We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jeanine M
Denver, Colorado, United States

Great location in Cusco

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2019
I stayed at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi to acclimate to the altitude before a trek to Machu Picchu. This was my first trip to Cusco. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the entire staff provided exceptional customer service. Friendly greetings at the front desk, quick to carry a bag bellman staff, and very thorough housekeeping. They came in at night for turndown service/chocolate on your pillow AND turned your space heater on to low so your room was not chilled.

Breakfast buffet was good-typical juice/fruit/cereal/bread/cheese-all with a good variety. Eggs never seemed to be hot, but that is something I seem to be finding lately with hotel continental breakfast.

Location-This is very quiet location. It is about a 10 minute stroll from the hotel to the Plaza (which is a VERY busy place with quite a few solicitors) From the Plaza, you have about 3 blocks of restaurants/shops, but then is turns into a quiet street. I felt very safe as a solo, female traveler and truthfully, after all of the action of the Plaza, it was nice to take a deep breath and head back to my hotel without much distraction.

There are some food stands that set up at night about 2 blocks before you come to the hotel and I enjoyed a delicious hot local sandwich for only 5 soles. I recommend that you make sure your chicken or burger is cooked well, along with the tomato and cabbage if you choose to add that. Pass on the sauces to avoid a tender tummy.

The hotel stored my luggage with no charge before my trek and kept it for 5 days. My only real regret is that I did not return to stay for my last night in Cusco after my trek. My reason was that I wanted to save a little money and chose to stay somewhere else and maybe mix it up a bit. This resulted in having to pick up my bags at the hotel, check into another hotel, discover that they had no water and then have to walk down the street to another hotel, with my luggage. Big mistake on my part. On that note, I would 100% stay here again and snuggling into a warm, comfy bed after 5 days of trekking is the way to go!
Date of stay: November 2019
Room Tip: Request a room away from the front desk area.
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review
Responded 2 Dec 2019
Dear 219JeanineM,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for recommend 100% Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi!

At Tierra Viva we have hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, Puno, Piura and Trujillo and in all of them you will find the same quality of excellent service that characterizes Tierra Viva.

We hope you to have the chance to stay with us in another opportunity.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$170
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$201
  • Agoda.com
    AU$116
  • Hotels.com
    AU$201
0.7 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$386
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$352
  • Agoda.com
    AU$311
  • Hotels.com
    AU$352
0.5 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$99
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$95
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$95
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$294
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    AU$343
  • travelup.com
    AU$226
  • Expedia.com
    AU$295
0.9 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$61
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$53
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$81
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$82
0.4 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$94
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$105
  • Agoda.com
    AU$76
  • Hotels.com
    AU$105
2.4 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
AU$22
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$22
0.6 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Free Wifi
AU$634
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$634
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$616
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Restaurant
Room service
AU$636
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    AU$635
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$636
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (1,351)
Filter reviews
1,351 results
Traveller rating
1,027
281
34
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,027
281
34
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews inca trail superior room excellent breakfast i highly recommend this hotel square teas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,351 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2019

Stayed at Terre Viva Saphi in Cusco for 4 nights November 2019. This renovated colonial style building with a central courtyard is lovely. Our room was delightful with a vaulted ceiling straddled with exposed rafters. The situation was central but quiet, within walking distance of the main square, multiple restaurants and bars. The staff were delightful, friendly and helpful. We also stayed with this hotel chain in Sacred Valley and Agua Calientes and they were all equally great.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear Rena W,

Thank you for the review and the praises! We are extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019

Our 4 night stay at Tierra Viva Saphi was excellent, the staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, the rooms and buffet breakfast were outstanding! Thanks to all the staff 👍🏼🙏🏼
XOXO

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MaricelaBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear MaricelaBS,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for recommend 100% Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi!

At Tierra Viva we have hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, Puno, Piura and Trujillo and in all of them you will find the same quality of excellent service that characterizes Tierra Viva.

We hope you to have the chance to stay with us in another opportunity.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019

While the hotel is very nice, the hotel's location was a struggle for me. And I believe it was because of the altitude. It's located on a sise street where there are restaurants. And it because its on a side street, its quite at night. The hotel is clean and the rooms are big. Service was also very good.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear Malfont,

We like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

All the best,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019

We stayed at the Terre Viva Saphi, in Cusco October 2019 and it was the most relaxing stay my family and I ever enjoyed. The rooms are smaller, heater available, hot showers available, we didn't have a kettle and a small refrigerator would've been great!
We took in 2 rooms and both were very clean and housekeeping daily did a tremendous job. The staff from the front desk to the dining room, grounds and housekeeping were the best in every way at making ones' stay safe and comfortable.
They'll store your luggage for you if you have a later flight but must vacate the room. Angel at the front desk was our savior. With his recommendations and assistance on best tour company(ies), restaurants and suggestions regarding an overnight trip to Aguas Calientes/Machu Pichu, we ran with it and all went very well. Thanks Angel. Overall, it was one AMAZING trip and hotel stay is a big part of it. We love you Cusco!

Room tip: We were in the 2nd level where it was very quiet.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank raintowngirl2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear raintowngirl2019,

Thank you for your excellent comment! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi.

Our mission at Tierra Viva is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. And for us, help our guests and take care of them is part of our passion for service and love for our work and Angel shows what we all feel working in Tierra Viva!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

This is a great little hotel in a good location, just a 10 minute walk from the central square.
The staff are very helpful, our room was very comfortable and warm, despite the cool evenings and cold nights at the altitude.
We were served and lovely breakfast and there is tea, coffee and filtered water available at all times.
My wife had a bit of a problem with altitude sickness on our first full day in Cusco and she was given the correct advise to rest up and keep hydrated; the following day she was fine.
We spent a lovely few days in Cusco, enjoying the history, culture and cuisine of that fascinating city. This hotel was the perfect base.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear Richard Y,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi with other travelers. We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay!

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews