We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Museo Mario Vargas Llosa
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience

I hadn't expected this museum to be so fantastic. You will be led through the house (which is... read more

Reviewed 1 April 2018
Daniela F
Fantastic, immersive experience

This is the most immersive museum experience I have had. From the hologram at the beginning... read more

Reviewed 17 February 2018
Tad D
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 81 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Arequipa
from USD 94.00
More Info
from USD 286.75
More Info
from USD 35.00
More Info
from USD 222.99
More Info
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
54
16
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
16
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his life literature author hologram century guiding museum artifacts peru guide
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

This is really worth a visit. But be warned its all in spoken Spanish. The location on the map isn't quite right and locals didn't know where it is, so may take a time to find. There is a whole sequence of rooms for each period of his life to work through, so allow two hours. It includes state of the art holography with the great man himself speaking and even interacting with his characters. There are clips acted out from some of his novels including the Green House which bring things to life, although potentially a spoiler. Overall one of best museums in Arequipa, some of the others could learn a lot from this.

Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

This is a new attraction in Arequipa, the birth place of the Nobel Laureate Mario Vargas Llosa. The museum is a state of the art place which just opened less than a month ago. It is an excellent interactive place which goes over the author's life. Unfortunately the place has no website and no clear information about how to get tickets, hours of operation, the fact that you need to book a reservation ahead of time, etc. So since I was in Arequipa I heard (word of mouth) about the place and decided to go on my last day there. It turned out that I needed a reservation and I had to beg to be accommodated in a group which was scheduled to start the visit at 11:45 am but the visit actually started 1/2 hour later since they were not quite ready (the students with whom I went had been waiting since 10 am). Of course I could not stay for the entire visit since I had another engagement at 1:30 pm. So, the bottom line: excellent place to visit but very specific information about the place is needed.

3  Thank Graciela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews