We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a family! Muchas Gracias !”
Review of Hostal Quipu Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Ranked #20 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay at the hostal Quipu, it felt straight away like home, everybody was so nice and welcoming, always helping us with the smile ! The hostal is located 5-10min walking distance from the Plaza de Armas so very easy to reach and not in the busy and noisy part of the city.
We definitely recommend this hostal for a nice and quiet stay :-)
Muchas Gracias a todo la equipa del hostal Quipu !!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stayed in the Hostal Quipu for 2 nights during our Cusco trip recently. Senorita Lida, the host, was extremely helpful. I had some issues with my ATM card in Cusco. Lida accompanied me to several banks and did whatever she could to help me get cash for buying the tickets for the tourist attraction. She even accompanied me to the Cruz Del Sur bust station to help me buy tickets for our Puno trip. She did not have to do that but she did it on her own to help me. She does not speak English but with Google Translate and hand gestures we were able to communicate. Also she responded very quickly to all my questions via email and Whatsapp before our trip. She even arranged for a car and a driver for us for our sightseeing trips for two days. The driver was such a wonderful person, always willing to help however way he could. The two boys who help out in the hostal are always ready to do whatever help that is need with a smile on their face.
The room we stayed had a matrimonial bed and a single bed, a closet with drawers, a small table and a small stool. It felt a bit cramped. Even the bathroom was a little cramped but since we were out most of the time, we could manage. Hot water was available whenever we needed. Breakfast was good - bread, butter, jam, tea, coffee, and eggs. The main plaza is about 10 minutes away. But since because of the altitude, it could feel as if it is quite a walk.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chak1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We spent 5 nights in Hostal Quipu which is located a short walk (10 minutes) from Plaza de Armas. It is located on a quiet one-way street. Next to the hostel is a convenience store which is very convenient. The Hostel building is enchanting with a big open central courtyard. Most of the rooms are located on the second floor resembling a gallery. The hostel's manager Lida has an excellent team comprising Lucy, Maria and Pedro ensuring the guests have a pleasant stay. Although they speak very little English, they all went the extra mile to try and help us with our queries. Breakfast was basic and included bread, butter, jam, fruit juice and eggs. Wi-Fi was excellent. Hot water in the showers was great! Toilets were clean, so was the room. Bed linen and towels were clean. Although there are no on-site laundry facilities, they can get it sorted out for you for S/4 per kg. There are cheaper options available near the hostel but we couldn't be bothered as were busy with day tours. They organised a taxi for us for a drop off at 6 am which was awesome! The beds were always made when we returned in the evening! They also provide extra blankets in the wardrobe to provide the additional warmth at night should the need arise. Before doing the Inca trek we left our bags in the storage which were well looked after! This hostel offers a wonderful option for budget travellers and families and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hostel for both short or long stays. It is ideal for people wanting to save up on accommodation and spend on experiences. Why would anyone want to spend more and live in hotels in Cusco when you have this excellent hostel?

Room Tip: Rooms 201 and 202 (double rooms) on the second floor have windows that open out to the street.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VG1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I usually go to Cusco for work, so I want a hotel that is close to everything, it is quite at night and pleasant. I found Hostal Quipu through a friend in Cusco and I was very impressed. It was very charming, clean, cozy and close to everything. I Had an excellent breakfast (toast, eggs, coffee and mil and fresh orange juice) and the people running the hotel were super friendly. They offer excellent rates for the budget traveler, while keeping high standards of privacy and comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomade567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Our favorite stay during our Peru and Bolivia trip. The staff, despite their general lack of English, were superb! We stayed on three different occasions and always looked forward to our return. Their coca tea is the best and the room and bathroom were clean. Plaza de Armas is a 10 minute stroll away, but at this price point you won't get much closer. Room could get cold at night but plenty blankets at your disposal.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank djbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 km away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#68 of 170 in Cusco
212 reviews
0.5 km away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 479 in Cusco
1,426 reviews
0.7 km away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#9 of 379 in Cusco
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
0.4 km away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 379 in Cusco
387 reviews
0.2 km away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 479 in Cusco
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cusco

Been to Hostal Quipu Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Quipu Cusco

Address: Calle Fierro No. 495, Cusco 05184, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $41 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Quipu, a beautiful colonial house, whose balconies and carved doors and the charm of her yard invite you to a different space. What we hope to assist in rooms in single, double, triple and Additional bed. Rooms with private bath, it with a decor and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Quipu Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing