We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
0
2
3
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
2
3
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016

I stumbled across this hostel when I had nothing booked in Cusco. Initially I was very happy - the price was very good - £8 per night for a single private room with own bathroom), on a non main road (so less honking than other streets) and 2 min walk from the Plaza del Armes. The manager speaks enough English. A simple breakfast in included.

The room and bathroom, of course, weren't the best but they were clean. The hostel itself is very quiet.

All in all, an absolute bargain for £8.

The problem is at night. The locals pile rubbish literally across the street. So all night dogs bark over it. They stop around 3 but then the bin wagon comes at 5 and leaves its massive engine on for 2 hours while they sweep the pile (it's a huge pile) up.

After 2 nights I was potty from lack of sleep and moved to a place higher up the hill up San Blas way. It's more of a walk, there are still barking dogs (where are there not in Cusco?) but there aren't as many and they aren't as near so earplugs block them well.

It's a shame this hostel has this problem (which isn't its fault) as otherwise I'd have been very happy there.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My experience was horrible, there was no towel even though I requested it several times. Then there was no water" aparently the service was cut in the area" just because they didn´t have towels. Then the bed was old and very cold, no lamp , no mirrow in bathroom and to make things worse when the water came in the morning, the sink was leaking and the bathroom window has a big opening where the cold enter in the bathroom.
When I talked to the guy in the counter he didn´t even apologize.
Do not stay there. They shouldn´t give this time to anybody who is looking to spend some nice vacation in Cusco.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I had no expectations for what I was paying - maybe that's why my impressions are favorable. The hostel itself is not great. No lounge, no "hostel atmosphere" whatsoever. As I was traveling with some friends, I didn't mind. I had to stay in a single room and paid as little as 12 USD for a suite with TV, couple bed, and a bathroom. Cusco is really cold and the heating of the hostel is not that great, so it would help if you have some sweatshirts or coats to use while sleeping. There is a nice terrace that can be used for having a beer and playing the guitar with some friends, which is nice. It is far away from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco's main square, and you can easily walk towards it. What is more, there are several restaurants nearby - which can be quite useful. There is no travel bureau inside the hostel, but the staff was friendly enough to recommend me some agencies and call me a cab when needed.

PROs:
- Great value;
- Close to city centre;
- Restaurants nearby;
- Terrace;
- Friendly staff.

CONs:
- No hostel atmosphere;
- Rooms are just alright;
- No lounge;
- No wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brazilianpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews