We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Austin H
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States

Convenient but crappy

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Sept 2014
The staff was rude and unhelpful, and the hotel was poorly designed. Other hotels we stayed at nearby in Cusco were a far better value, particularly Amaru Hostal II.

This hotel doesn't have central heating in the rooms. Night time in the mountains gets pretty cold, and there are only small electric heaters in the rooms. Thus, when you arrive, you room will be cold for the first few hours.

The showers are tiny and spray water all over the bathroom floor. The staff was very rude and unhelpful, which we found to be very out of the ordinary for Cusco.

The worst part of this place was that our hotel room door contained a large window. I have never seen that done before in any hotel. The reason is that the lights that are on all night out in the courtyard so people can see to get to their rooms shine right through the hotel room doors and light your room up like a stadium. We hardly got any sleep in this place and were very dissatisfied.
Date of stay: September 2014
Room Tip: Rooms in other nearby hotels are better
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$505
  • Vio.com
    AU$342
  • Trip.com
    AU$496
  • StayForLong
    AU$566
0.2 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$185
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • Agoda.com
    AU$114
  • Hotels.com
    AU$185
0.5 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
AU$322
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    AU$376
  • travelup.com
    AU$247
  • Expedia.com
    AU$323
0.5 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$392
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$392
  • Agoda.com
    AU$310
  • Expedia.com
    AU$392
0.7 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$65
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$63
  • Priceline
    AU$65
  • Vio.com
    AU$65
0.5 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$98
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
  • Priceline
    AU$98
  • Hotels.com
    AU$94
1.1 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$73
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$73
  • Vio.com
    AU$55
  • Agoda.com
    AU$73
0.3 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$93
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$103
  • Vio.com
    AU$73
  • Hotels.com
    AU$103
2.1 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
AU$24
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$24
  • Vio.com
    AU$19
  • Agoda.com
    AU$24
0.6 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Free Wifi
AU$611
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$612
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$591
  • Hotels.com
    AU$612
0.7 km from Hotel Sol Plaza Inn
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Cusco
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
7
23
14
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7
23
14
9
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I´m not against budget hotels, but a minimun comfort is necessary.

Starting with therroms which are incredible small. I was with my wife and the room doesn´t accomodate us at all.

I aske dto change the room twice in order to get a better room, but there weren´t any room with a minimum of space.

The rooms has no windows and some of them, comes with a windows with view directly to a aisle. It means private zero.

During my stay, there was one day that I arrived from a long journey and there weren´t towels in my room. Immediately I asked to the administration and I had to wait for 40 min for towels. Something are really unbearable.

The localization is good, but there are lots of other options around, as Cusco is a small town.

The breakfast is simple but good.

The staff is good, anyway th service proposed by the hotel is really bad.

Room tip: None of the roons are good. I tried 3 of them. Awful.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fclmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Half block to Plaza de Armas. Friendly staff can send a cab to pick you up at the airport. For the price I would say there was a value however the room was ok and the bathroom needed some update (sometimes there was a sewer smell). Also the towels were real bad, old and they looked like a mopping cloth. A hotel good for a couple nights before continuing to Machu Picchu

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78arturom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The good:
(1)it was conveniently located to all the Cusco attractions.
(2) the bed was comfortable
(3) we were given a heater

the not so good
(1) it was dirty and damp
(2) you could hear all of what the neighbors were doing

What I hated the most
(1) the restaurant
(2) the poor breakfast options (the breakfast was included in the rate)
(3) the girl /waitress /whatever she was that worked at the restaurant, how much lazier can she be!? oh my, extremely laid back, took her forever to get our orders...agh, she was the worse thing this hotel had to offer.

Room tip: I don't know. You can stay there but eat elsewhere.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakelv_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at Sol Plaza Inn in early July 2013

- Great location within walking distance of Plaza de Armas and restaurants
- Good and free breakfast served as early as 5:30 which is great for mornings with an early start
- Courtyard and at least a couple of sitting areas to relax in. This is helpful particularly since our quadruple room was pretty tight in space.
- English speaking front desk staff
- Free Wifi in rooms

Please note:
- There is no central air. The room heater did not function throughout the night. However, the thick blankets and comforters on top of them were more than enough to keep us warm.

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 852SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were pleased with our choice. Location was great ,close to many restaurants and within walking distance to the train staion. The owner and staff were very helpful, giving us advice and helping us with transport. Breakfast in the morning was fine and internet was available in the lobby. We loved the town of Ollantaytambo and would recommend anyone to stay there when visitin Macchu Picchu.

Room tip: Ask for room with balcony next to river- it has a great view of the ruins.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews