We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$593
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 June
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
AU$591
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 June
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
AU$591
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 June
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Chris C
Duncan, Canada

The BEST hotel in Cusco!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Aug 2021
We came to this hotel mid-July 2021 from Canada and had the MOST amazing stay!!

Our courtyard terrace room was HUGE, with a large bathroom with soaker tub, separate shower and large sink area. The closet was huge, with double doors that turned on a light when you entered. Across from the closet in a "breezeway" from the bedroom to the bathroom, was a coffee/tea/fridge area with cups/glasses... and cupboards above this for added storage. There is also an enormous wall-mounted TV with many stations, as well as CNN and BBC.

Double doors led out onto our huge, private terrace overlooking the courtyard and surrounding hills. Each day you could see the Incan lady bring in her adorable, colorfully decorated alpaca to the courtyard where you could take pictures with him! You can also eat in the courtyard - with many tables and chairs/umbrellas.

The lobby/check-in desk is stunning! The staff are VERY helpful and courteous - a big shout out to Diego, Guest Service Supervisor, who just MADE our trip! He booked us dining reservations, pool reservations (yes, you can have a 1 hour block where you have the WHOLE pool/jacuzzi/loungers/dry sauna/eucalyptus steam room, 3 showers with various nozzles and lights! ALL to yourself! We did this daily! It was a real highlight of our stay) He also booked our Hotel Historical Ruins tour, which leaves each night from the lobby down to the underground original foundational Incan/Convent ruins - absolutely amazing - do not miss this... you are led around by a staff member dressed as a monk carrying a lantern - so atmospheric! (big shout out to Benji, who was the Monk!!!)

The hotel also made an appointment for us to receive our COVID PCR test the day before we were set to go back to Canada. We had the test in the First Aid room, which was perfect, and a fully suited-up PPE nurse came from "Integra Medica Medical Clinic" in Cusco at our requested 7am time - super convenient - and we had our results emailed to us by 3pm the same day - WOW!! The cost was only 1,000 Soles ($320 CDN) for 2, so very reasonable. And she was very gentle with the cotton swab - hardly even knew we had it done!

The Qespi Restaurant is open for a delicious buffet breakfast (included in our room rate), where they have an omelette station (even egg white omelettes!), a full selection of breads, pastries, juices, charcuterie, smoked trout lox (YUM!), pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausages, cheeses, diced potatoes, yogurts, cereals with milk and soy milk, savory brunch items, etc....

The lunch and dinner menus were extensive and EVERY meal was a gourmet experience - WOW!!! We were at the hotel for 6 days and were able to try so many items - the seafood pasta, the alpaca (super yum!), the chicken noodle soup, the JW burger - WOW!, the Peruvian po' boy, the grilled salmon, the prawn tempura salad - FABULOUS!!....
And the mint lemonades became our staple beverage! You will not go hungry here and there is NO need to go to restaurants off site - which we were loathe to do. The dining atmosphere is luxurious and again the staff are exceptional - especially Jose - HUGE shout out to him!! Thank you Jose for your friendly, helpful, attentive service - from menu suggestions to food prep info to drawing out a map to help us get to the Plazas de Armas, as well as San Blas. He is a treasure at this hotel!!!!

The COVID protocols are EXCELLENT! The hotel is constantly being cleaned and sanitized in all the public spaces, the staff are double-masked and have a face shield - perfect safety! Social distancing is adhered to and plexiglass barriers are in place. We are both double-vaccinated from Canada and we always felt completely safe.

Location, location, location!!! This hotel is situated 2 blocks from the main town square, with huge cathedrals and shops. San Blas and the ancient Incan ruin wall foundations are just 1 block away. Right across the laneway from the hotel entrance is the BEST shop for Peruvian woolens, shawls, blankets, wall hangings, table runners, picture frames, souvenirs. And just across the street and down one block to your left on the corner is a great shop for postcards, stamps, pan flute CD's, maps, books, pens.... We were able to write all of our postcards at the table on our terrace overlooking the courtyard - utter bliss! And there are 3 jewellery/souvenir stores on site that have exquisite designs.

They also pump in oxygen into the rooms, so we acclimatized very quickly! We also brought our own oximeter devices from Canada (purchased at Walmart) - they just clip onto your finger and give you an instant reading on your O2 levels as well as your heartrate. They also have a medic on site who will come to your room and provide you with O2 from a tank to help you... our first night after landing from Lima to Cusco we felt rather light-headed so we had the O2 for 10 minutes each and it really helped. We were fine after that, but did take it really easy for 2 days - just going on short little walks to the square and of course down to the restaurant for all meals and into the courtyard to relax and down daily to our pool "oasis" We sure do miss that pool area! My husband also had the 60 minute deep tissue massage and was a new man after that!

They also have daily courses that you can sign up for - like making Pisco Sours (wow!), to cooking with the chef in the courtyard and of course touring the original foundation ruins with the Monk, etc..... ALL included in your room rate!

The Business Center is located on the 2nd floor with 2 computers and is very handy for printing out boarding passes, COVID test results, etc. Another big shout out to Harry, who helped us so much in the business center, as well as escorting us down that one morning to the hotel First Aid Center to get our COVID PCR test and stayed with us to help translate and provide moral support - he was just wonderful - Thank you Harry!!!

And of course we went to Machu Picchu, so our pick up was early - 5am - and the hotel staff ensured that our huge Breakfast Boxes, with such a variety of foods, was ready for us at 4:30am - THANK YOU! We always had bottled water provided, which is so necessary at 12,000 feet - you dehydrate quickly! It combats the altitude symptoms of lightheadedness and body fatigue. There is also complimentary Coco Tea in the lobby.

If you are lucky enough to be able to travel to Cusco at this time and go to see Machu Picchu (AMAZING!!!) then you absolutely MUST stay here - it was quite simple stated, PEFECT in every way.
THANK YOU JW MARRIOTT EL CONVENTO CUSCO for the most excellent holiday - we will never forget you! Elissa and Chris Kinar, Vancouver Canada
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: King Bed Courtyard Terrace Room #339
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$341
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$340
  • Agoda.com
    AU$266
  • Expedia.com
    AU$340
0.3 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$597
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$594
  • LuxuryCollection
    AU$366
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
AU$433
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$392
  • Agoda.com
    AU$298
  • Hotels.com
    AU$392
0.5 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$397
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$395
  • Novotel
    AU$460
  • Expedia.com
    AU$395
0.1 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$188
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$188
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
0.6 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$302
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$300
  • Agoda.com
    AU$192
  • Expedia.com
    AU$301
0.9 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$297
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$296
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • Expedia.com
    AU$296
0.9 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$61
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$100
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$85
  • Agoda.com
    AU$77
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$90
  • Agoda.com
    AU$90
  • Hotels.com
    AU$105
0.7 km from Jw Marriott El Convento Cusco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (4,348)
Filter reviews
4,348 results
Traveller rating
3,761
397
94
50
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,761
397
94
50
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resort fee machu picchu baby alpaca steam room extra oxygen breakfast buffet pisco sours beautiful property ceviche altitude sickness coca tea high altitude the location is perfect the entire staff the main square sacred valley two blocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 4,348 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Just an all around great place to stay. Great looking property. Great location in the city center. A seamless and beautiful transition from the original convent to a modern hotel. We were on the 3rd floor on both our stays here facing the street. No issues with street noise at all. Our room (oxygenated Inca room) was very clean, quiet, with plenty of room. All the staff were were phenomenal. Excellent meals in the restaurant. There were a total of six of us and we all thoroughly enjoyed our dinners. Great breakfast as well. I don't think there was anything that could have been improved upon. Definitely the gold standard for hotels and the staff.
Side note: if the altitude is effecting you just contact the front desk and someone will administer oxygen to you. This takes about 10 minutes. The hotel provides this as a free service.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bobv640
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

I have traveled quite extensively and I found this to be one of the nicest hotels I have ever been too. It’s beautiful architecture, its centralized location was perfect. But what made me want to write this review is the staff.. I HOPE SOMEONE IN UPPER MANAGEMENT READS THIS: The staff is first class… they remembered our names, the drinks we ordered, super super polite, friendly. Literally the best experience ive had at a hotel because of the staff

Should i ever return to Cusco, I would NEVER stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Companion20614463737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We are at the hotel after visiting the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu (we did our sightseeing the reverse of most people). The hotel is gorgeous, situated close to many sights and restaurants. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is very good too. The front desk arranged for us to take our required covid-19 tests to return to the usa. I'm so impressed with this hotel and the staff! We did not take advantage of the spa or other services because of covid, but they are available with extra covid precautions.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChrisTunaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2021

This hotel could not be a more perfect place to stay while visiting Cusco and the surrounding sites. The staff was lovely, attentive and went above and beyond with service and kindness! We wished we could have stayed longer and were so sad to leave. We highly recommend the JW Marriot in Cusco!! They took care of our belongings as we left and came back from Aquas Calientes. The food was delicious and the Pisco Sours were Incredible!! This is a luxury hotel for relaxing and adventurous types!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank linsshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2021 via mobile

This hotel was our “base camp” for multiple excursions to different parts of Peru. We ended up staying for three different occasions, two nights each. In between stays, they were happy to keep our extra luggage.

Every morning we enjoyed a full breakfast, with omelette bar, fresh fruit, bread, meats—anything you could want all included.

One of my favorite things was the pool/jacuzzi/spa. You have to reserve it, but then you have the whole place to yourself for an hour.

The amazing thing about this place is the service. Across all three visits, the staff remembered our name, where we had gone, and treated us like royalty. We even had out Covid test for return home arranged to be done in our room.

The only bad thing I have to say is that I can’t stay forever!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews