) the way of life and simplicity.. I hope you someday will bring your wonderful kids to visit this amazing place as Peru is!!!! Count on us for any arrangements ok?
We will be in contact! for sure! Have an extra- ordinary life!!!
Best wishes
Dew
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuthills
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday and fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Master Recolleta Cottage for a week in June 2015 and we would highly recommend this fantastic house. It is large and we had plenty of room for my husband and myself and four teenagers. The garden is beautiful and has views to the mountains. The house is within a walled garden and is very safe, with a lovely gate-keeper. Dew is delightful and does far more than just manage the properties - she is SO helpful and will help you to negotiate Peruvian life/book taxis/trips etc. She is trustworthy and incredibly helpful. There was no problem returning our deposit and the accommodation is exactly as the adverts say. We had a brilliant holiday in Urubamba and it really is a great place to base yourself to see the Sacred Valley and to visit Machu Picchu. The town itself has some good restaurants (recommended by Dew) and there it has great public transport, so it is perfect to get the bus/taxi to explore the surrounding area and sights. We would highly recommend staying in this house in Urubamba - one of our best holidays ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPSHAVER
Albemarle, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sacred Valley is beauty like a post card....”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of seven (7) stayed at the Recolleta Master Cottage in September. The three bedroom house and loft was in a gated community which made you feel very safe and secure at all times. The caretakers lived beside the gate and were always convenient to let you back in or out when needed. Dew (homeowner) had everything ready for us. She handled our airport pickup/return and also tours, tickets, etc. It was a relief not to have to worry about where to go and how to get there. Nadia was an amazing tour guide along with the driver (Valveno). They both work for Dew and go beyond their duties to make sure you are well taken care of and happy. The house was plenty big for us all with two full bathrooms, full kitchen, dining and living room. It was the last day before we figured out the TV played in English instead of just Spanish but that was our mistake of not asking...lol. Staying in the sacred valley was amazingly beautiful. We rode the little tiki to the square for our daily ice cream treats and market shopping. Dining at the hotel next door was a good place to eat as well. We even enjoyed cooking and grilling at the cottage and in the pretty flower garden outside our patio. We were very close to the train station and had the privilege to travel to Manchu Pichu for a day trip which included bus tickets up/down, two hour tour (which Nadia spent more time), lunch and train ride back to village along with our driver waiting on us to return to the cottage. Also, once we left Cusco to return home we had a whole day in Lima which Dew's sister Monica graciously met us at the airport with a driver and took us sightseeing for the day. We truly enjoyed all the sights and the house but most of all the hospitality that we received. I'd love to return one day to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Loved having someone take care of all tours, tickets and travel.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olidavies
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Valley and life is in a great location, with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Urubamba AirBnB

The house was located in a gated community within a ten minute walk of Urubamba town centre. There were about 8 houses on the complex which all seemed to be let out in some way shape or form. There was a family living at a bungalow at the gate who seemed to be the house keepers. We arrived at the house late around 10pm, by taxi which the owner Juan and his wife had arranged for us from Ollantaytambo (95soles). They were there to greet us when we arrived and showed us around the house.

There was a well laid out kitchen with pots, pans, plenty of plates, utensils and a gas stove and a fridge/freezer. There was lounge area adjoining the kitchen which had a log burning fire and TV with plenty of channels. The wifi was excellent with great upload and download speeds. There was also a toilet hidden under the stairs. Upstairs there were three bedrooms - 2 doubles and a twin. They were well made up and clean. There was a shared bathroom with a shower which was hot, although occasionally the temperature would change randomly.

The house was very quiet in the evenings and we enjoyed lighting a fire (wood is an extra 10soles) and chatting and watching the TV. It is also well located for day trips. We went into Ollantaytambo to see the ruins there - 1.5soles for a tuktuk each to the bus station, then bus to Ollantaytambo for 1.5soles each which leave every 20 minutes or when full. The next day we hired a taxi for the morning for 80 soles between the 4 of us to take us to Moray and the Salinas mines, we picked him up from the bus station with little difficulty. Juan the owner and his wife can organise taxis for you however the quote they got was 280 soles for the day. Presumably because the taxi firm know it's a captive market.

We had a lovely time at the house for 3 nights and I would recommend it to others who would like something different to a Hostal or hotel. Juan and his wife were very friendly and helpful hosts and also speak English if your Spanish is lacking. Location is good, amenities are good, rooms pleasant and clean, for £59 ($90) a night a reasonable deal for a family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing