We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David L
New York City, New York

Disappointing stay

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2024via mobile
Among all the Tierra Viva hotels I've stayed at in Peru, this one was my least favorite. Having booked at the last minute, we were forced to pay for a suite, which looked exactly like a normal room except for a tiny, dark two-square-meter sitting area. In the second room we booked, we noticed an unpleasant smell as soon as we entered, which stayed with us throughout our stay. The sink faucet was broken and sprayed everywhere, making it impossible to wash your hands without taking a shower... I don't see how you can offer customers a room when you are aware of these problems. Overall, the location felt more like a motel than a chain of good quality hotels.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosario Cervantes, Otro at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review
Responded 10 May 2024
Dear David L,

Thank you for your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi. I have read your comments and I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your impression about your stay.

I am sorry that our suite has not fully met your expectations and your stay with us was not satisfactory. We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. I can assure you that we already took the necessary corrective measures to improve our service.

We always want that our travelers have an excellent image of Tierra Viva. Therefore, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, at any of our hotels, either in Cusco, Puno, Machu Picchu, Arequipa or Lima. That way you will prove again our services and quality standards. Further, we will be able to show you that we are committed to making every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels as pleasant as possible.

All the best,

Rosario Cervantes
Hotel Manager
Tierra Viva Hotels

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$387
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$392
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$392
1.0 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$83
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$84
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
AU$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
0.3 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$612
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$133
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$122
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
0.9 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$290
  • Novotel
    AU$375
0.9 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$63
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (1,351)
Filter reviews
1,351 results
Traveller rating
1,027
281
34
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,027
281
34
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews inca trail superior room excellent breakfast i highly recommend this hotel square teas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,351 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2023

First of all you can’t beat the price for all that goodness you get from Tierra Viva Saphi. Tierra Viva has such a beautiful and cozy interior design and the cleanliness is superb!! I love my stay there and my interaction with two warm front-desk staffs Jimmy and Angel; they are incredibly helpful with traveling tips and room services and made me feel like at home immediately. Looking forward to coming back one day!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zhang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosario Cervantes, Otro at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Dear 624zhzngc,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi.

Our mission at Tierra Viva is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. That means, that we will do whatever is in our hands to help our travelers to enjoy the city they are visiting. We will share your nice comments with our team, especially with Jimmy and Angel.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Rosario Cervantes
Hotel manager
Tierra Viva Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 5 nights here. The hotel is close to the centre of Cusco but our courtyard room at the back of the hotel was spacious and quiet. The staff were all really helpful and the setting was lovely in an historic stone building with vaulted ceilings

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 858clarej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosario Cervantes, Otro at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Dear 858clarej,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your 5 nights at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi.

Our mission at Tierra Viva is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. That means, that we will do whatever is in our hands to help our travelers to enjoy the city they are visiting. We will share your nice comments with our team.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Rosario Cervantes
Hotel Manager
Tierra Viva Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023

The room is very well lit with wall sockets at appropriate locations.
The beds are comfortable and linens are very clean and crisp.
The hotel is in a very convenient location.
The staff are friendly and very helpful.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chen-Wei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina Saenz, Otro at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

Dear chenweis2021,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi with other travelers. We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels - Suno Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2023

We had a wonderful stay at Tierra Viva Cusco. The location is perfect - easy walking distance to many attractions yet quiet enough to get a good sleep. The staff was truly amazing. Pamela, Edvin, Lorena, Ester, and Cocia were very friendly and incredibly helpful. One of my son's was very sick due to the altitude and they were able to help me get the medical assitance I needed. Overall the hotel was very clean, pleasant, and had a great breakfast with a nice ambiance. It is truly an enjoyable and comfortable place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina Saenz, Otro at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

Dear M3031NMerinw,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphiand would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Our mission at Tierra Viva is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. That means, that we will always do whatever is in our hands to help our travelers with any need they may have.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels - Suno Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023

A wonderful hotel with very nice rooms good bathrooms, really good breakfast and most importantly a super nice and helpful staff who helped us a lot when we needed to change our plans. We stayed three nights and had a really lovely time. The hotel is very central but still quiet. A perfect base for exploring the fascinating region.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina Saenz, Otro at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Dear O8657ZTandreasb,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, and for considering us "A beautiful little hotel".

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels - Suno Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews