We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Review Highlights
Inspiring and Educational

Fantastic spot to have a cup of coffee and enjoy indigenous art. Inspiring art and an inspiring... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2023
kellylynette
,
Sacramento, California
via mobile
Unique art works, good coffee and a special mission to support Indigenous Peruvian tribes

Xapiri Ground is a cafe and art space run by an NGO that connects with Indigenous Peruvian tribes... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2023
R3150KLannas
via mobile
Read all 131 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Cusco
from AU$130.57
More Info
from AU$122.89
More Info
from AU$138.25
More Info
from AU$536.11
More Info
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
129
0
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
0
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fair trade indigenous art amazon region craft items local communities gallery shop amazonian mission gifts browse peru artisan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2023 via mobile

Fantastic spot to have a cup of coffee and enjoy indigenous art. Inspiring art and an inspiring mission. There is also a gift shop to purchase some of the art. Worth stopping by!

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank kellylynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2023 via mobile

Xapiri Ground is a cafe and art space run by an NGO that connects with Indigenous Peruvian tribes to rediscover their cultural art practices in a respectful way. There’s a lovely cafe in a courtyard surrounded by a series of art exhibits and a shop and further gallery spaces upstairs. My 10 yr old daughter loved watching the videos of people explaining their lives and art. The art works for sale are beautiful and unique. I especially love the wooden animal figurines and the pottery. The staff explain where they come from using a map on the wall. The coffee is good and there’s a lovely selection of treats and other food to enjoy. The whole space is peaceful and feels imbued with authenticity and calm. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank R3150KLannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2023

Cool store supporting local/indigenous communities. There was a theatre with an interesting film depicting local life in various communities. The coffee and chocolate is very good, so buy a bag to use or bring home with you.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank JoanRuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2022

My wife and I are interested in authentic, locally made, artisan crafts when we travel, rather than the run-of the-mill souvenirs found in many tourist shops. Xapiri didn't disappoint!

The crafts are beautiful, and the staff incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. We returned multiple times to purchase gifts for ourselves and family, and to just browse the intricate arts.

The shop's mission is to promote, and help support the culture, of the indigenous tribes living in the Amazon. They have an extensive library, and many videos, on the people, areas and the making of particular crafts. Think fair trade when much of the profits are returned to the artisans and local communities.

We purchased a fishing net, a painting, a maraca and a clay 'Tapir' figurine. All beautiful!

We spoke mostly with Maria, a university student who is in her last semester of earning a degree in Archeology. She couldn't have been more gracious in answering all our questions about the items and how best to package them to either pack in our luggage or have shipped.

What a wonderful experience! Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank vastvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

We loved this little cafe and museum, the hot chocolate was so delicious and the exhibitions were really interesting with a really nice shop.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank hannahbF3282MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews