We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap. Good location. Terrible.”
Review of Hostal Acosta

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Acosta
Ranked #338 of 553 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

We found this hospedaje with a lot of promise. Great location, very cheap, private room with private bathroom and hot water between 7am to 9pm. Too good to be true. It was freezing, so loud (yelling from within the hostel from 4am til 5.30am and no one cared), we were literally locked in the building several times because they lock the door and then go wandering and there is no way to get out without the key. To top it off the hot water was non existent, at best it would last 30 seconds then cut off. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank klparslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2016

I stumbled across this hostel when I had nothing booked in Cusco. Initially I was very happy - the price was very good - £8 per night for a single private room with own bathroom), on a non main road (so less honking than other streets) and 2 min walk from the Plaza del Armes. The manager speaks enough English. A simple breakfast in included.

The room and bathroom, of course, weren't the best but they were clean. The hostel itself is very quiet.

All in all, an absolute bargain for £8.

The problem is at night. The locals pile rubbish literally across the street. So all night dogs bark over it. They stop around 3 but then the bin wagon comes at 5 and leaves its massive engine on for 2 hours while they sweep the pile (it's a huge pile) up.

After 2 nights I was potty from lack of sleep and moved to a place higher up the hill up San Blas way. It's more of a walk, there are still barking dogs (where are there not in Cusco?) but there aren't as many and they aren't as near so earplugs block them well.

It's a shame this hostel has this problem (which isn't its fault) as otherwise I'd have been very happy there.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My experience was horrible, there was no towel even though I requested it several times. Then there was no water" aparently the service was cut in the area" just because they didn´t have towels. Then the bed was old and very cold, no lamp , no mirrow in bathroom and to make things worse when the water came in the morning, the sink was leaking and the bathroom window has a big opening where the cold enter in the bathroom.
When I talked to the guy in the counter he didn´t even apologize.
Do not stay there. They shouldn´t give this time to anybody who is looking to spend some nice vacation in Cusco.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I had no expectations for what I was paying - maybe that's why my impressions are favorable. The hostel itself is not great. No lounge, no "hostel atmosphere" whatsoever. As I was traveling with some friends, I didn't mind. I had to stay in a single room and paid as little as 12 USD for a suite with TV, couple bed, and a bathroom. Cusco is really cold and the heating of the hostel is not that great, so it would help if you have some sweatshirts or coats to use while sleeping. There is a nice terrace that can be used for having a beer and playing the guitar with some friends, which is nice. It is far away from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco's main square, and you can easily walk towards it. What is more, there are several restaurants nearby - which can be quite useful. There is no travel bureau inside the hostel, but the staff was friendly enough to recommend me some agencies and call me a cab when needed.

PROs:
- Great value;
- Close to city centre;
- Restaurants nearby;
- Terrace;
- Friendly staff.

CONs:
- No hostel atmosphere;
- Rooms are just alright;
- No lounge;
- No wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brazilianpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Renato R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.3 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 km away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,526 reviews
1.1 km away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 553 in Cusco
760 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#41 of 172 in Cusco
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Acosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Acosta

Address: Calle Choquechaca 124, Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 553 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing